We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good dining, lousy service”
Review of Le Cor de Chasse

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Barvaux
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Cor de Chasse
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Barvaux
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We have spent two days at Le Cor de chasse (mid January). It is located in a beautiful area, on a rather quiet road. Despite the positive reviews I had read (especially as far as the restaurant is concerned) we left with a bitter aftertaste:
- welcome was not really charming (far from..), but hey, everyone can have a bad day;
- the rooms (we had a large one) are decent and clean, but ours was not cleaned during our stay (which, I must say, is rather disappointing in terms of proper service); the toilet was stuck, which we told the manager about after breakfast; when we came back at the hotel in the late afternoon, it was not yet repared;
- dinner (we had the "Découverte" menu) was original, tasty, well presented; it deserves to be praised; on the other hand, the sommelier was rather clumsy and really wanted to move on with the show instead of doing his job;
- for us, the main drawback is the human factor; a restaurant/hotel manager should never neglect the proper care for the customer, even if its food is Michelin-worthy.
We did not feel welcome at the Cor de chasse, and that left us with a bitter aftertaste.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patrilusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for Le Cor de Chasse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2010

The food here is outstanding and better than other one star restaurants, and the stay & eat deals are true bargains. The family that runs this place are just great. Although the hotel rooms are just ok, overall this is a great place to stay and eat in the Ardennes!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank henriksm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2009

The hotel is situated near the woods, on a quiet road 1.5 km outside the village of Barvaux. It doesn't look fancy from the outside, but the interior is very well decorated, stylish and cosy.
Our room was ok: clean, stylish, cosy and a fine bed.
The best thing yet to come: dinner! Very good, Michelin worthy (were no experts, but visited restaurants with Michelin stars before), for a modest price. Although less important, breakfast was equally good, probably the best hotel breakfast I ever had.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DutchDesire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Natalie7265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Kamers met zicht op zwembad, tuin en park met terras zijn het rustigst.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaatdiddens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank IngeDebaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barvaux
3.7 mi away
Le Saint-Amour
Le Saint-Amour
#8 of 19 in Durbuy
138 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Caleche
La Caleche
#3 of 19 in Durbuy
133 reviews
3.8 mi away
Jean De Boheme
Jean De Boheme
#11 of 19 in Durbuy
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Tropical Hotel
Tropical Hotel
#17 of 19 in Durbuy
185 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel La Librairie
Hotel La Librairie
#5 of 19 in Durbuy
70 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#14 of 19 in Durbuy
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Cor de Chasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cor de Chasse

Address: Petit Barvaux 97, Barvaux, Durbuy, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Luxembourg Province > Durbuy > Barvaux
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Barvaux
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing