We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jane S
Plymouth, United Kingdom

A Perfect Break

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Sept 2023
We stayed at the Boskerris for 5 days and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.
The hotel is smart, quiet and comfortable; the staff could not be more helpful and friendly; the food at breakfast and dinner was delicious; the view of the bay is amazing; and the local train to St Ives is conveniently just a few minutes walk from the hotel.
We would strongly recommend the Boskerris to those who are looking for the ideal base for holidaying in this part of Cornwall.
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Catherine LLD, General Manager at Boskerris Hotel, St Ives, responded to this review
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you Jane for your kind words. We really appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest regards,

Catherine x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
0.1 miles from Boskerris Hotel, St Ives
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
0.2 miles from Boskerris Hotel, St Ives
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
0.2 miles from Boskerris Hotel, St Ives
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Algotels
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
0.2 miles from Boskerris Hotel, St Ives
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
0.2 miles from Boskerris Hotel, St Ives
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
0.2 miles from Boskerris Hotel, St Ives
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Vio.com
0.2 miles from Boskerris Hotel, St Ives
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
0.3 miles from Boskerris Hotel, St Ives
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
  • Priceline
0.3 miles from Boskerris Hotel, St Ives
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
0.2 miles from Boskerris Hotel, St Ives
View more hotels in Carbis Bay
Reviews (958)
Filter reviews
958 results
Traveller rating
887
59
8
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
887
59
8
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews st ives sea view beautiful hotel short train ride nothing is too much trouble three nights places to visit cooked to perfection long weekend feel very welcome amazing views biscuits cornwall bay blues anne furnishings
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 958 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2023

We received a warm welcome on arrival. Our room had sea views and was very comfortable. Breakfast was served by staff and was excellent, our evening meal likewise. The terrace is a great place for drinks pre or post dinner. Lounge was small and very comfortable. The beach and train station is turn left at the hotel and down the very steep hill, a short 10 minute walk. We caught the train to St Ives and left the car in the hotel car park. We stayed for 2 nights. A few things we would have liked to see in hotel were better wifi network, it never really worked for us no matter what log in details we used. We were told by hotel it was patchy when we asked. Without wifi we had to leave hotel and go out into road for mobile reception. And secondly there was not enough tea and coffee left in room, and fruit teabags would have been nice. We did ask for more teabags and fruit tea and fresh milk which was provided on asking. Good hotel and we would stay again.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Steph618
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Catherine LLD, General Manager at Boskerris Hotel, St Ives, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. And we absolutely take your feedback regarding Wi-Fi onboard, it's something we struggle with over the busy season down here.

Many thanks

Catherine x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2023

We loved our stay at the Boskerris.
The location on the hillside above Carbis Bay gives extraordinary panoramic sea views especially from the terrace. The exterior of the hotel and its garden are beautifully maintained. You just know that a lot of love is poured into this hotel.
The hotel’s furniture and fittings are all of the highest quality. Starting with the terrace there are comfortable outside sofas and cast iron tables and chairs - no plastic rubbish which you think may collapse under you at any moment.
In our room the shower was very good though it did lack a separate hand wand. It did have a good drench head and seemingly limitless hot water. The bed was excellent and we slept as soundly as we do in our Hypnos at home which doesn’t happen in most hotels. The wi-fi signal was generally acceptable but a bit patchy in parts of the hotel. Perhaps worth checking if another repeater is needed? Our tv was showing it’s age and when refurbishment allows a new Samsung would be a lovely touch. These are minor suggestions which for most hotels I wouldn’t even list but the Boskerris aims for the perfect holiday experience and I offer them as a genuine comment to a wonderful hotel.
The staff team at the Boskerris are what elevates the hotel from very, very good to superb. Catherine is a subtle, low key but very active manager who is to be seen around the hotel ensuring her team deliver the best experience to guests. If culture in a business comes from the top Catherine deserves a medal. The entire team from housekeeping, kitchen, serving and reception staff have an attitude of trying and succeeding in delivering as perfect a guest experience as they can.
Our main point of contact was Anne without whom our holiday would not have happened. Her ready smile and willingness to do anything she could to ensure the best possible holiday experience for us was something quite special. Thank you, just thank you.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Silversurfer1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Catherine LLD, General Manager at Boskerris Hotel, St Ives, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Wow - thank you so much for your beautifully detailed comments, very useful and we hugely appreciate it.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Thank you again,

Catherine x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2023

We stayed for 4 nights at the end of August. The staff were all very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Dinner every night was amazing. The hotel has parking and is a short walk to the Carbis Bay station and also down to the sandy beach.

Date of stay: August 2023
Thank 814gavins
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Catherine LLD, General Manager at Boskerris Hotel, St Ives, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely comments.

Kindest regards,

Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2023

What a 7 day stay!!
The Boskerris Hotel is outstanding.
The staff are exceptional. Nothing is ever too much and they all provide the highest level of service. So friendly, professional and knowledgeable with great recommendations.
The hotel and rooms are as equally fabulous. The terrace is a wonderful feature and the hotel is located in a quiet part of beautiful Carbis bay.
The restaurant is of the highest quality. The food was exquisite. We ate there for 4 nights and it was absolutely delicious on each occasion. The breakfasts are also fantastic!
Congratulations Boskerris you are a world class establishment!
We will certainly be back next year

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Catherine LLD, General Manager at Boskerris Hotel, St Ives, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you so much!! Such lovely comments and we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and your dining experiences.

Thank you and we can't wait to welcome you back.

Catherine x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2023

I cannot recommend this hotel enough after a recent stay there. The hotel is just lovely and the views over Carbis Bay and St Ives are stunning. Staff were so friendly and helpful and great at recommending places to visit. The food in the restaurant was excellent and I highly recommend a cream tea on the terrace. Loved it!

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jacquel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Catherine LLD, General Manager at Boskerris Hotel, St Ives, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you so much for your kind words, we're so pleased you enjoyed your time with us!

Kindest regards,

Catherine x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews