We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in a traditional hotel with some beautiful food”
Review of Kenmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kenmore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kenmore
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in a traditional hotel with some beautiful food”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed a night as part of a visit to an area with happy family memories. This is a beautiful old building, so as expected the rooms weren't super modern - I would have been disappointed if they were! Clean with beautiful views across the river Tay. Lovely big bathroom, which was also clean. Our evening meal was wonderful with unusual choices and fabulous tastes in a modern restaurant, light and airy over looking the river and woods. Only distraction was the very noisy coach party but totally understand that without them the hotel would not be full. Lovely old bar at the front of the hotel, very traditional the centrepiece being a poem handwritten on the wall by Rabbie Burns. Spent an amusing hour watching guests from the coach party coming in and tasting the various whiskys. Breakfast a little disappointing - serve yourself and having to wait 15 mins for the poached eggs on special order. The herby sausages didn't quite go either. I have to say that this didn't prevent our overall enjoyment of the stay and would certainly come again.

Room Tip: Beautiful hotel in fantastic location - rooms at back over look the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chimpster65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    300
    152
    82
    48
See reviews for
171
486
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Another great weekend at Kenmore. Staff were fabulous, food was great. Only issue was the Public bar was closed on the Monday, but there are other bars in the hotel. Visitors must remember, this is the oldest Inn in Scotland, so it is a bit quirky, but superb.

Room Tip: Wifi can work in bedrooms but not 100% if it works in them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greystane64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is lovely with a great restaurant , good rates and friendly staff. There are many nice wee points not only to the hotel but also the surrounding area and the locals are great . The only points really to raise are that the bedrooms could all do with an upgrade along with the bathroom/ en-suites . Being a plumber I noticed that the bathrooms were dated and there is large cracks in the doors that let in a fair amount of light from the corridor where the lights are on 24/7. The room is nice but there is a fair amount of noise comes from the corridor late on into the evening that kept us awake as well as fire doors opening and banging shut

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Auchterarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Don't be put off by my 3 stars/average rating. The Kenmore Hotel has a lot going for it but it is in need of some updating. If you are used to all mod cons and 5* top class treatment then it is unlikely you will find it here. The hotel is in a beautiful location, situated right on the banks of the river Tay and close to the loch. It really is stunning, especially when the weather is good which it was for our 2 night stay in June 2014. It claims to be Scotland's oldest inn and that may be true, and it does have a lot of charm. We had booked a 2 night romantic break including dinner and breakfast. It promised champagne and chocolates on arrival, together with robes and slippers. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and we were given the key to room 38 which was across the road in the annexe building. This too is a very old building. Our room was upstairs on the left. The room itself was spacious with views out to the loch. It quite obviously was a twin room and the beds had been pushed together, the beds were quite comfortable though. The champagne had been left in the room and as it was a very hot day, condensation had run down it and formed a big puddle. The chocolates were fresh strawberries covered in milk and white chocolate and were delicious! The robes were there but there were no slippers. There were a few other things missing too. No tv, no phone, no wi fi, no glasses in the bathroom. Although clean and tidy, the decor was very dated, wallpaper was coming away and the carpet had definately seen better days. We mentioned to reception that there was no tv, they said they would get housekeeping to bring one up. We went out for a couple of hours and when we returned still no tv. We asked again and were told there was an issue with the connection?? They told us there was a problem with the wi fi and this was only available in the sitting room off of reception. Fortunately, I got a very good 3G signal in the bedroom and therefore wasn't too big of a deal. We went to the restaurant for dinner that night and cannot fault it! The restaurant is spacious, bright and modern and has a lovely balcony area outside too. Staff were polite, helpful and very well turned out. If anything this is the 5* part of the hotel. We ate her both nights and had lovely meals, although they had a large party of American tourists the 2nd night and struggled to serve other customers in a timely fashion. They did apologise and try to bring out something for diners, although we did notice that a few diners were very unhappy. We however were in no rush. The menu has a good variety and whilst some dishes are quite pricey, we were able to have a good meal at around £25/head. Breakfast was somewhat dissapointing, not a huge choice and cooked breakfast items were all served buffett style rather than being freshly cooked.
The issues we had with the room were finally addressed when I wrote a post on their Facebook wall. I would have sent a private message but that option wasn't available. They delivered the tv, phone and glasses the following day, and we had a message from the manager who apologised and offered us a discount. We were happy. By the way, as others have mentioned, the tv was the old style and only had a few channels. I think the web site is a little misleading as you expect an old hotel with modern amenities, if they updated the decor and furnishings in some of the rooms at least that would help a lot.
Location wise, it is a great base for exploring, and there are plenty of hiking tracks, convenient for fishing, boating, etc.

Room Tip: One that overlooks the river for views, can't comment on furnishings though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank panyan1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We visited the Kenmore hotel in June for a 2 night stay. Generally we had a lovely stay and would recommend both the hotel and the location. The room and ensuite were large and comfortable. The décor of the room was old fashioned and could do with modernising including the curtains which did not meet in the middle. The TV was old and had been badly tuned to the same channels with key ones missing. Also there was no wi-fi signal or mobile signal in the room and it was very limited in the rest of the hotel. Also our room was at the very end of the hotel so there were multiple doors to get through - could be a problem for people needing assistance or with small children.

The hotel itself is lovely looking and has good food and drink facilities. The restaurant has an excellent view over the river and the balcony is a fabulous place to sit for a quiet drink. The food was generally of a high standard however some dishes were not great (Salmon with Linguine was fairly awful). But the staff are very attentive and helpful.

The location is lovely - very peaceful on the river side, perfect for an evening walk. It's also a great place to head out for the day with many activities less than an hours drive. Would recommend hiring canoes in Killin at the West end of Loch Tay, or the forest walks dotted along almost any route from Kenmore. Aberfeldy is ok but flooded with tea rooms! Would also avoid the Highland Safaris which are very overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We booked into the Kenmore Hotel for our daughters wedding for three nights and all I can say is WOW!!

From the minute we arrived it was 5 star treatment.

If you are thinking of holding your wedding or just taking a break at the Kenmore, I can assure you you will not be disappointed. Lucy the wedding coordinator makes it her mission to help plan and coordinate your wedding with only one thought in mind: this is YOUR day and she will do whatever you need to ensure it is exactly how you both want it to be. She will de-frazzle your nerves by taking care of the stressful, time-consuming and frustrating bits so your day will be just perfect.

Lindsay takes care of all the staff whether at the wedding or just dinner in the evening to your breakfast, all the staff have a very professional approach and cannot be more helpful.

The beds are comfortable including the pillows which is refreshing. Cannot fault this hotel whatsoever. The views surrounding the hotel are to die for!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river at the rear and if you can ask for Veranda suite. This room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanGHenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

yes, the hotel is old with creaky floorboards but that is what you should expect if you are in the old building and adds to the charm of the place . The staff were attentive and welcoming but by no means intrusive. If you want modern chic, then this is not for you. However, if you want a stunning location with fabulous food and hospitality then this hits the spot. 10 out of 10. Our room in the main building overlooked the river with a good view albeit slightly restricted, but the view from the resturant was second to none. Thank you to all at The Kenmore Hotel - we definetely recommend this hotel and we will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvS64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmore
5.6 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,461 reviews
8.9 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
406 reviews
11.2 mi away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Fortingall Hotel
Fortingall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fortingall
252 reviews
12.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,896 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Weem Inn
The Weem Inn
#2 of 4 in Aberfeldy
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenmore Hotel

Property: Kenmore Hotel
Address: | The Square, Kenmore PH15 2NU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kenmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kenmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kenmore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kenmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenmore Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing