We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing week!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mains of Taymouth Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An amazing week!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed in the Bothy and were more than happy with the accommodation and facilities on offer. The staff were very welcoming, the food in the restaurant was great and the location was absolutely perfect! We have stayed in Scotland many times but this was the first time in Kenmore. It is a perfect base to explore the area and beyond. We hiked up Ben Lawers, went canoeing in Loch Tay, went mountain biking near Pitlochry, ice climbing in Kinlochleven and did a stunning bike ride around Loch Leven near Glencoe. The 8 mile walk from Kenmore to Aberfeldy along the river is just perfect and not too strenuous; and you can treat yourself to some lovely cake at the Habitat Cafe in Aberfeldy, then catch the bus back to your accommodation. The bus even has a trailer for bikes if you wish to cycle there.
The hot tub was just perfect to come back to so we could soak our aching muscles.

As well as the onsite restaurant we would also recommend The Kenmore Hotel for dinner. We ate there on our last evening overlooking the river. Simply stunning food and stunning location. A perfect end to our perfect holiday!

We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daventree2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Wow - amazing review, thank you! Not much more we can add other than we hope you will return to Kenmore, and Mains of Taymouth, in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    43
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
249
124
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We've just spent a week at Mains of Taymouth, staying in Bell Tower Cottage.
The surrounding area is beautiful and, as check in isn't until 4pm, we travelled a bit early and spent some time in Aberfeldy before travelling on to Kenmore.
Check in was efficient and we received a friendly welcome.
On arrival at the cottage, a former stable block, we discovered it was as good as it looked on the website. Although only for two (plus dog) this accommodation is spread over three floors with more than enough room. The ground floor consists of an entrance hall, utility room (with washing machine / dryer and freezer), and a living area (with log burner which wasn't required due to the excellent weather) and a very well equipped kitchen including a dishwasher, microwave and fridge.
On the first floor there is a large bathroom with shower, roll top bath and sauna.
Up another few stairs to the second floor, located above the archway to the courtyard is the generous bedroom with four poster bed, TV and views tot the golf course and hills beyond.
The standard of fittings and decor in this property are of a high standard and it was spotlessly clean.
The estate is very strict on the control of dogs in so much that dogs cannot be left unattended in the accommodation even if the owners are only nipping out for dinner, which is good as it means they consider other guests peace and quiet. Dogs are welcome (with their owners obviously) at the lounge bar on site but not the restaurant which is fine as the same food is served in a relaxed atmosphere. The also do a take away menu which means you can have a drink or two while you order your food. We tried this one night and the food came promptly before we returned to the cottage to enjoy it. Breakfast and lunch is also served here too, which we thoroughly enjoyed on a number of occasions.
There are a number of activities to take part in if you so wish including Land Rover safaris, quad bikes fishing and golf (the 9 hole course was in excellent condition and I thoroughly enjoyed playing there).
The only complaint we had while we were there was the landscaping contractor strimming grass all over our car within inches of the paintwork rather than asking us to move it first (it was parked in the designated car park adjacent an area of lawn). Our complaint was dealt with satisfactorily though and hopefully the manager had a word with the contractor to prevent this occurring again.
WiFi signal isn't great, but this is made clear to guests before booking and we were aware that to would be the case, and to be honest it was good to get away from phone calls, texts and emails for a while ;-)
Nearby places to visit include Killin, along Loch Tay, Aberfeldy and Pitlochry all within half an hours drive.
All in all, our one week break totally lived up to our expectations in terms of the standard of accommodation and the relaxing nature of our beak.
If we return within 6 months we get 10% off and I'm fairly sure we will be back later in the year.

Room Tip: The Bell Tower Cottage was extremely quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottie_Bairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful in depth review. We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay and are sure your review will be very helpful for other visitors. The discount applies if you re-book within 6 months although you don't necessarily have to stay within 6 months and we hope you will be able to use this later in the year. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just back from a midweek break in the Archway Cottage, can't wait to go back!!!!!
Cottage lovely, setting fantastic and all needs catered for. Stayed in Kenmore a few times before so knew my way about but staff were helpful in all our requests.
Already planning to rent one of the bigger properties for family celebrations next year but sure we can manage another short break or two before that.

Room Tip: Have seen around other properties and are all of the same high standards
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed Archway and thank you for taking the time to post a lovely review. Look forward to seeing prior to next year's family celebration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Just returned from our second stay at Mains of Taymouth. We previously stayed at No. 8 The Maxwells, this time however as there were 5 adults & 2 dogs we chose Smiddy Cottage and so glad that we did. The cottage is quaint, modern, clean, spacious and has everything we could have possibly have needed. Mains really do think of everything. The master en suite bedroom was spacious, clean and had ample storage, there was also a twin and a single bedroom all were decorated beautifully. Downstairs there was a modern main bathroom, comfortably cosy living room with log fire and a large modern kitchen with patio doors leading out to the enclosed garden with bbq, dining table and chairs and of course the hot tub. Décor, fixtures, fittings and accessories were 1st class. Would definitely stay at Smiddy Cottage again & would recommend it to anyone. In fact, would be delighted to stay at any of the Mains properties (although I do have my eye on the farmhouse in particular)!!!

It also has to be highlighted how professional, accommodating and friendly all the staff are at Mains, the reception staff are excellent (have to mention the lovely Nicki who is just excellent at what she does I could chat to her all day), the food and service in The Courtyard restaurant is fabulous and the shop staff are so lovely & helpful also.

It was a year between our last stay and this one... definitely won't be leaving it so long again!

Room Tip: For us it's the process of elimination really... how many does it sleep, does the accommodation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDCOOP25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Amazing review - thank you! It really is most pleasing to learn that guests are enjoying the recently refurbished Smiddy Cottage. Thanks also for the kind words about our staff, especially Nicki who is delighted to have had a mention. We look forward to welcoming you back - perhaps to The Farmhouse????
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The relaxing and luxurious surroundings made for a pleasant weekend trip away for my wife's birthday. We stayed in the maxwells as that was the only available property at the time of booking. It was a very cosy downstairs, modern with first class fixtures and fittings. The upstairs was spacious and again equipped well. The resort itself was great, an amazing restaurant. The shop come deli was pricy but some gourmet goodies were well worth the the inflated cost. Had such a good time and planning to go back soon for a summer trip.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scozzi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for posting a lovely review for The Maxwells, we hope you wife enjoyed her birthday treat and look forward to seeing you again soon (after the July trip that is!!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Lovely apartment over 2 floors with a very modern and comfortable living area, bedrooms and bathrooms. Kitchen included salt & pepper and a lot of decent cooking equipment.

Biggest downside was the technology...Wifi didn't exist, and in the bedrooms I had no signal at all. The TV tuning was awful - same channel repeated 10 times and the screen actually looked like it was analogue rather than digital due to wavy lines appearing on the screen! I suppose you don't go for this kind of holiday for TV & internet, but even so they are the kind of things you expect to work.

It wasn't great celebrating with plastic champagne glasses either, but plastic glasses are better than no glasses, and I suppose hot tub accidents are kept to a minimum ;) I didn't manage to use the hot tub but was told it was fab.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank your feedback, we're glad you enjoyed your stay despite some hiccups with the technology. Televisions are digitial, tuning should be checked prior to arrival and we apologise for any oversight on this occasion. As for the mobile phone signal this is rather outwith our control but we find O2 and Vodafone are normally pretty reliable in this part of the world. As you rightly point out plastic champagne glasses are provided for reasons of safety and we're pleased the hot tub was enjoyed by the majority of your party.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Wonderful house for family gathering. Hot tub, sauna and pool table great for passing the time when weather not so great. 1st tee 100yds from the door a great facility. Courtyard bar and restaurant a lovely place to chill. Great food and wifi. Wifi in house very variable!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moiramac12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for a lovely review following your family gatherin in Mains Park Court. We're pleased you enjoyed not only the accommodation but the golf and food too. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmore
0.3 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
887 reviews
5.6 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,525 reviews
9.0 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,943 reviews
10.9 mi away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
1,238 reviews
24.7 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mains of Taymouth Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mains of Taymouth Cottages

Property: Mains of Taymouth Cottages
Address: Taymouth Taymouth Mains of Taymouth Country Estate & Golf Course, Kenmore PH15 2HN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Kenmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mains of Taymouth Cottages 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 120 acre private country estate set in magnificent Highland Perthshire with stunning self catering properties sleeping from 2 to 12, many with hot tubs, saunas and games rooms, all at either a high 4* or 5* STB standard. Our excellent onsite facilities include our own golf course, riding stables, delicatessen & gift shop and cafe bar & restaurant all within walking distance from each property. Stunning views, tourist attractions & much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mains of Taymouth Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mains Of Taymouth Cottages Hotel Kenmore
Mains Of Taymouth Cottages Kenmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing