We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleeping in style in the Ardennes”
Review of Le Cor de Chasse

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Barvaux
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Cor de Chasse
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Barvaux
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed in Le Cor de Chasse because we had booked a package (dinner + overnight stay).
Very friendly people.
The large rooms are well decorated, modern bathroom, enormous terrace with view on the garden. We immediately felt relaxed when we arrived in the room.
The only (small) negative thing to mention is that the bath mat was really worn out. This is a detail of course, but it came to our attention because everything else was so perfect.
Le Cor de Chasse is situated in the tiny village of Wéris, a perfect place to start nature walks in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiona037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

I've been here a couple of times and the food is excellent. It's very creative, sometimes you don't immediately recognize the ingredients which makes the experience fun. If simple is what you're looking for then this isn't the place for you!
Le Cor de Chasse serves inventive food, often with very unexpected twists. The food is of the highest quality and eating there is an adventure.
The only hesitation that I have in my review is that although the service is excellent, it is far from welcoming. It can seem a bit standoffish. And, while you might expect that in a 5 star or Michelin starred restaurant, it seems a bit off-putting here.
But, apart from that, dining here is exciting and extremely satisfying. The presentation is absolutely gorgeous, to boot!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The Restaurant is just amazing! The Chef and his team put so much work, love and dedication in the food, it is just incredible! The sommelier is a big plus for the restaurant.

The service is friendly and relaxing. The rooms are nice and the atmosphere is very relaxing.

Which is a bit weird is that you do not get an explanation at check-in about the hotel or restaurant for example at what time dinner or breakfast is starting.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank I_Like_Gooood_Hotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We were there in a group of 12 to celebrate the birthday of my father. We loved the rooms and the other facilities in this hotel. Outstanding renovation, very trendy and stylish without being luxury. Do lodge in the luxury rooms. The 10 euros surplus was worth every euro. The menu prestige was excellent as well,as were the wines. Service was correct but as mentioned by others not outstanding. We loved walking in the area. We will surely be back.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Lekker001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We enjoyed the Menu Prestige and one night stay over. This Hotel/Restaurant is just perfect, only for those who understand and can appreciate excellent food. It is not cheap, but it is worth every cent. You do not find places like this often.
My wife and me highly recommend this place, especially when you want to celebrate your anniversary as we did.

Room Tip: The suite is absolutely beautiful with the stunning bathroom. The hotel is stylish, so you miss a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MennoWitteveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We have spent two days at Le Cor de chasse (mid January). It is located in a beautiful area, on a rather quiet road. Despite the positive reviews I had read (especially as far as the restaurant is concerned) we left with a bitter aftertaste:
- welcome was not really charming (far from..), but hey, everyone can have a bad day;
- the rooms (we had a large one) are decent and clean, but ours was not cleaned during our stay (which, I must say, is rather disappointing in terms of proper service); the toilet was stuck, which we told the manager about after breakfast; when we came back at the hotel in the late afternoon, it was not yet repared;
- dinner (we had the "Découverte" menu) was original, tasty, well presented; it deserves to be praised; on the other hand, the sommelier was rather clumsy and really wanted to move on with the show instead of doing his job;
- for us, the main drawback is the human factor; a restaurant/hotel manager should never neglect the proper care for the customer, even if its food is Michelin-worthy.
We did not feel welcome at the Cor de chasse, and that left us with a bitter aftertaste.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patrilusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

The food here is outstanding and better than other one star restaurants, and the stay & eat deals are true bargains. The family that runs this place are just great. Although the hotel rooms are just ok, overall this is a great place to stay and eat in the Ardennes!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank henriksm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barvaux
3.8 mi away
Jean De Boheme
Jean De Boheme
#11 of 19 in Durbuy
148 reviews
3.7 mi away
Le Saint-Amour
Le Saint-Amour
#8 of 19 in Durbuy
140 reviews
3.8 mi away
Le Sanglier Des Ardennes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
La Caleche
La Caleche
#3 of 19 in Durbuy
134 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel La Librairie
Hotel La Librairie
#4 of 19 in Durbuy
70 reviews
5.7 mi away
La Passerelle
La Passerelle
#5 of 19 in Durbuy
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Cor de Chasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cor de Chasse

Address: Petit Barvaux 97, Barvaux, Durbuy, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Luxembourg Province > Durbuy > Barvaux
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Barvaux
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing