We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Lodges”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mains of Taymouth Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed 10 days in White House fantastic lodge, great hot tub brilliant games room. Lodge fully equipped with everything you could possibly need for a great holiday, all your comforts catered for. Ideal place to stay for walking, cycling, golfing or just for a chill out break. Site shop stocked very well, great friendly staff. if you're going to Scotland you must stay here.

Room Tip: recommend the lodges in Castle Gardens especially the White House
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickysNursery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for a brilliant review! Delighted you enjoyed your stay in the White House and many thanks for the recommendation. We hope you will visit us on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

We spent 3 weeks at the Mains of Taymouth. We could have stayed longer. In fact, we booked 4 weeks for next year! We live in sunny Nevada dessert, and the amazing summers in this location on Loch Tay is especially inviting. We enjoy the Gallops units because they are on one level. No climbing stairs for us. Our patio overlooks the fairways, the hills, the forests, the horse trails, and the nicely maintained grounds.
The resort supplies all the furnishings and kitchen appliances necessary for living in the highlands. The nearby deli is a mini market with all the necessities we need for a quick pick up. For the major stuff a short ride into the neighboring town of Aberfeldy, and you can load up on all supplies.
We love walking our our front door right on to the first tee for a good and challenging 9 holes of golf.
The staff in the office are very helpful and were able to take care of keeping us organized They happily helped us print off our boarding passes at the end of our stay.
Yes, I recommend Mains of Taymouth for a wonderful Scottish experience. We are coming back again ourselves.

Room Tip: Upstairs and downstairs units are available. We like the single level living. There are sizes for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Sara & Danny, thank you for a lovely in depth review following your recent stay in 7 The Gallops. Delightful guests, we very much look forward to welcoming you back next Summer. Enjoy the rest of your trip!! With best wishes from Robin, Irena and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We were in Weem for a wedding. We had been in Scotland five days prior, and thanks to United Airlines, had no luggage. We arrived at the Mains, and if it weren't for Nikki and Julie, we would likely have not obtained our luggage for the remaining four days of our trip, but thanks to their persistence, finally received our luggage. They exemplified the service by every member of the staff at the Mains--they go above and beyond to do anything to help your trip be all it can be.

The setting of the Mains and the cottages themselves were top notch. We stayed in six different accommodations in Scotland and the Mains was by far the best. The small supermarket and bar were amply stocked and staffed with the most friendly people.

When I go back to Scotland I will certainly go to the Mains for 3-4 days. It was perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Derek, thank you for your kind comments, the case of the missing luggage proved quite challenging and we were almost as pleased as you when it arrived!! That aside we’re glad you enjoyed your stay at Mains of Taymouth as well as the rest of your trip to Scotland and look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Quality cottages with quality fittings and furnishings .Quirky wee golf course on site and fishing and water sports nearby. Lovely shop and courtyard and lounge bar on site to cater for all your needs.Most of all really friendly and welcoming reception staff which makes all the difference to your holiday. OH! And for the Wifi reception just sit outside on the balcony and most of the time it's available to you.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank D4UNX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

We’re pleased you enjoyed your stay and thanks for taking the time to post a lovely review. We would like to assure all our guests that we are still working to improve the wi-fi situation and are meeting with BT in the near future to see how this can be achieved in our beautiful but rural location. Thanks again for kind comments in this respect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed for first week of family holiday and were impressed by the quality of the accommodation (Maxwells 8) and beautful setting. Staff always pleasant and helpful, and the onsite deli stocked delicious and varied food - not overpriced for the standard and quality products (see previous reviews).
Our son really enjoyed his first pony ride (thanks to the stable manager Katie) and we all loved the boating on Loch Tay. Our only niggle was the virtually non existent wifi signal in both our lodge and the Courtyard bar area, and the TV feed / set up was so odd that even the Commonwealth Athletes (and Fiona Bruce!) looked to have weight problems!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
Thank Janeeb25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Many thanks for your review, we’re glad you enjoyed your stay at 8 Maxwells despite niggles with the wi-fi and a rather wide Fiona Bruce! We’re working on both in an effort to find a long term solution (the Courtyard wi-fi has been repaired) and hope this will not deter you from returning along with your budding jockey. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We spent a weekend as a family gathering (15 across 3 properties). Our accommodation was great, comfortable and stylish (although I did spot high cobwebs same as previous reviewer). Staff were all friendly and welcoming. Nice to have the dog along as well but wondered why mine was on a lead when staff dog wandered freely.
Was advised on arrival that I wouldn't manage to access the wifi- major omission on our party as two folks needed access for work/legal matters. TV seemed to be very low quality compared to the capacity of the living room set.
Biggest annoyance was us all deciding on ordering a carry out from the restaurant for one evening's meal and being refused. This meant a drive down to Aberfeldy instead. Given the price of the accommodation. I wouldn't expect to have these things. I see I'm not the first to mention them either.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank BigJock2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for your comprehensive review following your recent family gathering, we’re pleased you enjoyed the accommodation.
Having recently upgraded our on site wi-fi to a satellite based system (hard wiring is extremely limited in this area) we were disappointed to find that it did not cope as well as expected with the volume of users requiring access at peak periods. We take this matter very seriously and continue to work with our provider towards a long term solution.
Please accept our apologies that the carry out service was not available at the time of placing your order. While we recommend guests pre-order we nevertheless realise that this is not always possible and are sorry you were disappointed and inconvenienced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed in a Maxwell and while it is comfortable there are too many niggles for us to believe it is worth the huge price tag. A luxury accommodation should have towels which are fluffy - not look flat, the wifi is non-existent, tv reception poor, no washing up rack, no washing up brush (only a cloth - who can clean a roasting tin with one of those??), the bed is too short for someone who is 6"1, toiletries are actually cheaply made in China, dog mess on patio area which took 3 days to clean, the Deli on site is ridiculously expensive...And check in is only allowed at 16:00 which is very late, even more so when they throw you out at 10:00 in the morning. It's the small things which mean we will actually not be coming back as we believe can get more for our money elsewhere. It's a pity as Kenmore is gorgeous.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Travelandbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for your review following your stay in the 5 Star Maxwells Villas. We’re sorry you did not fully enjoy your stay but if we may respond to the points raised:-

Towels - We apologise that you did not receive the normal standard of towel on this occasion, this matter has been raised with our supplier.
Wi-fi - the situation has been covered in various responses, suffice to say we are looking forward to having a site meeting with BT to see how we can overcome the challenges posed by our rural location.
Beds – our quality divan beds in the Maxwells are made to order the dimensions being 6’ in width and 6’ 3” in length
Toiletries – Highland Aromatics, the contents are in fact Scottish although the packaging is made in China which we accept is rather misleading.
Deli – the Courtyard Gift Shop & Deli is independently run and offers a wide array of gifts and goodies. Popular establishment with our guests and other visitors alike.
Check-in/Out – the times are clearly stated on the terms & conditions available on our website prior to booking. These are no different from the ‘norm’ and the same as many other quality self-catering establishments including Crieff Hydro and Glenmor Lodges, Gleneagles.

We’re disappointed you have decided not to return but would concur that Kenmore is indeed gorgeous.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmore
0.3 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
910 reviews
5.6 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,690 reviews
9.0 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,875 reviews
12.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,045 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kenmore Club
The Kenmore Club
#1 of 2 in Kenmore
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mains of Taymouth Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mains of Taymouth Cottages

Address: Taymouth Taymouth Mains of Taymouth Country Estate & Golf Course, Kenmore PH15 2HN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Kenmore
Price Range: £187 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mains of Taymouth Cottages 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BOOK DIRECT FOR BEST DEAL We are a 120 acre private country estate set in magnificent Highland Perthshire with stunning self catering properties sleeping from 2 to 12, many with hot tubs, saunas and games rooms, pet friendly, all at either a high 4* or 5* STB standard. Our excellent onsite facilities include our own golf course, riding stables, delicatessen & gift shop and cafe bar & restaurant all within walking distance from each property. Stunning views, tourist attractions & much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mains of Taymouth Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mains Of Taymouth Cottages Hotel Kenmore
Mains Of Taymouth Cottages Kenmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing