We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bell Inn

The Bell Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Rode
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dilton Marsh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent all round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Visited as a group of 4 adults and 2 children for Sunday lunch. The atmosphere was excellent with snug log fires and festively decorated for Christmas. The staff were extremely efficient, polite and friendly. We all had roast dinners. Both the pork and beef were excellent, large portions of vegetables and excellently presented. Deserts were equally good. Great venue, food and staff. A British pub at its best. Can't believe it wasn't busier.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    42
    16
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lacock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Start by putting the logs on the fire.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Why is it that pub landlords and managers spend fortunes on refurbishing establishments into fashionable open plan bar/diners and then expect one fire to heat the whole place leaving lots of lunchtime diners sitting in the cold looking at a pile of logs and next to a cold radiators.This does not encourage return visits summertime is over.The food is around average no more,and as another reviewer commented the staff were friendly and polite but had the all to common habit of calling customers 'guys'.We drive past quite often and I think that's what we will continue to do until we see a bit more smoke coming out of the chimneys.Sadly disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheepclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Favourite place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

I just joined tripadvisor and felt compelled to give this place a review as it is one of my favourite ever pubs and my boyfriend and I always make an effort to pay a visit every time we pass through on the way back from visiting friends. The food is always beautifully cooked, the staff pleasant and friendly, the prices very reasonable and the atmosphere cosy and welcoming. Big portions, too! Its great for casual lunches or posher dinner dates!

Wish I still lived in the area so I could go more often!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced and confusing service offer.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

The pub tries to establish itself as an upmarket 'pub', with average mains that demand restaurant prices, the desserts leave little in the way of pleasure - cuts have been made and prices are sky high, not what you expect from this type of establishment. In other areas, the service provided is excellent, in particular the staff are very friendly and attentive to customers. Whilst I would not recommend the desserts, I'm sure a meal would be fine, but don't expect much change or anything too fancy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank douglaseggleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Had a lovely roast dinner here on Sunday, all beautifully cooked and we only had to wait about 10 minutes! Also enjoyed a wonderful pudding of sticky toffee....eyes were bigger than our belly! Very friendly staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bell Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing