We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cottage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mains of Taymouth Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“cottage”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I would not recommend this cottage to anyone, it is dirty old cottage nothing works. complained twice about tv it was sorted on the Wednesday and I was going home on the Friday. the chairs were uncomfortable, my mother couldn't get a shower due to the sunken shower upstairs it was to dangerous. the place just looked so neglected I was glad to get home. I spoke to the owner but she was not one bit interested oh I forgot after paying over a £1000 she offered me a discount how generous. and before I left a member of staff spoke to me and by the time she was finished I was to blame for the dirt run down cottage. work that one out if you can. its just great that mains of taymouth can afford to trat their customers any way they like. but I would advise anyone going to double check their property if you dare to take a chance.

Room Tip: don't be fooled by pictures.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LYNNE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your review and we're sorry you did not enjoy your stay in the recently refurbished 4 star Smiddy Cottage. On departure the staff member to whom you refer was very concerned to learn you had not enjoyed your stay as we strive to ensure all guests enjoy their accommodation. Smiddy is a rather quaint, traditional property, as can be seen from the photographs. We have had fantastic feedback following the refurbishment and look forward to receiving our 4 star grading for 2015
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    42
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
230
115
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a weekend stay at the Mains Park Court. We were absolutely delighted with the property, it exceeded all our expectations. Mains of Taymouth have honesty thought of everything! We can't wait to stay again. Thank you for a fabulous weekend!
The Stewart family.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lornastewart1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
You're welcome! Thank you Stewart family for a fantastic review, we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

What a fantastic location! Stunning scenery all year round. Wonderfully luxurious accommodation and very friendly locals and staff. We stopped in 10 Maxwells which offers great views of Drummond Hill and the 1st fairway of the very enjoyable on site 9 hole golf course.
We can recommend many of the local walks and a relaxing beer or wine at the excellent Courtyard Bar afterwards is a fine way to end the day. Loads of local attractions nearby and we can't wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: We have stopped at Maxwells and Gallops and can recommend either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GC1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay in 10 Maxwells and thank you for taking the time to post a lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arbroath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Just spent 3 days in wonderful Kenmore in beautiful accommodation where even our dogs were welcome. Lovely friendly staff and food in the Courtyard Restaurant was excellent. All in all a great experience and we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
We're delighted you enjoyed our pet friendly accommodation as well as the food at The Courtyard Restaurant. Thank you for taking the trouble to post a review and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Fantastic accommodation with just the most stunning setting and so quiet and peaceful-we were very sad to leave and will be back
The ducks are very cheeky !! Maxwells could do with some privacy though

Room Tip: to get the sun in the afternoon -go for Maxwells 5-10
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your review of the Maxwells and the ducks - even the wildlife are friendly in Highland Perthshire! Hope to see you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Have just returned from a week spent at The Bothy. Everything about the experience was excellent, from the Hot Tub that was warm the day we arrived to the quality of the furnishings. The staff were very helpful and friendly and seemed dedicated to ensuring that guests enjoyed their stay. Have already booked to go again for Christmas!!

Room Tip: I expect all of the accomodation is of equal standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supercyclist53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay in The Bothy and thank you so much for posting a fantastic review. Roll on Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We spent three nights in 5 maxwellslast week. What fantastic accommodation, everything from kitchen equipment to furnishing and extra touches is first class.The staff were very helpful especially nikki who took our booking.We felt that if there had been any problem it would have swiftly been resolved. We hope to return later this year.

Room Tip: The one bedroom Maxwell is very spacious indeed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thanks for a fantastic review following your stay in 5 Maxwells, we too hope you return later this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmore
0.3 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
5.6 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,222 reviews
24.7 mi away
Duchally Country Estate
Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
12.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kenmore Club
The Kenmore Club
#1 of 2 in Kenmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mains of Taymouth Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mains of Taymouth Cottages

Property: Mains of Taymouth Cottages
Address: Taymouth Taymouth Mains of Taymouth Country Estate & Golf Course, Kenmore PH15 2HN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Kenmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mains of Taymouth Cottages 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 120 acre private country estate set in magnificent Highland Perthshire with stunning self catering properties sleeping from 2 to 12, many with hot tubs, saunas and games rooms, all at either a high 4* or 5* STB standard. Our excellent onsite facilities include our own golf course, riding stables, delicatessen & gift shop and cafe bar & restaurant all within walking distance from each property. Stunning views, tourist attractions & much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mains of Taymouth Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mains Of Taymouth Cottages Hotel Kenmore
Mains Of Taymouth Cottages Kenmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing