We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mains of Taymouth Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We had a week at Mains of Taymouth which was superb - totally stunning scenery and weather was glorious which certainly added to everything. Plenty of fresh air, golf, walking and even a spot of white water rafting on the River Tay. Bell Tower Cottage lived up to our expectations and our stay there was relaxing and peaceful. Staff were friendly and very helpful and check in and out was easy and quick.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTaymouth, General Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

And thank you for an awesome review! We’re delighted you enjoyed your week in Bell Tower and made the most of the outdoor activities. We hope we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

Easy, informative check in. We stayed in 1Maxwell, this semi detached villa was really lovely! Very clean, well equipped with luxury furnishings with the comfiest bed! The grounds were well maintained (grass cutting at 8am!) We dined at the on site restaurant but unfortunately was not impressed with either the food or the service!. I'm nervous around dogs and was amazed that they were allowed in the bar where we ate! Kenmore is a small town right on the loch, good area for relaxing. walking, biking and canoeing/sailing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank alisonAberdeenshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTaymouth, General Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for your review, we’re pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in 1 Maxwells. We’re sorry you did not enjoy The Courtyard to the same extent and are pleased to advise that we have recently appointed a new manager to provide on hands direction for the team. As a pet friendly destination dogs are permitted in the bar area, however we realise not all guests are dog lovers and the restaurant is a pet free zone. We appreciate your comments and hope this will not deter you from visiting in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Yes, these are fabulous cottages with lovely touches and are amazingly comfortable. However, providing an all round 5* standard involves more than just these aspects; we had cobwebs in every room (those high ceilings must be incredibly hard to keep clean), no wifi any of the times we were in the bar area, different channels on the downstairs and upstairs TVs (no following the World Cup for us!), litter and dog poo (see comments later) in the grounds, fairly limited opening hours of the shop, problems with the kitchen one of the nights we ate in the bar.......
However, we were hugely disappointed with the strict policy where dogs are not allowed to be left unattended in the property. We had planned to go cycling during our stay but this just was not possible are our dog is too old to keep up with the bikes and the weather was too warm to leave him in the car. We essentially had 2 different holidays; my husband cycled and I did walks with the dog then met up with each other at the end of the day. We would be more than happy to provide a security deposit upon check in in the event that the dog caused any damage. A previous bad experience from poorly behaved dogs should not affect everyone else's enjoyment. This irritation was exacerbated by the owners' dog wandering about off lead (TSK TSK!!!!) and shitting on other guests' front steps. We won't be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottishSandyDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit. We’re sorry you encountered some difficulties during your stay with wi fi and tv channels. As for the high cobwebs please accept our apologies, we have equipment specifically designed to reach high ceilings and this was a genuine oversight on this occasion.
Our dog policy is mentioned on our website and at the time of booking. However, given your feedback we have taken steps to include the policy in our general terms & conditions too so that all guests are aware including those who prefer to book online.
Our ‘office dog’ is a very popular, friendly, laid back character who is normally ‘toileted’ before arriving at work to carry out her meeting and greeting duties. We shall endeavour to keep a closer eye on her in future and thank you for bringing this mishap to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Check in easy and quick with an overview of the estate and general area.
Villa was excellent, well equipped, spacious and clean.
Wifi is definitely a hit or miss but was better at the courtyard.
Although there are rules regarding dogs( particularly to be kept on leashes at all times on the estate) we found nearly all dogs were free to roam from the villas, which was a down side.
Plenty of eating choices in Kenmore and activities not to far away. Recommend the Highland Safaris at Dull, excellent day out.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Sasdax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTaymouth, General Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for a lovely review of our Villas, we’re glad you enjoyed your stay and hope the few canines determined to enjoy part of their holiday off leash did not detract too much from your overall enjoyment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Situated in the tiny village of Kenmore, near the banks of Loch Tay is this outstanding accommodation. Spacious, very well equipped and spotlessly clean, our upstairs 2 bdrm unit had high quality furnishings. Nice touches like local shortbread on arrival added to the positive vibe. Kenmore is tiny, the nearest decent supermarket is about a 12 minute drive away.
Only possible downside is slow WiFi, which they acknowledge.

Room Tip: Dogs are allowed in downstairs units, so choose upstairs if this concerns you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanMAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTaymouth, General Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for a lovely review following your recent stay in The Gallops apartments. As you rightly mention in hints & tips dogs are not permitted in the upper apartments and these are ideal for anyone who does not require pet friendly accommodation. We hope you will visit us again at some point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Just back from an excellent weekend staying in Easter Bruadair where we celebrated a family birthday. The accommodation was excellent and suited all ages (ranging from 1 year to 70). And the fact that the 1st tee was only 13 steps from the front door was an added bonus! The surroundings were well maintained and the staff were very friendly and helpful.....first class.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

We're delighted you had an excellent celebratory weekend in Easter Bruadair which was enjoyed by all, especially the golf. Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a truly 5 star experience. Dog friendly but no traces of dogs in the properties. Courtyard has great facilities, high quality food and friendly service. We've been twice this year and booked for another two weeks in September.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

It was lovely to read your 5 star review - thank you! We're pleased you enjoyed both the accommodation and The Courtyard Bar & Restaurant and look forward to your return in September.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmore
0.3 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
910 reviews
5.6 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,690 reviews
9.0 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,875 reviews
12.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,044 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kenmore Club
The Kenmore Club
#1 of 2 in Kenmore
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mains of Taymouth Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mains of Taymouth Cottages

Address: Taymouth Taymouth Mains of Taymouth Country Estate & Golf Course, Kenmore PH15 2HN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Kenmore
Price Range: £187 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mains of Taymouth Cottages 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BOOK DIRECT FOR BEST DEAL We are a 120 acre private country estate set in magnificent Highland Perthshire with stunning self catering properties sleeping from 2 to 12, many with hot tubs, saunas and games rooms, pet friendly, all at either a high 4* or 5* STB standard. Our excellent onsite facilities include our own golf course, riding stables, delicatessen & gift shop and cafe bar & restaurant all within walking distance from each property. Stunning views, tourist attractions & much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mains of Taymouth Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mains Of Taymouth Cottages Hotel Kenmore
Mains Of Taymouth Cottages Kenmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing