We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant family break”
Review of Kenmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kenmore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kenmore
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant family break”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed with 2 young kids in the October school holidays. Our room in the annexe was tired but very clean and very big and comfortable and did not detract from the experience in the slightest. Staff were fantastic and the food in the Grill restaurant shows Scottish cuisine at its best. Loved this wee hotel. The area has so much for a young family to do and the stunning views from the hotel are better than any TV. We will definitely be back.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Kenmore Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review of your experience at the Kenmore Hotel & Luxury Lodges. I was very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the hotel to be lovely. The Grill Room is a great place to have a relaxing meal whilst taking in the superb scenery. We hope your family enjoyed their stay and we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you all back again soon.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    306
    155
    85
    49
See reviews for
177
495
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Although we didn't stay in this hotel, we enjoyed a couple of meals and several lunch time drinks, in the lovely cosy bar where Rabbie Burns wrote a poem above the fire place.
Th special £15.00 for 2 lunch time meal wasn't advertised in the bar, only read about it on the Internet. You have to eat it in the restaurant which isn't a problem with beautiful views of the river. Some may find it disconcerting to be sat in a large restaurant on your own, but we loved it. I am sure it would be more full if advertised better.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Kenmore Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
What a lovely review – thank you for your kind comments regarding your Dining experiences at the Kenmore Hotel & Luxury Lodges. We were delighted to read that you not only dined with us once but a couple of times and that you were able to enjoy the amazing view. We hope that you both enjoyed your meals and that we are able to welcome you both back again soon.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO, Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Reception staff were very friendly and helpful, nice atmosphere in the bars. Our room in the annexe was clean, comfortable and nice and warm. Breakfast in the morning was superb, with a fantastic view over the river. We will definitely visit again if we are in the area and will recommend to our friends.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Kenmore Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Kenmore Hotel & Luxury Lodges. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Kenmore Hotel and that you found the bars within the hotel to have a great atmosphere as well as a picturesque view. We hope that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that we are able to welcome you both back again.
Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO, Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Enjoyed our stay at the Kenmore; the location is perfect, our room was in the main building in the attic; we had a window overlooking the square and the other overlooking the river. The room needed a little re-furbish nothing drastic just a little TLC; it was old fashioned but clean and quiet. the lounge area was the best place to use the Wi-Fi but once again needs a makeover just looks a little too tired. Dinner both evenings was excellent, if a tad overpriced, and the staff friendly; the breakfast however leaves a lot to be desired; cheap black pudding and bacon, no fried eggs and the food was not hot enough. I would stay again if I was in the area but would probably stay in one of their lodges.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DUNFERMLINEVAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Kenmore Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Kenmore Hotel & Luxury Lodges. I was very pleased to read that you found the setting of the hotel and your evening meal to be excellent. The Hotel & Lodges do offer a peaceful stay. I will pass on your comments regarding the room and the breakfast to the relevant team members and we hope to welcome you both back again soon.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO, Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I love this hotel and I make no apologies for a totally biased review. The hotel is heaven. Now admittedly I have stayed there in the more quieter parts of the season but I cannot find fault at all. The setting, the hotel, the food , the staff are all first class. Looking forward to getting back over in 2014.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakeyrollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Kenmore Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
What a lovely review – thank you for your kind comments. We were delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay at the Kenmore Hotel & Luxury Lodges, The team at the Kenmore will be very happy that you found the Hotel to be Heaven in the country. Your kind comments will be passed on to the team and we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO, Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

A weekend with friends staying in two of the luxury lodges had some good bits and not so good bits. Also whilst most of the staff - Greg, Lucy are very helpful and accommodating others were not.

Two examples spring to mind.

1. Pre-trip we contacted the hotel to ask whether there was any special meal deal they can offer which they replied no. Only by contacting Laura and then Lucy were we offered anything. Suffice to say we decided by then not to dine in the restaurant because we had organised our meals by then.

2. Checking in on the Friday I asked if my car was fine in the hotel car park as we were staying in the lodges. After transferring all our gear from the hotel car park did we discovered by ourselves that there is a car park for us behind the lodges that we staying in. So I moved my empty car at that point to the car park.

Our lodges didn't have a welcome information pack so we didn't know how to get our free newspapers or welcome drink. And it is only because I use BT wifi at home did I know how to get the Wifi key to the free wifi. Even when we pointed it out to Greg the next morning we still didn't received the pack. But he did go to the shop to get newspapers for us and inform us how to get our welcome drink.

The lodges are indeed luxurious and clean and tidy. However we did have a problem trying to get hot water for the three bedroom lodge. The maintenance guy did come to have a look. It seems the boiler really can't cope if everyone decides they want to have shower or bath one after another.

The barbecue needs to be ordered from the hotel which is fine but as we didn't have an information pack we thought it was missing from the two lodges. So was hunting for it for a while.

If your hot tub is cold bear in mind it does need hours before it heats up. Unfortunately we didn't know this (no welcome information pack) so we thought if we started at 14:00 it be warm enough for the evening. Nope. If we knew that we would have started the night before. So this meant we either freeze or go to the smaller hot tub next door. Luckily we hired two lodges. But it did break the party up a bit as people were in the larger lodge.

We noticed in the main bedroom that there was a wet patch perfectly circular. But it didn't dry. Later we discover it was cleaning product or something. Then lastly in the smaller lodge people had a shower one after another after being in the hot tub. But by the third shower the smoke alarm activated as water was dripping from the shower into the alarm downstairs. The night porter had to be contacted who switched it off. But by the time he was back in the hotel smoke alarm activated again. So this was ripped off the ceiling and in doing so a wee flood of water happened.

Lucy did discounted our weekend and it was probably just bad timing everything seemed to happened in our weekend. But I do feel that the hotel and lodges are separate entities rather than the same as whenever we had a question about the lodges a lot of the staff weren't very knowledgeable about the answers. Even getting a welcome drink from the bar the staff member had to ask someone else before serving us.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wee Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Kenmore Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for sharing your impressions following your stay at the Kenmore Hotel & Luxury Lodges.

I am disappointed that you did not have the stay that you had hoped for and I am aware that the General Manager has contacted you regarding your stay. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Not one for posting pictures, but I really do wish that I had taken a picture of the beautiful afternoon tea served to us. This 3 tiered stand was filled with sandwiches, beautiful macaroons, profiteroles, the biggest fruit scones, fresh cream, strawberries and jam on the side..........mmmmm...........then 2 hot drinks (tea, coffee) - the service was superb, and the price - I could not believe it was £14 (this served 2 people). And we had so much that we took home a doggy bag.

Let me repeat that - £14 for 2 people.....and the service was fantastic. I may just drive from Glasgow to Kenmore for afternoon tea!!

Room Tip: We sat outside (a lovely September afternoon), but inside was homely and welcoming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magsrizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Kenmore Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
What a lovely review – thank you for your kind comments regarding your afternoon tea within the Grill Room at the Kenmore Hotel & Luxury Lodges. We were delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your afternoon tea. I am very pleased that you were able to sit outside with your afternoon tea and were able to enjoy the view at the same time. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO, Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmore
5.6 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,525 reviews
8.9 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
414 reviews
11.2 mi away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Fortingall Hotel
Fortingall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fortingall
256 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Weem Inn
The Weem Inn
#2 of 4 in Aberfeldy
91 reviews
15.3 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenmore Hotel

Property: Kenmore Hotel
Address: | The Square, Kenmore PH15 2NU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kenmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kenmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kenmore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kenmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenmore Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing