We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW”
Review of Kenmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kenmore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kenmore
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

I stayed for one night with my husband as we were too tired to continue our journey up north. What excellent value. My room was amazing as was the food in the poets bar. I had two delicious courses.as did my husband, a fantastic nights sleep in an amazing bed, and a great breakfast for a very reasonable price. All food was off the highest standard of ingredients and very enjoyable. My only miff was that the breakfast was cold. This would normally be a complaint but as the standard of food was so high , I ate it. To achieve perfection...hot breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katrina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Kenmore Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
It is always lovely to see a review with 'WOW' as the title! Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at The Kenmore Hotel & Luxury Lodges. We were extremely pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable time with us, and hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Isla Kerr, PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    294
    149
    81
    47
See reviews for
169
480
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Had a voucher deal here and was pleasantly surprised by hotel and restaurant. Room was clean and had all you need. Nice wee bar with open fire. Restaurant was excellent, standard of food comparable to good city restaurant. Lovely walks nearby. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HardWorkerScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Kenmore Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at The Kenmore Hotel & Luxury Lodges. We were extremely pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable time with us and hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Isla Kerr, PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

This pub has been recently renovated while remaining a cosy Scottish pub. My husband and I stayed here with our 3 month old baby last year and were pleasently suprised by the large, comfy bed and large bathroom. Although the ceiling was quite low and my husband being 6 foot tall he had to bend his neck when standing up straight! But that's one of the quirks of staying in the oldest inn in Scotland!
We ate in the bar downstairs for dinner and the food was lovely. Typical pub food, but that's all we wanted. The open fire was lovely to curl up in front of with a glass of wine!
Breakfast was served in the large dining room overlooking the river. Beautiful views from the deck! The buffet breakfast was good.
The staff were friendly and very accommodating, especially when we turned up the afternoon before with no booking and a small baby to accomodate! We will definetly stay again when we return to Scotland.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SG_Sutherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

The hotel claims to be the oldest inn in Scotland and the main part of the building fits this description with cosy rooms, log fires, and low ceilings and doors (anyone over six feet will be in danger of banging their head). The restaurant however is a modern extension at the back with great views of the River Tay as it leaves Loch Tay on its way to the North Sea.

Due to the nature of the building the rooms will vary greatly but ours was quite large and comfortable with a good bathroom and a view over the river. The creaky floors were in character.

The food in the restaurant was of a very high standard.

At the price we paid in January for two nights D B & B it was amazingly good value.

Room Tip: Room 14 was quite large and with a view over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Campbell36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cupar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We have been visiting this hotel for forty years. The last fifteen years it has been the location for family celebrations and dinners. We enjoyed many Hogmany celebrations. One year we visited the hotel five times because we enjoyed it so much. It holds precious family memories for us.

After this visit it may well be just a memory. Under Aurora the standard of service has fallen to an unacceptable service. Some examples - At breakfast the 'manager' cleaned glasses while we waited to be seated. It did not occur to him that a pleasant good morning would be appreciated. A request a breakfast for toast and coffee with tea to be served later was refused. The employee had been taught that tea, coffee and toast were to be ordered at the start of breakfast and she could not cope with this minor variation. The toast had to be returned as it had not been properly toasted. All the food in the buffet breakfast was cold. At dinner our order was lost. After a patient forty minutes we we asked the 'manager' to attend the table. She advised that our order had been lost. A fresh order was taken and our meal arrived one hour and ten minutes after we first ordered it. The appalling thing was that none of the staff including the 'manager' was alert enough to see that a table had not received their meal. As regular users of the Veranda Room the television is far too small for a room of this size. In our room the classic employee manoeuvre was practised - the tops having been removed from toothpast etc. in the hope that the guest would just leave them behind. In the morning at checkout every guest leaving had errors on their bill - as we had.

The major problem is lack of staff training. They have been taught the basic practical tasks bur the need for attentive proactive care and courtesy have not been taught. I do not necessarily blame the employees who let us down. The hotel has all the signs of a significant management failure in staff recruitment and training.


Simon and Jean Andrews

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Kenmore Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
I am Personal Assistant to the Chief Executive of The Aurora Hotel Collection. We would be very interested to hear more about your experience and would appreciate it if you could email me on isla.kerr@aurorahotelcollection.com so we can talk futher. Should you not wish to contact me at this time, please contact me should you wish to book again with The Aurora Hotel Collection. I look forward to hearing from you. Kind Regards Isla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brompton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We have just spent Christmas at The Kenmore Hotel and absolutely loved it. The welcome was extremely warm and pleasant, the food and service fantastic and the whole experience extremely delightful.

Our room was top class, very large and had a lovely aspect with the veranda.

The staff were extremley helpful and pleasant.

We would definately stay here again.

Many thanks to all.

Room Tip: Room 23 is fantastic but don't book it when we are wanting to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobo_1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

This hotel is amazing, brilliant staff, amazing food and loved our room! We had a large family event here and they could not have done more to make is special for my Dad ! All 13 of us really really loved it and we will def be back.

The food is top class !

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cburg46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmore
5.6 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,376 reviews
8.9 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
395 reviews
11.2 mi away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Fortingall Hotel
Fortingall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fortingall
247 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
12.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenmore Hotel

Property: Kenmore Hotel
Address: | The Square, Kenmore PH15 2NU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kenmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kenmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kenmore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Kenmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenmore Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing