We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Miss”

Review of Cliff Cottage

Cottage with beach one minute down the path
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage with beach one minute down the path
Downstairs bedroom with seaview The cottage and conservatory and grounds with St Ives in the distance (20 minutes away)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Cottage with beach one minute down the path
Downstairs bedroom with seaview
The cottage and conservatory and grounds with St Ives in the distance (20 minutes away)
Sitting room facing the sea
View over hedge towards Hawks point and Gwithian
Corner fence by private path to beach one minute away
Conservatory with view of cliff side and scented pink geraniums
Master bedroom with panoramic seaview
Downstairs bedroom with seaview
Sitting room fireplace
Dining table in the window of the sitting room showing the view and stained glass windows
Front door of cottage with scented lemon tree
Decorative souvenirs in the conservatory
Reading room window with sea-view
Table and sofa bed in reading room
Entrance hall staircase dining room door to far sitting room
Front of the house with balcony of master bedroom
Sitting room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Pantry
Carbis Bay beach below the cottage with the view of the cliff path leading to St Ives
View of cliff cottage facing the bay towards St Ives
View of Hawks Point and rainbow over Godrevy lighthouse and seven miles of golden sands at Gwithian
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Carbis Bay, St Ives, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
traceyemm...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed 1 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Wow wow wow ... is this the best cottage in england ? The views and location are perfect . The beach walks accessed by your own private path morning and evening are invigorating. Cliiff cottage is full of character it has a double shower and bath the perfect way to start and end the day before getting into the most comfortable bed and falling asleep to the sound of the sea . Carbis bay is clean friendly and welcoming. The beaches and sea are world class . The restaurants tea rooms fudge shops ans galleries are a must along side fresh fish and chips a cornish pasty and ice cream . I rate this holiday 11 out of 10 a return visit is inevitable .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2017
Thank you very happy Annabel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulandJa...
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Home from Home with Spectacular Views”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The best thing I can say is that from the minute we arrived we felt as though we were at home.
The cottage is, as the name suggests, on the cliff side. It has its own private path to the beach and the coastal path.The views are spectacular even on the days when the weather is not as good.
The cottage itself is delightful with plenty of space and everything you need for a self catering holiday. The beds are really comfortable and to lay in bed listening to the sea as you fall asleep is a treat.
The Railway station is just over the road and trains run regularly to St Ives and Penzance.
This was my first visit to Cornwall and I was not disappointed by the county but especially by the cottage and I would expect it will not be the last.
This is a great place whether you want to use it as a base to explore this part of Cornwall or, as I did, just to relax and enjoy it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homely feel and the views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2016
Thank you very much Annabel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester...
Leicester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a Wonderful Place”
Reviewed 14 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We rented this cottage with my parents for six nights. It was everything we could have hoped for. The location is spectacular and the cottage itself is utterly beautiful. We walked the dog every morning on the beach during the dog friendly hours (5:00am - 8:00am during tourist season - essentially Easter to 30 September) and being able to amble down the cliff path to get there was a treat.

The cooker is out-dated, but didn't make it overly difficult. We loved breakfast in the nook in the lounge and Tesco is not far so ingredients are easy to come by.

The TV will accept HDMI, so your fire stick or NOW TV box will work there. Internet access is good enough to watch movies.

The St Ives train stops a two minute walk from the cottage; it`s quite reasonably priced and it is worth taking the train in to explore St Ives. Mobility scooters and dogs are allowed.

Cliff Cottage made our holiday truly special and it was lovely come home to after a day of exploring the area. We would happily recommend it and hope to return next year. For longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere of the cottage and the stunning views.
Liked least: The cooker.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2017
Thank you very much Annabl
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tour63048...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love Cliff Cottage - a wonderful memory made ”
Reviewed 26 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
6
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful week at this beautiful cottage, a slice of heaven. Dream home in perfect location, stunning views. Deborah the local housekeeper was so friendly and welcoming and had the place immaculately clean for our arrival. The cottage is full of character and beautifully and fully equipped. Even have a cupboard of condiments! All linen is supplied, but take your own bath/hair/beach towels. Any slightly negative points raised in earlier reviews can be ignored as Annabel has clearly addressed these. Lush full length bath with a super wall shower incorporated and there are plenty of plug in oil filled heaters through out, in addition to the night storage heaters to keep you cosy. And then there is the joy of the open fire with copious wood supplied (takes 1 minute to get it roaring!).

The immediate surrounding area is fairly steep including the start of the coastal path walk, by the Carbis Bay Hotel, to St Ives but levels out quickly and is an enjoyable walk (about 40 mins slow pace). There is also the little train that gets you there in 5 mins. Train is fab, running along the cliff and only costs £1 each way. The line runs behind the cottage (so quiet you won't notice) and the station just a few yards beyond. This is ideal for nipping in and out of St Ives where everyone is friendly and there are great galleries, gift shops, pubs and eateries.

Was an absolute joy to stay in this cottage and would not hesitate to go back again... wish it was mine!!

Note for dog owners... Carbis Bay Hotel owns the beach and impose a dog ban on the beach in summer. You can walk dogs there between 5am to 8am but will be shouted at thereafter! We thought we had booked early enough to precede said ban by arriving on 19th March deeming it as pre summer season... but sadly not. However, we seemed to be ok on Porthkidney Beach by following the coast bath round the headland to the right. There is also a dog friendly beach far side of st ives beyond the harbour.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2016
Thank you for the review annabel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBerry73
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent View, Location , service”
Reviewed 28 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Everything is excellent, lovely old house, like being taken back in time. The location is unbelievable, the beach is Clean, stretch of golden sand, the cliff walks are superb ( Very Hilly ). 2 mins walk to the st. Ives to st Eirth Branch line train. 10 mins to st.ives by road and approximately 20 mins to st Michaels mount, lands end, Gweek seals sanctuary, supermarkets within 5 mins drive. If you are looking for sea views this is the place. Can't comment enough of the superb views, and gorgeous house.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2015
thank you very much Annabel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommyorwi...
Matlock, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A house of distinction and charm.”
Reviewed 25 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We travelled by train to this property and found the position of the house breathtaking, sitting as it does with a commanding view of Carbis Bay and across to St Ives. The house itself was wonderful to be in, full of character and interest at every turn. All is within easy reach - shops, restaurants, transport, fresh fish, sea yet you have the happy experience of being quite away from it all. It is the kind of place you see from the coastal path and wonder who is lucky enough to live there. Well, we did for a week and it was marvellous.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location is unique
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2015
thank you very much Annabel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aly_as247
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great honeymoon location”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Having been spectacularly let down by Holiday Cottages (cancelling our long term booked honeymoon in one of their cottages two weeks before the honeymoon), Annabelle's Cliff Cottage was an amazing alternate honeymoon venue. We fell in love with the house instantly, it's charm, it's beach location, it's layout, it just took our breath away. We did lots of day trips out and about and had a lovely meal at Alba in St Ives (using the branch line, next to the house, to get in and out again). We would love to come again, probably out of season next time as we were told off by quite a few locals for having the dog on the beach!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: private access to the beach
Liked least: Didn't know we weren't allowed the dog on the beach!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2015
Thank you very much Annabel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing