We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel gets better and better! Totally brilliant”
Review of Kenmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kenmore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kenmore
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“This hotel gets better and better! Totally brilliant”
Reviewed 22 December 2012

This hotel is amazing, brilliant staff, amazing food and loved our room! We had a large family event here and they could not have done more to make is special for my Dad ! All 13 of us really really loved it and we will def be back.

The food is top class !

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cburg46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    299
    152
    82
    48
See reviews for
170
486
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We spent an overnight at The Kenmore Hotel last week for one of their Christmas Party Nights.Arrived early afternoon and were able to check into our rooms right away.As some people have said, the rooms are a bit dated but personally I think the furniture suits a hotel of this age and character.We then headed for the Poets bar beside a cosy log fire and tried some meals from the Grill menu and a few drinks that we enjoyed while talking to other hotel guests.This was excellent and more than enough to take us through to dinner.At dinner the Christmas menu contained the usual suspects but was presented beautifully and tasted excellent.After a few more drinks the party started and everyone joined in with the dancing and fun .We had a good sleep with comfy beds and woke to a lovely view of Loch Tay.Breakfast went down a treat then we had a walk around the local area with stunning views.We asked if we could have a look at the self catering lodges and were shown around two of them.The standard of refurbishment is well worth the 5 Star Visitscotland award and we will be looking to book one or two with friends and family in the new year.From Reception to bar staff and housekeeping everyone was very friendly and helpful.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Danny_Maxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

The oldest inn in Scotland steeped in history with connections with Rabbie Burns, nice room , nice food and very hospitable , and the wood burning stoves added to the character. Well Worth a visit views were stunning from the restaurant during the day

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isobel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Its billed as the oldest Inn in Scotland so I suppose its allowed to be a bit tired and in need of modernisation. That said we had a great stay here and others are right - the location is fantastic for walking, distilleries and local Highland towns. The really positive things are the bar ( local beers are good ) and a good whiskey selection. We ate in the bar 3 times and all of our meals were excellent and we thought, good value. Breakfast was fine, though the waitress struggled a bit on day 2 as she was on her own - someone did later come to help her though. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful - absolutely no problems with any we came into contact with.
Our only negative was the room we had (no 9) - it didnt resemble any of the ones on the photos and was definately in need of updating - fairly tight space wise, old wardrobes and bathroom furniture - it was though all very clean and the bed was comfy. Personally I thought it a bit noisy as well but that might be partly down to the age of the building. Others seem to have had much nicer rooms - possibly they paid full price and we went on a deal ( which I have to say was pretty cheap for the 2 of us) - so perhaps I should'nt complain !
Local Drummond Hill and Kenmore Hill are decent low level walks as are the Falls of Achern and Birks of Aberfeldy. There are also much higher and more challenging walks around but you need decent weather.
We like this area and despite my grumbles I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Not room 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Fantastic stay at the Kenmore. Log fires sprinkled throughout add to the charm. Stayed in the Veranda room with fantastic views overlooking the Loch, very comfortable spacious room and bathroom. Tasty 3 course Christmas dinner and no complaints with breakfast in the morning. Friendly, attentive staff. Lovely walks close by. All in all a very good stay and will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cramond8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggar, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

We stayed on a DB&B deal which was excellent value. A nice lounge, log fires to sit by and an excellent dinner in the evening. Breakfast was a bit of a disappointment on the hot food front and the plates were cold. Comfortable bedroom with a big bathroom. We stayed in room 3 which faces the main road. The face of the building is lit with high intensity lighting which completely defeated our curtains and somewhat spoilt our night's sleep.
Note to Management: Easily cured by installing " black out " linings.

A friendly welcome on arrival and attentive staff. Well worth visiting though do be aware this is an old building with a charm that has the occasional creaky floorboard.

Room Tip: Do not take a room at the front unless you can be assured that " black out " blinds/lining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillBiggar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

The Kenmore Hotel, situated right in the middle of Kenmore offers a great base for exploring Loch Tay and the

surrounding area. The hotel has a welcoming residents bar, with a real fire situated under an original poem

inscribed on the wall by Robert Burns. The bar itself has a fine selection of whisky and a great pint of

Ossian Ale (brewed just down the road in Perth). There's also a public bar around the back of the hotel

although why you'd leave the more traditional residents one I don't know.
The Grill Room restaurant offers an excellent selection of food - the black pudding with crispy poached egg was an absolute delight. All of the food is also available in the bar so if you're enjoying the drinks you don't even have to leave your seat.
Hotel rooms are nice and clean, albeit slightly basic. The walls are quite thin so you can hear low

level talking and the sound of TVs in other rooms. We were in Room 9 and could hear the banging of doors

when the guests in Room 8 came and went. Perhaps some kind of restrainer on the hinges to allow them to close

gently would be worthwhile.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelgfindlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmore
5.6 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,460 reviews
8.9 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
406 reviews
11.2 mi away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Fortingall Hotel
Fortingall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fortingall
252 reviews
12.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,896 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Weem Inn
The Weem Inn
#2 of 4 in Aberfeldy
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenmore Hotel

Property: Kenmore Hotel
Address: | The Square, Kenmore PH15 2NU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kenmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kenmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kenmore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Kenmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenmore Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing