We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All that Glitters !” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kenmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kenmore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kenmore
LINLITHGOW
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“All that Glitters !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Dissapointed given the reviews. As we travel with our doochies ( dogs ) pleased that the hotel accepts pets. The rooms they allocate are all outwith the lovely main building over the road in an annexe. The room had a nice view of the loch but was really quite basic, old fashioned TV set with only 4 channels, could not watch in bed as on floor on stand. Bathroom clean but could do with replacing, tempremental hot and cold water in the shower. Just a little tatty in places, very comfy bed and bedding a plus. The rooms in the main hotel look far superior. We always travel with the doochies and have stayed in 4 and 5 star where we are not placed in more basic rooms. It would have been more acceptable if the rate for the room was lower than the main hotel but this is not the case. The downstairs bar was good, nice big TV's, very imformal and lively, well frequented by locals. Had a bar meal which was very good but overpriced. Breakfast which was buffet style was a dissapointment. Only eggs available srambled and lukewarm, bacon was salty, sausages poor quality and overdone, toast very underdone. Lovely setting to eat spoiled by substandard breakfast. We paid £89 B&B special rate !. Not really good value for our stay in the annexe you miss out in the " Hotel " experience. If not travelling with dogs you would probably enjoy the ambience of such an old building and may be worth a stay ?

Room Tip: Stay in main hotel, if travelling with dogs leave in vehicle overnight if practical. If not stay els...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VMATHESONMACIVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    277
    142
    80
    44
See reviews for
163
463
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed for one night as my friend was having their wedding reception there. The staff and everything to do with the wedding was lovely and i had a great time. The downstairs decor was very traditional in keeping with the theme. The bedrooms were huge, my only minor grip was the decor upstairs was a bit dated but everything else was superb! Would recommend

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ddizzygem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel for a wedding. Booked a year ago and considering this was very disappointed with the room we were allocated and the price. Was not worth £99 per night (recently stayed at a Premier Inn for 1/2 the price and facilities were much better). Had a room overlooking a dirty old courtyard right at the side of the hotel you could see the river but only if you hung out the window and cranked your neck. Was advised by Receptionist to book table for dinner as it gets really busy, which we did - but wish we hadn't. It was not busy at all, but we still had to wait a long time for our main course, however, for what we got it was far too overpriced. My partner had sea bass, however, it was one tiny piece of bass, not the whole fish and for this they charged £14.50. £7.50 for prawn cocktail that was quite tasteless is in itself "quite tasteless". I agree with another traveller they need to concentrate more on the rooms in the hotel instead of the location and Rabbie Burns poem. Would I stay here again - probably not.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ells55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
520 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We recently stayed in the Kenmore Hotel for 2 nights. It is a quaint old building on the riverbank at the mouth of the Tay river. The weather was warm and sunny one night and we sat on the balcony overlooking the river, sampling single malt whiskeys and enjoying the ambience while we watched fishermen casting on the other bank. There is a large fireplace in the bar room, and above the mantle is a poem written there in Robbie Burns' own hand. Pretty impressive. The guest rooms are cozy, although the neighborhood crows .ensured you did not sleep in in the morning. The food in the dining room is excellent for both breakfast and dinner. The Wi-Fi only works in the lobby and lounge areas, not a problem for me. A great place to stay if you are visiting the Kenmore area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CFofLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Loved our overnight stay here whilst climbing surrounding Munros. The staff couldn't be more friendly, the food was beyond excellent - especially the starter of Crispy Haggis with neeps and tatties! The room was HUGE (double) with large bathroom and such a comfortable bed, I would definitely class as a superior King rather than double bed, and had the best night's sleep! Not exactly criticism, but could do with TV on wall rather than corner of the bed, but I was too tired to watch it anyway so no big deal! The breakfast was buffet style cereals, fruits, fruit juices, full scottish, and was all delicious. The friendliness of the staff really made it for us and we will definitely be back and would highly recommend! (Place was recommended to us and lived up to expectations).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WHWWalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel has a beautiful location in a lovely part of the country. There's scenery, walking (and fishing'n'golf if that's your thing - though it's not ours). It is one of the oldest hotels in the country, so it's not the height of luxury. But they are trying hard. The restaurant food is at least competent. We were there on a busy night when they had dealt with coach parties, but the food was of good value and quality (elsewhere they might leave the tuna steak a little less well done) and the presentation and service were to a good standard.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olivia2094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

After a drive through stunning scenery we arrived at the Kenmore Hotel, situated in the centre of the lovely village of Kenmore. We were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff and were given a large room at the back of the hotel, with triple-aspect overlooking the River Tay. Later we relaxed in front of a log fire before enjoying an excellent dinner in the spacious, light and airy Grill Room. I had shredded duck bon bons with sweet chilli sauce, followed by the 4-hour slow-cooked lamb, which was delicious. The dessert of rhubarb crème brulee and rhubarb sorbet was mouth-watering! We both slept very well in a large comfortable bed. Breakfast was good, the bacon, sausage and haggis in particular, although we were surprised that only scrambled egg was on offer! We were sorry that we were only able to stay for one night. This would be a great place to chill out for a week!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the River Tay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s3rjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmore
5.6 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,130 reviews
11.2 mi away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinloch Rannoch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
12.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
14.8 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,103 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fortingall Hotel
Fortingall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fortingall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenmore Hotel

Property: Kenmore Hotel
Address: | The Square, Kenmore PH15 2NU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kenmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kenmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kenmore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Kenmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenmore Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing