We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Montagues of Montville
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Very friendly, helpful staff. Idealic setting and cottages (two) with excellent privacy and surrounds. Perfect getaway.

Room Tip: Either cottage would be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
122
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

We decided to go back to Montague's for a special anniversary, having loved our previous stay.
Geraldine welcomed us like long lost friends upon arrival & showed us to our cottage, explaining once again the breakfast options on the way & telling us that the "Kondalilla Falls" were fantastic at the moment as a result of the the rain SE Qld has had. The falls are a short ,steep walk from Monatgue's, but well worth the effort.
We were glad to see that none of the quality that we had experienced here had gone, in fact, the cabins had been updated with Flat Screen TV's & we thought also new soft furnishing.
Monatgue's is truly a Magical place to stay

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1958flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

If you are looking for a relaxing and romantic getaway with your spouse don't go past Montagues. These cabins are luxurious and private, with all round windows making you feel so close to nature! The spas is gorgeous, with a view right out into the rainforest. The owners are very friendly but still maintain your privacy. My husband and I will be going back to Montagues as soon as possible!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 22bld22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worongary, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Beautiful accomodation and great host. The little cottage was set in amongst the national park bush setting with a verandah that was frequented often by three very tame kookaburra's and plenty of bush turkeys below. To go on a bush walk the entrance to the National Park walking trail was only 5 metres from the entrance to Montagues and the host offers to drop you to the other end of the long walk if you want to walk back tio Montagues, other wise there are a few smaller walks. The cottage itself was set out beautifully, very romantic with a lovely spa bath with candles and champagne, fresh roses througout and a great set up kitchen and bbq on the balcony. Plenty of wood for the fire and reverse cycle aircon as well. Breakfast provisions were dropped off at your door early each morning. We only had a two night stay but just chilled out and felt very refreshed after our stay. Would also like to recommend a dinner at a local restaurant - Flaxton Gardens, best meal I have had for ages and very reasonably priced. Great staff and can highly recommend the Citrus Tart for dessert - to die for!!! Located near Montville shops - great little town.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank o5brock2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

We booked a getaway at Montagues as we wanted a nice, quiet, romantic trip away together where we could also do bush walks in the nearby national park.

The cabin we stayed in was only one of two, which we thought was great as it would be quiet. When we arrived the cleaner was late and we could hear her working and vacuuming in the other cabin. If you stay on a weekend you will no doubt hear all the squealing children at the nearby picnic area at Kondalilla Falls.

The layout of the cabin was lovely, the spa was great although the water pressure was terrible and it took AGES to fill halfway, the hot water takes a long time to come through too which was a bit chilly in the middle of winter. The bed was SOOO comfortable, we had great nights sleep. Listening to the birds outside was so lovely too. A bush turkey gets quite friendly around breakfast time as do the kookaburras, they will come right up to you and eat out of your hand if you let them.

The owners were kind enough to drive a short distance away for us to start part of one of the great walks, which was really enjoyable. They advertise this service on their website.

On the downside, I thought it was quite slack of the owners to talk up their breakfasts as being quite good and that the quantity would be very generous and as they said 'enough leftovers to take' with us on our walks. What a load of #$%^! The cooked breakfast ingredients they provide in an esky for you to cook up yourself was so disappointing and pathetic, they don't even include onions or even a couple of mushrooms or one piece of fruit and they provide only two rashers of bacon between two grown, fit adults and the tiniest sausages you have ever seen! My partner was still so hungry afterwards, and he is not a big man. They are a bit stingy for the price you pay, so we won't be going back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montagueclarke, Owner at Montagues of Montville, responded to this review, 20 September 2010
We are indeed sorry that Jasmin 300 was not totally happy with her stay with us and certainly understand her frustration at the problems with the water pressure. If only she had mentioned it we could have rectified the situation, as being on tank water it was only a matter of making some adjustments to the water pump. Jasmin 300, our apologies.
.As we try to offer our guests as much time as possible in their cottages our check out is at 11 am and cleaning is always carried out between 11am and check in at 2pm, which was the case on this weekend.
We are not a Bed and Breakfast. As a Self Catered Cottage facility we provide a complimentary breakfast hamper daily with a choice of either provisions for a cooked breakfast which includes
4 specially made sausages (small so that when the Kookaburras pinch one from your plate there are still some left.
2 rashes of bacon
4 eggs
2 tomatoes
1 loaf of bread
A fresh flask of orange juice.
In addition the cottage is stocked with a choice of cereal teas coffee, butter and jam.
Had Jasmin 300 selected the Continental option she would have had home made muffins fresh fruit salad hot croissants and the cereal and juice as above . At no stage have we anticipated providing sufficient supplies for a further meal.
We do provide a complimentary transfer to the dam which is a approx a 20 km round trip.
As the closest accommodation to the National park it is inevitable that during the busier days some noise might be heard, but to quote one guest "It is lovely to have happy sounds- Birds nature and children.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, ACT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

We wanted a romantic getaway, an escape from the kids and when friends recommended Montagues of Montville, we were willing participants - what a find.

We weren't entirely sure what to expect, however, arriving at our rainforest escape directly adjoining the beautiful Kondalilla Falls National Park, we were warmly greeted by hosts Geraldine & David.

On checking into one of the two air conditioned cottages, we were delighted to find a modern elegant environment with everything you could want and more. From the king size bed to the private double spa looking into the rainforest, the cottage surrounds provided a tranquil environment as we lay on the large deck, enjoying our BBQ.

We have stayed at self catered facilities before and unlike other cottages, our three night stay included a fresh breakfast hamper each morning which provided us with the choice of ingredients to cook our own breakfast, or the provision of a continental breakfast. In addition the cottage was stocked with lots of little extras.

As we enjoy walking, it was a bonus to find that the cottages were located at the entrance of two great walks. David was happy to drop us at Baroon Dam and we walked the trek back to our cottage for a very welcome spa and relaxing refreshment.

In all, a brilliant break, highly recommended and great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sull69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2009

Stumbled over this little gem by accident while visiting the Kondalilla Falls.
We needed accommodation for a night or two & wandered in & asked about availability . We were warmly greeted & shown the available cabin. Upon seeing the cabin we couldn't resist it, private National Park outlook nestled amongst the trees.

The cabin was beautifully appointed with King size bed, large living area with comfy sofa & fresh flowers, TV , DVD player,stereo & a slow combustion heater which we unfortunately didn't use being summer time. The kitchenette was stocked with tea, coffee, milk etc along with some nice little extras like nuts & juice .
There was a great spa overlooking the bush canopy .Off the living area was a generous sized balcony with a gas BBQ, we spent quite some time there enjoying the tranquility watching the abundant bird life.
We enjoyed the breakfast arrangements, Full or Continental Breakfast was delivered to the front door each morning, allowing us to eat at our leisure. The full breakfast was a "cook your own affair" with everything supplied.
This is a wonderful romantic getaway, thanks Geraldine & David.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1958flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montville
3.1 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#3 of 3 in Montville
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
395 reviews
1.3 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Falls Montville
The Falls Montville
#1 of 3 in Montville
435 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hunchy Hideaway
Hunchy Hideaway
#6 of 15 in Montville
135 reviews
2.1 mi away
Secrets on the Lake
Secrets on the Lake
#1 of 9 in Montville
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montagues of Montville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montagues of Montville

Property: Montagues of Montville
Address: 77 Kondalilla Falls Rd | PO Box 50, Montville, Queensland 4560, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Montville
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Montville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Montagues of Montville 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Montagues of Montville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing