We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A romantic night away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Montville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“A romantic night away”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had an awesome night away, the cabin was immaculate and so cozy and romantic and had everything you needed including candles, champaign, cheese plate and much more, the staff were lovely and very inviting and the whole experience just makes you want to stay forever. Will definately come back here but for much longer next time!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mary-Terese L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo_Narrows, Owner at Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, 28 December 2014
Hi Mary-Terese L,
Thank you for your lovely review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your romantic getaway. We look forward to spoiling you again.
Mark and Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
358
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I fell in love with the Narrows Escape retreat at first sight. It is the definition of Romance, the cabin is luxurious and open to the absoloutely stunning rainforest whilst still allowing privacy. The size of the spa bath was something I could have only dreamed of! The service was impeccable, and we loved waking up to our fresh croissants every morning. The warm log fire was the icing on the cake and my partner and I are dreaming of the day that we return.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo_Narrows, Owner at Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, 28 December 2014
Hi Micmck,
Wow, delighted you enjoyed your stay and experienced the luxury, romance and serenity Narrows Escape envelopes you in. It was our pleasure to spoil you to create these special memories.
Mark and Joanne on behalf of Karen & Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Thank you Micael & Karen. Narrows Escape far exceeded expectations and just wished we could have stayed longer. We loved the inclusion of your local produce and felt you have showcased many other local businesses.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bazplast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo_Narrows, Owner at Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, 28 December 2014
Hi Bazplast,
Thank you for coming to visit us from Tasmania. It was our pleasure showing you the best of this region. Delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Mark and Joanne on behalf of Karen & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Where do I start? From the moment you arrive and are shown to your pavilion to when you leave, you are treated to an amazing, peaceful, tranquil, restful and romantic getaway. We stayed in the Rosella pavilion, and could not believe the quality of this little cottage. The place was immaculate, even the outside tables and chairs on the little deck were spotless! (and there is wildlife of the bird variety...so mess could be expected, but not here!) The fixtures throughout the pavilion are top quality and so was the breakfast hamper (the bacon was the best tasting I've had in a very long time). From a Nespresso machine and pods to an umbrella in your cupboard, absolutely everything is thought of for your comfort and enjoyment. The managers truly go out of their way to make your stay one of absolute relaxation and enjoyment. They are a credit to this place....I suspect all staff working here are. We ate out at night, but you are able to get hampers for dinner, and if the quality of the breakfast hampers is anything to go by, then these would be delicious too. If you are off to Montville for a bit of luxury and quiet, then look no further. We loved it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyJo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo_Narrows, Owner at Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, 28 December 2014
Wow AndyJo76,
What an amazing review. Thank you for falling in love with Narrows Escape and for your very generous review – we are truly humbled – and for noticing all the little extras. Our team really work hard to ensure you have a seamless and enjoyable experience and we have shared your lovely review with them too. We look forward to welcoming you back another time.
Mark and Joanne on behalf of Karen & Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We have had the privilege to stay at Narrows Escape, and it truly is a privilege!!!! My husband is a FIFO worker and we have just had our first child, so I thought we would do a mid week over night getaway while he was home for some quality time. WOW (Kooaburra) our pavilion was nestled in the rain forest next to a flowing creek, to say that we were overwhelmed would be an understatement!! The pavilion was perfectly balanced with modern facilities and rusty charm, decor and furnishings were just gorgeous!!!! Spa, fireplace and an amazingly comfortable bed, what else could a couple want!! We received an amazing breakfast hamper on arrival, which I'm sure we couldn't eat everything supplied, and also a lovely cheese platter with local cheeses - again just amazing. The attention to detail is fantastic!! Honestly Narrows is just heaven!!! Narrows, we will be back and that's a promise!! Again sheer perfection!!!!! Thank you so much :)

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo_Narrows, Owner at Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, 28 December 2014
Maria S,
Aah! The privilege was ours. What a lovely couple you are and we were thrilled you could steal away for a break away from “life” to this amazing oasis! Thrilled to hear you enjoyed Kookaburra pavilion…they all are so beautiful now that each one have been refurbished. We look forward to welcoming you back another time. Thank you once again for such a special review.
Mark and Joanne on behalf of Karen & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My partner and I stayed here for our 4-year anniversary as we had already stayed for our 1st year anniversary. Since our first visit, we haven't found a single place that compares to the tranquility or romance we experienced here. The attention to detail and love that goes into preparing your room is evident as soon as you arrive and check in. We requested the 'whip bird' cabin as we stayed in this room on our first visit and loved it. They were able to accommodate for us and we were given a choice as to what went into our complementary hamper (which type of milk/what flavours of yoghurt/preference of fruit) and were walked to our cabin.

As you arrive to your room there is a beautifully relaxing mountain soundtrack CD already playing in the background. We had personalised chocolates for us (that were totally delicious), a cheese platter waiting in the fridge as well as firewood, matches and fire starters. There are beautiful rainforest noises constantly surrounding you and there is a gorgeous sky roof that provides a stunning view of the trees above you and which allows amazing natural light into the cabin. The hammock on the balcony also comfortably fit both my partner (who is 6'4") and myself at the same time. The wi-fi also perfectly compensated for the fact that there is no phone reception - however, being away from everyone may be part of the appeal.

During our stay we also visited the Kondalilla falls which is a nearby hiking track that has several local waterfall spots to visit. There is also a main street which has gorgeous boutique-style shops and lovely restaurants to visit.

You may think the Narrows is a little pricey, but when you consider everything that is included and the unique experience you'll have, you'll realise you can't put a price on perfection.

Room Tip: The 'Whipbird' cabin has the spa bath in the living that perfectly faces the TV. I'm a w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo_Narrows, Owner at Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, 28 December 2014
Lizzy S,
“You can’t put a price on perfection!” – what a special and wonderful statement along with all the amazing and generous comments about all our heart felt touches. Thank you, thank you, thank you…it is all part of our caring service to our guests. We really appreciate your lovely review and look forward to welcoming you back again for another anniversary.
Mark and Joanne on behalf of Karen & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

From the moment you arrive at Narrows you get the feeling you've made the right decision. It was a mixture of excitement and relief when we checked in to our Dove cabin.

Everything was more than I expected. Beautiful welcome baskets, chocolates, cheese platter and champagne on arrival, Sheridan towels, amazing sheets, cloud like mattress, fireplace, hammock on the balcony, coffee machine, I could go on forever. The point is, nothing has been forgotten, everything is clean, in good working order and of top quality.

Narrows deserves the incredible reviews and TripAdvisor awards (proudly displayed in reception). They do everything so well and we both felt so looked after without ever needing to ask for anything.

I will miss the silence, the birds, the fresh croissants, morning paper, cosy fireplace and just the overall relaxing vibe we both enjoyed for the long weekend.

I won't say we hope to come back - because we WILL be back but for much longer next time. Great job guys, you should be so proud of what you offer and how you make your guests feel.

If you are looking for that place to get away - Narrows is the place, stop looking.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Muffin1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo_Narrows, Owner at Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, 28 December 2014
Hi Muffn1981,
Thank you for your wonderful review. Delighted you enjoyed your time away. Dove pavilion is lovely – and we are thrilled you appreciated all the little heartfelt touches everywhere. We are truly humbled by your lovely review.
Mark and Joanne on behalf of Karen & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montville
2.4 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#3 of 3 in Montville
174 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
397 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Falls Montville
The Falls Montville
#1 of 3 in Montville
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
590 reviews
24.9 mi away
Peppers Noosa Resort and Villas
1.0 mi away
Secrets on the Lake
Secrets on the Lake
#1 of 9 in Montville
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat

Property: Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
Address: 78 Narrows Rd, Montville, Queensland 4552, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Montville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Montville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 7 acres of rainforest, seclusion is guaranteed at this award winning retreat, tailored for couples. Six contemporary design pavilions, surrounded by birdsong and the tranquility of ancient rainforest. Delight in your self contained cabin with fully appointed kitchen, complete with Nespresso Coffee machine, free high speed wifi, deep double whirlpool spa baths, log fireplaces and a verandah to soak in the views. Minutes from charming hinterland villages, art galleries and wineries await to delight the senses. Recognised by TripAdvisor' Hall of Fame and winner of the 2013 and 2014 Qantas Australian Tourism Awards, this highly awarded resort provides a unique natural experience with indulgent luxury. Taste the finest regional produce at highly acclaimed restaurants or explore the myriad of walking trails at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing