We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seclusion, luxury and decadence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Buderim, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Seclusion, luxury and decadence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We were lucky enough to enjoy two nights at this fabulous rainforest retreat recently. The service that we received from hosts Karen and Michael was first class. The cabin was beautifully presented and we loved all the little romantic touches that they left for us like candles, chocolates and port. The bed was so comfortable that we had a great night's sleep and awoke to the sounds of the rainforest birds singing which was magical. The breakfast basket was generously stocked with local bacon, free range eggs, homemade jam, etc. Michael even delivered freshly baked croissants to our cabin! A wonderful 'escape' that has left us feeling refreshed and recharged.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy4556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_and_Michael_C, Manager at Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Hi tmj88,
Wow, we really enjoyed meeting you guys. It was a pleasure for us to see someone embrace the Narrows Escape experience to the full! We are thrilled that you enjoyed everything. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Karen and Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
341
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We just spent two glorious nights at Narrows Escape.

This was our first foray into the mountains for a romantic break. As it was a gift given to us by someone who had previously stayed at the retreat on two separate occasions, we were sure we were in for a treat. However, we were completely blown away by the atmosphere, facilities and the hosts who made this an extremely memorable experience.

Champagne on the deck, meals arriving in hampers, fresh croissants each morning, in-house massages and a two person spa made this a truly relaxing and romantic escape.

Our hosts, Karen and Michael, are hospitality professionals. They are expert at gauging their visitors needs and level of one-to-one contact. We are very social by nature, so being able to interact with our hosts enhanced our stay. However, to those guests wishing to "disappear" into the tranquillity of the retreat, the deliveries of food and supplies would appear as it by magic.

We also took advantage of the massage service from Angela and her team at Touch of Power. A perfect way to wind down and relax at their expert hands.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tmj88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_and_Michael_C, Manager at Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Hi tmj88,
Wow, we really enjoyed meeting you guys. It was a pleasure for us to see someone embrace the Narrows Escape experience to the full! Thrilled you enjoyed everything. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Karen and Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

This is a perfect place to have a well earned break from the rat race. Beautiful location, cabins are quaint providing privacy, comfortable furnishings and special treats. Karen and Michael are the perfect hosts and make you feel so welcome. Highly recommend dinner at Wild Rocket, just gorgeous. We also enjoyed lovely meals on the veranda, very romantic. And the spa WOW! We will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahandanthony2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_and_Michael_C, Manager at Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Hi Sarah and Anthony,
Delighted you enjoyed your special escape and are thrilled with your awesome review. Thank you so much guys. Hope to see you again soon.
Karen and Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Picton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

A lovely serene location, to fully relax and recharge. The creek was so peaceful, lovely to just lay in the hammock and soak up the peace. The breakfast hamper was amazing and provided enough food for morning and afternoon teas as well. Such lovely hosts, very welcoming and helpful. The massage from Angela at Touch of Power was blissful and highly recommended. Will be sure to return. Thanks for a lovely mini break.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tris14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_and_Michael_C, Manager at Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Hi Tris,
It was brilliant having you come to stay. Thank you for travelling so far. Great to hear you had an excellent break away from everything! See you again soon.
Karen and Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

This was exactly as pitched if not made even more special by the generosity and warmth of the hosts Michael and Karen. Thank you. The transfer company recommended was friendly and accommodating. Sensational meal at Wild Rocket @ Misty's. Your sense of community and promotion of local produce is both beneficial and amazingly tasteful and also made visiting Montville unique.
PS. LOVE the robe I bought

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 814alit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_and_Michael_C, Manager at Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Hi Ali,
Thank you for your excellent review. So pleased you enjoyed all that Montville and this region has to offer. We loved spoiling you and are very pleased you love your robe! We are looking forward to your next visit.
Karen and Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

“We have never stayed in such a beautiful place. Secluded, romantic, peaceful and relaxing, I would love to stay here for my honeymoon one day. Loved the robes, loved the roses, loved the chocolates - personalized! Could not be more perfect.”

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chellebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_and_Michael_C, Manager at Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Hi Chellebear,
Thank you for all the love in your review! We hope also to be hosting you for your honeymoon one day. Thrilled you had a perfect time. See you soon,
Michael and Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Seafood platter was incredible - and so big! We had to eat it over two sittings. The room has so many nice touches - the port, the roses, the extra towels…

We are usually a couple who like to try lots of new different places, but after finding this flawless, comfortable, welcoming, intimate lodge in the rainforest...we've already started referring that all our retreats will now be at Narrows.

Well done.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. Take them up on the in-house food platters. Incredible value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_and_Michael_C, Manager at Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Hi Andrew C,
Wow, what a stunning review from someone well travelled. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and the in-house food platters, and all our other little touches. We look forward to spoiling you all over again. Thank you once again for your lovely review.
Karen and Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montville
2.4 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#2 of 2 in Montville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.9 mi away
Secrets on the Lake
Secrets on the Lake
#1 of 9 in Montville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
RACV Noosa Resort
RACV Noosa Resort
#2 of 10 in Noosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
18.3 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
24.9 mi away
Peppers Noosa Resort and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat

Property: Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
Address: 78 Narrows Rd, Montville, Queensland 4552, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Montville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 7 acres of rainforest, seclusion is guaranteed at this award winning retreat, tailored for couples. Six contemporary design pavilions, surrounded by birdsong and the tranquility of ancient rainforest. Delight in your self contained cabin with fully appointed kitchen, complete with Nespresso Coffee machine, free high speed wifi, deep double whirlpool spa baths, log fireplaces and a verandah to soak in the views. Minutes from charming hinterland villages, art galleries and wineries await to delight the senses. Recognised by TripAdvisor' Hall of Fame and winner of the 2013 and 2014 Qantas Australian Tourism Awards, this highly awarded resort provides a unique natural experience with indulgent luxury. Taste the finest regional produce at highly acclaimed restaurants or explore the myriad of walking trails at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing