We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunset arrival”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clouds of Montville
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Montville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We arrived in Montville just before Sunset. Saw the hotel and decided it was the place to stay. Got a large room for 3 with balcony on 1st floor. The view over the Sunshine Coast is spectacular. Room included a secluded bedroom, an open kitchen, living room and bathroom. All clean and well equiped. Montville being quite calm at this time of the year we decided to buy take away food from a nearby Italian restaurant and ate at "home". Once transformed into a bed the sofa became a huge comfi bed for our daughter. We enjoyed the quietness and the view. The people running the place were very friendly, hospitable and helpful. It wasn't cheap but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Claude-Francois... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Spent a couple of days relaxing here recently - all was as advertised a very comfortable cottage, well equipped with all you could ask for including a small cheese platter. If I was to be picky There are a couple of things I would like improved - The lounge was worn to the point that it looked dirty, not sure if it was or not. The last thing was the bathroom it has no heater and has a tiled floor it was quite cold in the middle of the night. There was a nice deck out the back that could house a small BBQ.

The cottages are well situated between Maleny and Montville - close to everything. The hosts were happy to supply information on what was happening about the area or simple travel directions.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank KLG62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Extremely friendly staff who made us feel extremely welcome. Helped us out with hiring a cab to get to dinner and helped arrange getting home.
Only slight negative was that the rooms are very open and gives off a feeling of a lack of privacy, but in reality nobody came past and there were very good curtains which could be drawn if necessary. Great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Justin767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed for a quick overnight stop whilst showing interstate visitors around. It is everything it claims to be, effectively the rooms are large motel rooms and if that's all you expect then you won't be disappointed......if you are looking for a peppers style resort then go book into one :). The rooms are large clean and have a fantastic outlook out to the coast. My partner found the owner was very helpful in her dealings with her.

P.S. To the owner of this property we chose to stay with you because of your pragmatic responses to other contributors...good job.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank 3073Dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cloudsofmontville, Owner at Clouds of Montville, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Love the good comments, we work hard at achieving them!

Stephanie and Andrew do most of the great face to face work with our Guests and I mostly keep our of the way completing all the Peppers Style facilities, many of which are now in operation.

The new outdoor kitchen with BBQ, Pizza Oven and Cafe bar is working well. The new lawn bowls facility was extremely popular with our last conference group who bowled at each and every break in proceedings.

The Meeting Place / Function room - a Balinese style Pavilion with "twin Budahs" is a unique piece of architecture and craftsmanship thanks to two hard working local builders.

If you do a Google search on Clouds of Montville and view inside (right hand side of google search page) it is possible to walk in and around the property to see most of our facilities.

The golf course grounds work is completed and now we are just working at making the greens a joy to put on. This will probably take until mid October when we anticipate the grand opening!

The final touches to our resort style facilities - the Gymnasium and treatment rooms will follow the opening of the Golf Course. We have all of the gym equipment, including the latest far infra-red 2 person sauna, and so the refurbishing and remodelling of the building which will house this facility is all that remains to be done.

By the end of this year we will not only have a range of accommodation from way up market sophisticated rain forest cottages to really well priced serviced apartments with superb views down to the East Coast, but we will have a number of exciting outdoor activities for those more adventurous Guests looking for a truly resort style experience.

Once again thank you, and to the many other Guests responding positively also, we love that most of our Guests enjoy their Clouds experience.

We will continue to work hard at improving who we are and what we do.

Cheers, Philip Merifield.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I stayed 2 nights in a cottage and had a wonderful relaxing time. Spotlessly clean and the fluffiness of the bathrobes to die for. Complementary port and chocolates, candles and the local cheese, yoghurt and fruit are all the little touches that make this accommodation a pleasure.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank helsbels0454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

These premises served our needs admirably. It was refreshing to be able to stay for one night rather than the mandated 2 which is the norm for many properties in this area. Because Montville is only a little more than one hour from our home it was nice to take an extended drive into a favourite area and to be able to take a couple of different walks because of the overnight stay. Our room was comfortable and with the extra facilities of a kitchenette and a BBQ (though it was a bit cold when we were there) we had an added alternative for our evening meal. We opted to dine at Rockets on Mistys for our special occasion however we couldn't help but notice that there wasn't much else open for evening meals in Montville on a Wednesday night.
We had a lovely view over the coast after a few steps from our ground floor garden apartment. The property ticked all the boxes including the offer of a large choice of DVDs to watch.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

An acceptable and clean basic cottage. Have been to much nicer in Montville but quite a good deal for two nights. Initial reception when we turned up early on off chance of early check in was less than friendly but all ok when we came back at 2. The disappointment was over firewood of all things. On a very cold weekend we had the fire on of an evening and morning. Thinking we might be a bit short on wood on the final evening I called in to reception to ask for two more pieces of wood. This request was refused on the basis we must have incorrectly used the fireplace! Unbelievable. This after we said we wouldn't even need to get the free cooked breakfast as we would be leaving early in the morning. Penny wise pound foolish Clouds- we won't be back just in case we use too much wood again and freeze to death!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janphillips22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cloudsofmontville, Owner at Clouds of Montville, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Jan, so very sorry that we completely spoiled your two days with us.

It was my mistake not letting you know on check-in that we have a fair use policy relating to fire wood and espresso pods. I do apologise for my omission.

We supply 14 hours worth of fire wood for a two night stay and so far this winter out of the 143 couples that have occupied our beautiful Cottages, only 3 have run short of wood. The other two were checked in by either Stephanie or Andrew who are both very thorough in explaining our fair use policy, both couples purchased a little more wood to get them through.

The vast majority of Cottage Guests leave fire wood having had great use out of their log fires.

Also very sorry that I did not point out that we provided you with a quite large 7kw Daicon reverse cycle inverter air con that is a much more efficient form of heating.

We would hate for any of our Guests to freeze to death!. Even in the unlikely event of a power outage we have an enormous power generator that is capable of powering every motor and pump on the property.

We would love you to come back some time in the future to see if we can make you happy.

Cheers, Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montville
3 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
463 reviews
2.4 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
2.7 mi away
The Falls Montville
The Falls Montville
#1 of 3 in Montville
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
4.7 mi away
Maleny Lodge
Maleny Lodge
#3 of 5 in Maleny
83 reviews
13 mi away
Oaks Seaforth Resort
Oaks Seaforth Resort
#1 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clouds of Montville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clouds of Montville

Address: 166 Balmoral Rd, Montville, Queensland 4560, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Montville
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Montville
Price Range: £85 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clouds of Montville 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Eco Resort and Day Spa set on 5 acres with a mix of sub-tropical and Botanic styled gardens. A range of accommodation to suit various requirements and budgets. We have ground floor studio apartments that have a Queen bed, kitchenette, bathroom with walk-in shower and single sofa bed. Can accommodate up to 3 guests. Children can be accommodated on ground floor. Our 1st floor 1 bedroom apartments have a King bed in the bedroom, separate bathroom with walk-in shower, kitchenette, lounge - dining room and balcony with views to east coast. With a double sofa bed can accommodate up to 4 guests. Children are unable to be accommodated on 1st floor. Our rainforest Cottages are our premium accommodation for couples. King bed, large spa, full kitchen, balcony with BBQ looking out into rain forest abundant with bird life. Our On-site Day Spa - The Montville Day Spa has a full hair and beauty room, several treatment rooms, far infra-red sauna and very special Floatation Pool. Advanced bookings are recommended. Outdoor facilities include a mineral pool, barefoot bowling green and the only 9 hole disc golf course on the Sunshine Coast. We also have an outdoor kitchen with BBQ, Pizza oven and Cafe Bar, you can take the food you prepare to our delightful Balinese style Pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clouds of Montville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing