We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-rated”
Review of Kenmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kenmore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kenmore
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Over-rated”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel for a wedding. Booked a year ago and considering this was very disappointed with the room we were allocated and the price. Was not worth £99 per night (recently stayed at a Premier Inn for 1/2 the price and facilities were much better). Had a room overlooking a dirty old courtyard right at the side of the hotel you could see the river but only if you hung out the window and cranked your neck. Was advised by Receptionist to book table for dinner as it gets really busy, which we did - but wish we hadn't. It was not busy at all, but we still had to wait a long time for our main course, however, for what we got it was far too overpriced. My partner had sea bass, however, it was one tiny piece of bass, not the whole fish and for this they charged £14.50. £7.50 for prawn cocktail that was quite tasteless is in itself "quite tasteless". I agree with another traveller they need to concentrate more on the rooms in the hotel instead of the location and Rabbie Burns poem. Would I stay here again - probably not.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ells55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    295
    150
    81
    47
See reviews for
169
481
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
650 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We recently stayed in the Kenmore Hotel for 2 nights. It is a quaint old building on the riverbank at the mouth of the Tay river. The weather was warm and sunny one night and we sat on the balcony overlooking the river, sampling single malt whiskeys and enjoying the ambience while we watched fishermen casting on the other bank. There is a large fireplace in the bar room, and above the mantle is a poem written there in Robbie Burns' own hand. Pretty impressive. The guest rooms are cozy, although the neighborhood crows .ensured you did not sleep in in the morning. The food in the dining room is excellent for both breakfast and dinner. The Wi-Fi only works in the lobby and lounge areas, not a problem for me. A great place to stay if you are visiting the Kenmore area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CFofLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Loved our overnight stay here whilst climbing surrounding Munros. The staff couldn't be more friendly, the food was beyond excellent - especially the starter of Crispy Haggis with neeps and tatties! The room was HUGE (double) with large bathroom and such a comfortable bed, I would definitely class as a superior King rather than double bed, and had the best night's sleep! Not exactly criticism, but could do with TV on wall rather than corner of the bed, but I was too tired to watch it anyway so no big deal! The breakfast was buffet style cereals, fruits, fruit juices, full scottish, and was all delicious. The friendliness of the staff really made it for us and we will definitely be back and would highly recommend! (Place was recommended to us and lived up to expectations).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WHWWalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel has a beautiful location in a lovely part of the country. There's scenery, walking (and fishing'n'golf if that's your thing - though it's not ours). It is one of the oldest hotels in the country, so it's not the height of luxury. But they are trying hard. The restaurant food is at least competent. We were there on a busy night when they had dealt with coach parties, but the food was of good value and quality (elsewhere they might leave the tuna steak a little less well done) and the presentation and service were to a good standard.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olivia2094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

After a drive through stunning scenery we arrived at the Kenmore Hotel, situated in the centre of the lovely village of Kenmore. We were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff and were given a large room at the back of the hotel, with triple-aspect overlooking the River Tay. Later we relaxed in front of a log fire before enjoying an excellent dinner in the spacious, light and airy Grill Room. I had shredded duck bon bons with sweet chilli sauce, followed by the 4-hour slow-cooked lamb, which was delicious. The dessert of rhubarb crème brulee and rhubarb sorbet was mouth-watering! We both slept very well in a large comfortable bed. Breakfast was good, the bacon, sausage and haggis in particular, although we were surprised that only scrambled egg was on offer! We were sorry that we were only able to stay for one night. This would be a great place to chill out for a week!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the River Tay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s3rjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Situated in a lovely part of the country, the oldest coaching Inn in Scotland is fabulous for a break, lovely log fires perfect for traditional Scottish weather! Excellent dinner, staff helpful, comfortable bedrooms ours was over looking the river an ideal view watching fly fishermen

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAA555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Nice Hotel, excellent restaurant, Room was large, clean and comfortable. Unusual to see old style CRT TV in room, however, I was there for walking and scenery. Would visit again. Food in restaurant was excellent and staff were very helpful and friendly. Bathroom was large, bidet not plumbed in for water.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 22 in the west wing, large and quiet, though on 2nd night could hear what sounded lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willie120c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmore
5.6 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,381 reviews
8.9 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
395 reviews
11.2 mi away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Fortingall Hotel
Fortingall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fortingall
248 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
12.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenmore Hotel

Property: Kenmore Hotel
Address: | The Square, Kenmore PH15 2NU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kenmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kenmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kenmore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kenmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenmore Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing