We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mains of Taymouth Cottages
Nearby Hotels
Kenmore Hotel(Kenmore)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Kenmore Club by Diamond Resorts(Kenmore)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Fortingall Hotel(Fortingall)
US$270
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Weem Inn(Aberfeldy)
US$197
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breadalbane Arms(Aberfeldy)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Moness Resort(Aberfeldy)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Travelodge Perth A9(Perth)(Great Value!)
US$50
Travelodge
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Ardeonaig Hotel(Ardeonaig)
US$135
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Dunalastair Hotel Suites(Kinloch Rannoch)
US$199
US$191
Travelocity
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel(Kinloch Rannoch)(Great Value!)
US$195
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (562)
Filter reviews
562 results
Traveller rating
494
47
12
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
494
47
12
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourtyard restaurantcastle gardenshot tubloch taybell towerhole golf coursekenmore hotelhigh standarddeli shopsmiddy cottagefantastic accommodationgames roomwhite water raftingevery utensilpony trekkingonsite restaurantfirst class
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
329 - 334 of 562 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2014

A mountain retreat located on Loch Tay in beautiful wee Kenmore. Terrific apartment style accommodation. Clean, commodious and nothing that the most fastidious client could reasonably ask for. A great 9 hole golf course on site too.

Room Tip: All good if not excellent.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoscoRobbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

We're delighted you enjoyed your stay in The Gallops apartments as well as our 9 hole golf course. Thank you for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We spent 2 nights in one of the Maxwells properties. It was equipped with everything we needed and was extremely comfortable. As has been mentioned, the tvs leave a bit to be desired and there was no wifi but we were there to relax so it didn't bother us. Maybe for the price, people expect better. We ate in the bar both nights so that we could take our dog and can highly recommend the food. The staff were very friendly and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripletmum1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay in the Maxwells Villas, we're so glad you enjoyed it despite hiccups with the TV (unusual) and internet (satellite system). Thanks also for mentioning the Courtyard. We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed in the Bothy and were more than happy with the accommodation and facilities on offer. The staff were very welcoming, the food in the restaurant was great and the location was absolutely perfect! We have stayed in Scotland many times but this was the first time in Kenmore. It is a perfect base to explore the area and beyond. We hiked up Ben Lawers, went canoeing in Loch Tay, went mountain biking near Pitlochry, ice climbing in Kinlochleven and did a stunning bike ride around Loch Leven near Glencoe. The 8 mile walk from Kenmore to Aberfeldy along the river is just perfect and not too strenuous; and you can treat yourself to some lovely cake at the Habitat Cafe in Aberfeldy, then catch the bus back to your accommodation. The bus even has a trailer for bikes if you wish to cycle there.
The hot tub was just perfect to come back to so we could soak our aching muscles.

As well as the onsite restaurant we would also recommend The Kenmore Hotel for dinner. We ate there on our last evening overlooking the river. Simply stunning food and stunning location. A perfect end to our perfect holiday!

We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daventree2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Wow - amazing review, thank you! Not much more we can add other than we hope you will return to Kenmore, and Mains of Taymouth, in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We've just spent a week at Mains of Taymouth, staying in Bell Tower Cottage.
The surrounding area is beautiful and, as check in isn't until 4pm, we travelled a bit early and spent some time in Aberfeldy before travelling on to Kenmore.
Check in was efficient and we received a friendly welcome.
On arrival at the cottage, a former stable block, we discovered it was as good as it looked on the website. Although only for two (plus dog) this accommodation is spread over three floors with more than enough room. The ground floor consists of an entrance hall, utility room (with washing machine / dryer and freezer), and a living area (with log burner which wasn't required due to the excellent weather) and a very well equipped kitchen including a dishwasher, microwave and fridge.
On the first floor there is a large bathroom with shower, roll top bath and sauna.
Up another few stairs to the second floor, located above the archway to the courtyard is the generous bedroom with four poster bed, TV and views tot the golf course and hills beyond.
The standard of fittings and decor in this property are of a high standard and it was spotlessly clean.
The estate is very strict on the control of dogs in so much that dogs cannot be left unattended in the accommodation even if the owners are only nipping out for dinner, which is good as it means they consider other guests peace and quiet. Dogs are welcome (with their owners obviously) at the lounge bar on site but not the restaurant which is fine as the same food is served in a relaxed atmosphere. The also do a take away menu which means you can have a drink or two while you order your food. We tried this one night and the food came promptly before we returned to the cottage to enjoy it. Breakfast and lunch is also served here too, which we thoroughly enjoyed on a number of occasions.
There are a number of activities to take part in if you so wish including Land Rover safaris, quad bikes fishing and golf (the 9 hole course was in excellent condition and I thoroughly enjoyed playing there).
The only complaint we had while we were there was the landscaping contractor strimming grass all over our car within inches of the paintwork rather than asking us to move it first (it was parked in the designated car park adjacent an area of lawn). Our complaint was dealt with satisfactorily though and hopefully the manager had a word with the contractor to prevent this occurring again.
WiFi signal isn't great, but this is made clear to guests before booking and we were aware that to would be the case, and to be honest it was good to get away from phone calls, texts and emails for a while ;-)
Nearby places to visit include Killin, along Loch Tay, Aberfeldy and Pitlochry all within half an hours drive.
All in all, our one week break totally lived up to our expectations in terms of the standard of accommodation and the relaxing nature of our beak.
If we return within 6 months we get 10% off and I'm fairly sure we will be back later in the year.

Room Tip: The Bell Tower Cottage was extremely quiet and comfortable.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scottie_Bairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for such a wonderful in depth review. We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay and are sure your review will be very helpful for other visitors. The discount applies if you re-book within 6 months although you don't necessarily have to stay within 6 months and we hope you will be able to use this later in the year. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just back from a midweek break in the Archway Cottage, can't wait to go back!!!!!
Cottage lovely, setting fantastic and all needs catered for. Stayed in Kenmore a few times before so knew my way about but staff were helpful in all our requests.
Already planning to rent one of the bigger properties for family celebrations next year but sure we can manage another short break or two before that.

Room Tip: Have seen around other properties and are all of the same high standards
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

We're so glad you enjoyed Archway and thank you for taking the time to post a lovely review. Look forward to seeing prior to next year's family celebration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews