We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rude staff and really bad service!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cape Helius Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hellevoetsluis
Reviewed 28 June 2014

rude service rude staff with the exception of 2 people that always had a smile on there face. ..

Cant think of anything good to say and i have stayed at a lot of hotels on average 5 nights a week and this has topped them all!!! Stay away

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Cape Helius is one of the few hotels in Hellevoetsluis and is literally on top of the yachting mariner. These two factors seem to have created a feeling that 'they therefore don't need to try to hard'. The rooms are sizable with great views (at the front) but the standard of cleaning is poor. Some staff are fine but others go out of their way to let you know that you are inconveniencing them.
At the weekends you must set your alarm for breakfast, as 40 minutes before breakfast was due to finish we were told that the hot food had finished!

Room Tip: If you are not paying for a room with a view there is not a great deal of point staying here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

From outside, Cape Helius Beach Hotel looks much more better than inside.
In the good side: large family rooms at good prices in low season, parking facilities by free and location (direct access to an artificial beach).
In the bad side: excessive prices in the high season, no access to the balcony (door was closed pretendedly because maintenance reasons) and some security failures. Moreover, breakfast was not included in the price of the room.

Room Tip: Check whether balcony is accesible when booking the room, particularly if you are paying an extra fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Astur67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed for one night while on a cycling tour. We had a bit of trouble finding the hotel as the surrounding buildings look like a suburban housing estate and there are no signs. The hotel is on the waterfront directly south-west of the fortress. As the name suggests it faces onto the beach, which is quite small but seemed nice.

We arrived late in the evening so there was only a security guard on duty. Nevertheless he seemed to be working hard for his money and checked us in quickly in between answer the constantly-ringing phone.

If you want to eat in the local area, or at the hotel, get here before 9pm. All the local restaurants seem to stop serving at that time, with only Dominoes Pizza open until 10pm. There are no late-night shops, so after that you're on your own unless you want to drive into central Hellevoetsluis (it's not walkable).

We booked a business room because it was cheaper than a standard room. The room was large and included a desk, three comfortable chairs and a dining table with six chairs as well as the bed, which was comfortable. The bathroom had a full-size bath with a shower unit that worked well. However the shower curtain needed cleaning.

The room also included a balcony with a table and chairs, although this area hadn't been cleaned in a while.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west face look out onto the car park while those on the east look over the garden and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

we stayed for 2 nights, with children in a family room. 4 beds in ca 30 sq metre. room was clean and ok. We booked with seaview and considerig high season, this was nice. On level 2 of 2 we oversaw the water.
but being high season there are rooms that are ground level overlooking street or parking place- be awar eof that it is awful.

Rooms are ok, so also wlan was promised it was not availbable in our 36 hours there due to maintenance- poor nowadays and if you have to work it migh be expensive to get into roaming.

Room Tip: walk to light house and wind mill
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hein2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This is by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Poor service, dirty room, lousy breakfast..just to mention a few. Should be downgraded to a 1 star hotel! Just because the hotel is next to the beach they assume all other aspects of the hotel are not important

Room Tip: Dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Francois K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Generlly good.
By the marina and not far from The Vestings (food and bars).
The houses were clean and tidy on arrival.
Car parking spaces outside of most of the units.
Some houses allow you to smoke.
Some houses allow animals.

Room Tip: Self catering houses. Various types, some with saunas and wirl pool baths. The hotel part - all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Midge42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hellevoetsluis
4.8 mi away
Badhotel Rockanje & Brasserie Lodgers
10.6 mi away
Oasis Parcs Punt-West Hotel & Beachresort
1.7 mi away
Citta Romana
Citta Romana
#1 of 2 in Hellevoetsluis
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Carlton Oasis Hotel
Carlton Oasis Hotel
#1 of 2 in Spijkenisse
395 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Zalm
14.4 mi away
Resort Land & Zee
Resort Land & Zee
#1 of 2 in Scharendijke
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Helius Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Helius Beach Hotel

Address: Nieuwe Zeedijk 1 | Hellevoetsluis, 3221 LZ Hellevoetsluis, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Hellevoetsluis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hellevoetsluis
Price Range: £53 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cape Helius Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cape Helius Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing