We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Kenmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kenmore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kenmore
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed in one of the Kenmore Lodges at Easter 2013 - Mollys Cottage.We cannot praise it enough.From the quality of the decor,the amazing bathrooms ,gorgeous bedding the whole experience was fantastic.
The fridge was stocked with some nice essentials - butter, cheese etc as well as luxuries - wine & chocolates.And the kitchen was very well equipped with everything you would need for a self catering holiday.The wood burning stove in the lounge made it very cosy in the evening.
We ate in the Hotel Grill Room a couple of nights, the food & service were excellent.
The icing on the cake was the hot tub on the patio ,after a days sight seeing & walking we were in the hot tub drinking champagne with the snow falling.The perfect end to a great day !

We would thoroughly recommend the Kenmore Lodges for a luxurious holiday or short break in Scotland at any time of the year !!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pf185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    306
    155
    85
    49
See reviews for
177
495
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Really love this hotel, its 3 star but the food is much more that that! Rooms are quirky, maybe in need of some TLC but this does not in any way impact on the quality of this place! Lovely ales on tap sunburst pilsner!! fab!!! Big roaring fires, great friendly staff and if you are dining here its a pleasure ! Location of this hotel on the Tay is amazing, we will def be back !

Breakfast is good but maybe a bit more selectionon the fruit!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cburg46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortingall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Towards the end of a long hot day climbing Schiehallion, the prospect of a chilled Pimm's on the verandah overlooking the river seemed very appealing.

If only things were that simple!

The helpful foreign waiter had never heard of Pimm's and assured me the hotel did not stock it. After several attempts to make him understand how the word was spelled, I asked him to ask at the bar if they had it. He returned to say they did indeed have it and it would be on its way.

40 minutes passed and our thirst was past the stage where our patience was greater than our disappointment - but just as we were about to leave, a waitress appeared with 3 short sherry glasses filled with a very dark liqueur. Our curiosity as to what this might be met with an assertion in very broken English that this was Pimm's.

My suggestion that Pimm's was normally served slightly differently met with the curt retort that this was how they always served Pimm's here. I informed the waitress that I would pay at the bar but did not wish to have the drinks.

On paying the Scottish woman who took my payment in the restaurant, I explained that there had been a very long wait and that when the drinks did arrive they were not in a drinkable form.

She responded that she had seen the drinks being taken to us and knew that they were Pimm's served as never before - but that this was a matter for the Bar manager and his staff training, not for her.

In summary, no drinks on the verandah after a thirsty hour admiring the view, a glimpse into the pros and cons of foreign serving staff, a clear lack of training and an obvious dearth of team spirit between departments.

I note the quantity of very poor reviews this hotel in a stunning location receives on Trip Advisor. You really would think Aurora would try to sort things out.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eezee-to-pleeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Kenmore Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
As you can imagine I was very disappointed to read the review of your experience at the Kenmore Hotel & Luxury Lodges. At the Aurora Hotel Collection, we pride ourselves on our high standards of customer service, therefore I am extremely concerned that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your concerns further, so that we can avoid any repetition of your experiences in the future. If this would be of interest, I can be reached on laura.barry@aurorahotelcollection.com or 01324 831411. Kind Regards Laura Barry PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Had only ever visited the Kenmore Hotel for a quick drink during a road trip this summer, but when we saw it, we knew we had to book for an overnight stay. This place is a gem. The quirky / unusual layout of the hotel may not be to everyone's taste, but it was exactly this that made this place worth the visit. Lots of different rooms to sit in and just relax - Poets Bar, Archies Bar, one of the many lounges. Great at this time of year with all the open fires on the go. We dined in the Grill Room which was really good (see separate review). The bar prices were also very reasonable. The staff make this place - all very helpful / friendly. You may see the odd review complaining about the decor / layout - but come on, what do you expect from a hotel that is best part of 400+ years old. Yes - am sure that they could spend lots of money and bring up to a 5 star with a clean / sterile look, but that would ruin the Hotel in my view. We have already booked to return with a further 6 people to one of the lodges across the road between Christmas and New Year - can't wait.!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinC1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Kenmore Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review of your experience at the Kenmore Hotel & Luxury Lodges. We were delighted to read that you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay at the Kenmore Hotel. The team will be delighted that you had a drink in the bars and found the atmosphere to be enjoyable and the food in the Grill Room to be very tasty. We are very happy that you are returning to one of our Luxury star lodges very soon.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed on a 2 night DBB deal and the whole experience from start to finish was very enjoyable.Reception,Bar and Restuarant staff were all very friendly and spoilt for choice and good portions so well done to chefs as well.The building is full of character and well looked after by the owners.Stunning setting by the Tay and hopefully be back in the summer to enjoy it all over again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Kenmore Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
What a lovely review – thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at the Kenmore Hotel & Luxury Lodges. We were delighted to read that you found every aspect of your stay to be perfect from the food to the building itself. I will pass all of your kind comments on to the team and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO, Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musselburgh eastlothian
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We had room 4 small but clean but unable to have shower as electric shower was inadequate.
Evening meal very good with nice choices but cold buffet at breakfast very poor almost non existent but hot buffet very good .staff very helpful in particular manager excellent he had a smile on his face every time we saw him and had plenty of time to chat to residents.

Room Tip: Staff were helpful , we had room 4 but unable to have shower as electric shower was inadequate.eveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honda28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Kenmore Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Kenmore Hotel & Luxury Lodges. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your meal within the Grill Room at the Kenmore Hotel and that you found the team to be helpful and friendly throughout your stay. We have taken all of your comments on board and have passed them on to the relevant team members. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO, Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The reception staff couldn't have done more for us and were extremely helpful about local attractions. The hotel is old so the rooms are up and downstairs or across the road. Ours needed a bit of a refurbishment but was comfortable. Dinner was a little disappointing for this excellent hotel partly due to the lack of atmosphere in a plain restaurant and partly due to the uninspiring food which was also true of breakfast. The snug whisky bar made up for everything with its Robbie Burns originals.

Room Tip: In the hotel towards the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstine2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Kenmore Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Kenmore Hotel & Luxury Lodges. We were pleased that you enjoyed the poets bar in which the Robbie Burns poem is in. We have taken on board all of your comments and these will be passed on to the relevant team members. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO, Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmore
5.6 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,526 reviews
8.9 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
414 reviews
11.2 mi away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Fortingall Hotel
Fortingall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fortingall
256 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Weem Inn
The Weem Inn
#2 of 4 in Aberfeldy
91 reviews
15.3 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenmore Hotel

Property: Kenmore Hotel
Address: | The Square, Kenmore PH15 2NU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kenmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kenmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kenmore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kenmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenmore Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing