We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Corston Fields Farm
Ranked #1 of 2 Corston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Had a delightful stay here last December for the Bath Christmas market. Wonderful hosts, great breakfast and lovely room. Highly recommend for a peaceful and most comfortable weekend. We had a room in the house and bed was high and huge!

Room Tip: Room in the house was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank JaneyP123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed in the 'garden annex', which frankly is not much more than a glorified hut. With a sinking bed and a pathetic excuse for a shower - and extremely limited hot water. A slightly dirty bathroom (human hairs), with a broken light switch and loo roll rations. Having to ask for extra loo roll is rather embarrassing, made more embarrassing when not accompanied with an apology and only being given one (no harm in stocking up).

I suggest you enjoy your eggs in any form, as you will not be asked for your preference. I also suggest you're not from London like us - we got the feeling that the owners are not huge fans of 'city folk'.

In all fairness we did not get off to the best start during our stay in Bath; we had originally booked into a b&b down the road, but were told upon arrival that they had overbooked - despite me having phoned to confirm that morning. We were shown the way (in convoy) to Corston, which was actually more expensive - but the other b&b did pay the difference. I must say, if we had to pay the £100 per night charge ourselves, I really would have been put out.

While the views are spectacular, the garden annex amenities really are quite poor. The shower has a ridiculous mechanism with no instructions and when the water arrives it is one long drip - and we ran out of hot water after one 2 minute shower. The bed is a metal monstrosity with springs underneath which make the loudest noise if you move an inch, once you're in you sink in - and enjoy waking up with back ache.

We did not see the other 2 rooms inside, perhaps they have decent beds and bathrooms. However, personally I felt the owners thought of it as their house and you were slightly inconveniencing them by being there - and we felt very guilty when we were given both a continental and an english breakfast - and ate about half of what was laid on the table.

All in all, I think it is a shame they have effectively spoilt the beautiful 17th century house with a wooden hut - with shocking plumbing and no blind in the 'dressing room'. Why would you get dressed in front of a window?

I am not one to complain, but I wanted to let future guests know of our slightly negative experience; try Claridge's Farmhouse - the breakfast is miles better.

Room Tip: If waking up to a lovely view is important, the garden annex is the way to go; but please note you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianLouise16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fieldman2, Owner at Corston Fields Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Wow that's a bad review! However, we really have no problem with 'city folk', most of our guests come from urban areas but if being city folk means you stand in the centre of our courtyard having an intoxicated row over a lost phone and waking other guests in the wee small hours, then, yes, we have a problem with city folk Louise. You were obviously pretty irritated that weekend and it's spilled over it seems. We can only do our best and it was plainly not enough.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The difference between a good holiday and an unforgettable holiday is in the details, and Gerald & Ros Addicott at Corston Fields Farm have fully embraced that. The warmth and generosity of their hosting is exceptional on their beautiful farm. We stayed in the lovely self-contained garden annex with its panoramic views across the farm’s fields of wheat and linseed and the immaculate garden. The room was so well appointed with cosy beds, tasteful decor and lots of thoughtful details – fresh milk in the fridge, emery boards, face wipes even good speed WiFi out in our rural bolthole. Our hosts had thought of everything.

Our delicious breakfast was another example of attention to detail. Alongside our generous full English was a veritable cornucopia of extras. All served in appealing surroundings by the ever friendly Gerald

We will definitely be staying at Corston Fields Farm again. Ros and Gerald are so warm and helpful, and we enjoyed our stay so much, we are now looking for excuses to plan a return visit!

Room Tip: Each room is unique and lovely. Any of them will give you a wonderful experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheFarleighFlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just back from a wonderful weekend in Bath where we stayed at Corston Fields Farm. An extremely warm welcome greeted us. We stayed in the Garden Annex, which was beautifully decorated, cosy and relaxing. Breakfast is also top class! There is a lovely country pup, 2 mins walk away which served the best steak I have ever tasted (Service was slow but worth the wait). The farm is also conveniently located near to the Park and Ride which takes the pressure out of parking in Bath. Also near to "The Boat House Pub" which on our host recommendation we enjoyed a lovely dinner overlooking the river Avon. A perfect weekend away- we Highly recommend !!

Room Tip: Loved the Garden Annex, you can come and go as you please with beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Really enjoyed our stay comfortable quiet room with nice thoughtful touches like the chocolates and wine glasses. Great breakfast. A walk around the field is a good start to the day too. Near to Bath sights but nice to relax away from the busy centre.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RenLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My partner and I stayed in The Mahogony Room for two nights while visiting Bath. Corston Farm is a superb old farmhouse situated approx 5miles from Bath and a five minute drive from the park & ride (£3.20 return fare per person into the city centre)Rooms were beautifully decorated,bed was very comfortable with tea & coffee facilities, room was overlooking open farmland. Gerald and Ros. were lovely host and also provided a superb breakfast.The Globe Inn at Newton St Loe,a 5minute drive provide good evening meals, served up to 10pm

Room Tip: All rooms are to a high standard,although a working farm, it was very quite, so a good nights sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithtozer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The farmhouse is 1 mile outside Corston, so a car is needed to go about.
We stayed for two nights and the bathtowels were not refreshed for the second night.
The bed was noisy and backbreaking.
Breakfast was ultimo superbo !!!!!!!

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corston
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
5.9 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
9.8 mi away
The House near Bath
The House near Bath
#1 of 1 in Woolverton
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
748 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,882 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 155 in Bath
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corston Fields Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corston Fields Farm

Address: Wells Road | Corston, Nr Bath, Corston, Bath BA2 9HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Corston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Corston
Price Range: £60 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corston Fields is a 17th century farmhouse, standing in it's own farmland, just 5 miles from the centre of Bath city. The B&B is quiet with plenty of free, well-lit parking, the rooms are centrally heated, with Freeview TV and designed with a wow factor! Stay here the enjoy a city break, without city noise and city parking problems! Lots of good local pubs for evening meals too. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing