We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Cottage Hotel(Carbis Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Boskerris Hotel(Carbis Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Gannet Inn(Carbis Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chy-An-Albany(St Ives)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,730)
Filter reviews
1,730 results
Traveller rating
916
450
218
92
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
916
450
218
92
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssands restaurantprivate beachbeach barsea viewst ivessecret escapesbuilding workreception staffcoastal pathheated poolsuperior roomrestaurant staffstunning locationlovely hotelthe main hotelspa treatmentswedding party
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,285 - 1,290 of 1,730 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Impressed with the size of the room and the view overlooking the beach and sea, however wasn't impressed when we came to check out and someone had forged my signature on some bar receipts !! The receptionist handled it very professional and realised what had gone on , still I found it quite unnerving so would suggest paying cash at the bar !! Back to the room .......very nice , huge bed , lovely decorated, and fab products in bathrooms and robes ! Afternoon tea was very nice and everything tasted fresh and plenty of it . Spa treatments taken and found the spa area very relaxing and all the staff charming and professional ......well done ! Breakfast a little chaotic as sat waiting for order to be taken and the staff were laying a table next to us and knew we hadn't ordered as the menu was still on the table so when we leant over to request some tea at least she said " I will just finish doing this " . She did however realise what she said and left the table and attended to us. Breakfast is cooked freshly and is piping hot and delicious so be prepared to wait ! Evening meal again very nice but a bit chaotic as we had sat down and ordered before people who came to sit near us and yet theirs came well before ours .......doesn't seem to be any system !!! Also sat with finished main course plates in front of us for 35 minutes before they were taken away and dessert menu brought to us ...........not good guys !! The hotel is in a wonderful spot and despite the few niggles we would stay again . The staff are excellent , charming ,chatty and nothing is too much trouble for them .

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rosieWestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

What an amazing retreat! loved every moment, treated so perfectly at all times, they couldnt have done any more for us, all staff polite and tentative, well trained and professional. friendly and courteous. Will definitely be going back! may be for a anniversary weekend with my husband!!

Room Tip: Gorgeous houses/apartments in great positions xx
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manfadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I have just returned from my friend's hen weekend. We stayed at the hotel's Sunny Lyn apartment, ate at the Hotel and had a day at the Spa. It was a super enjoyable weekend, made even more special by the hotel's wonderful, helpful staff. The food at the hotel was delicious! Perfectly cooked and perfect sized portions. The staff couldn't do enough for us and were excellent. The spa day was AMAZING. Fantastic facilities and the girls there were ace, I've never felt so relaxed! Would recommend the Carbis Bay Hotel & Spa to anyone and I would love to come back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wenders27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The hotel is lovely for the able bodied, but definitely don't go if you are wheelchair bound ,as my paraplegic husband found to his cost. Hope the hotel does make some changes for future disabled guests, then our money won't be totally wasted.

Recently built wheelchair access bedroom and wet room was advertised and booked for us. We were both very excited about this weekend away, as it was a first outing after my husband's spinal cord injury in an accident a year ago.

Only wheelchair access to our bedroom is via car park and side gate( if not blocked by parked car !) Luckily it was nice weather. Once you get up the step onto the decking in front of the bedroom ( one of three garden bedrooms for less able ), you have to get through the sliding doors over quite a high threshold. There is a small portable ramp provided to get up the step to the patio decking and then the same ramp has to be moved to get over the window threshold. If you get over the threshold you come down with a bump the other side as of course no ramp inside. A ramp only a metre long was way too steep, even for my wheelchair bound husband, who has good upper body strength. Danger of going over backwards is high even with help. An elderly couple would never cope and this is a hotel Saga use.
The sliding doors have to be opened on the inside by an able bodied person going back through the car park and reception and down the stairs, to open the room door and then sliding door for the disabled person. Same has to happen if you go out ,as no way to close or lock window from outside. There are issues with the slope up to reception with a small step which could send a wheelchair backwards,and to the before mentioned gate which has a steep constructed slope up to it. The issue with cars blocking the gate needs to be addressed, as we were blocked in for 3 hours on Sunday afternoon and couldn't get into our room on arrival Saturday afternoon. There also seems to be only one disabled parking place by reception which is another issue.

If you manage to get into the bedroom, more surprises await you!
!.The bed was way too high for easy transfer from a wheelchair. Had to help heave my husband in which was terribly unsafe. Maybe better to have turned around and gone home then.
2.Lovely wet room, but partially blocked by immovable glass panel, that only an able bodied person could get past , so no access for wheelchair transfer to promised shower chair ( which wasn't there anyhow). I cried when I saw that.
3. no grab rails by toilet or emergency cord or small bin for clinical waste in room or in disabled toilet behind bar which is usual. The disabled toilet behind bar didn't have any hand drier of paper towels either.

Room Tip: Avoid booking a room when wedding reception/disco booked as very noisy in hotel. Don't book 'accessible' rooms unless you see them first. There is no lift in hotel and no disabled access to new spa or swimming pool.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Just got back from a couple nights break, stunning hotel! Food, service and spa exceptional. Our only comment with the dinner was that you felt a bit rushed through the whole thing, but the food was amazing so it wasn't a huge problem!

We had room 110, which was lovely, spacious and clean however the bed had a broken central beam which creaked every time you rolled over, making sleeping a bit of an issue, which we did mention but nothing seemed to get done for the second night! Also the room didn't have double glazing, so the glorious views of the beach are accompanied by the early morning barking dogs which was a little earlier each morning than I'd have liked.

Chantelle in the spa was lovely, best massage I've ever had!! Also Nathan on the bar was lovely and really helpful.

The biggest let down was there was a function on the Friday night, which we were moved restaurants for, and when we asked was told it was a dinner party, fair enough. All good until half 9 when the DJ started up, right below our room until gone 12. A little warning wouldn't have gone a miss so we could have at least had a late dinner and not planned a quiet night in our room!!

Despite that, we would go back. It really is a lovely hotel and the spa facilities were amazing, although a steam room wouldn't go a miss ;)

Room Tip: Check the bed in 110 has been sorted!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews