We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Romantic Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Montagues of Montville
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Perfect Romantic Escape”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We were greated with a smile the moment we arrived, and instantly felt like I had made the right holiday decision for my husband's birthday, and our 2nd wedding anniversary weekend.
Walking down the wooden path towards the cottage, my expectations were met. Set within the rainforest was this brilliantly maintained cottage, with magnificent views.
We relaxed immediately. There is nothing more tranquile than hearing the waterfall off in the distance, the stillness of bush around you, and the birds singing all around you.
The view from the spa was amazing, and the fire place burned brightly through the cool night.
Restaurants not far away for dinner, and a bbq breakfast delivered to our door was a wonderful way to wake up.
I recommend Montagues to anyone who just wants to escape back to nature for even just a night. So worth it, we didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckDwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
129
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2013

The minute we walked down the densely wooded path to our secluded cottage at Montagues, we left Melbourne far behind us and welcomed a pristine, rainforest paradise. Montagues of Montville truly provides that perfect escape we all dream about during our hum-drum 9 - 5 lives. It is magical, a little mystical ... and very romantic.

Our few days there in April varied between warm & sunny to misty &cool. The welcome woodfire only added to the romance! The cottage was warm and inviting, clean & crisp, well equipped and completely private. The seclusion was only broken by a few shy wallabies and an abundance of birdlife. In fact, the morning bird-call can get a little raucous but somehow at Montagues, it just fits!

Hosts David & Geraldine Montague were as engaging or as invisible as we wanted them to be. But as long-time locals, there wasn't much they couldn't tell us about local shopping, galleries, dining and walks. Their breakfast hampers were plentiful & fresh and fortified us well for the day ahead. The days can be as busy or lazy as you like - the deep comfy sofa invites protracted reading sessions, but with so much beauty about, it's hard not to go out and explore.

We'll definitely be going back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

A last minute decision to get away for the night found us staying here. A great peaceful location of the highest standard. The cottage had every thing we needed and provided the ideal opportunity to relax. One night was not enough and will definetly go back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawesy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

This place went beyond all expectations. The cottage was immaculate and the set out was very well thought of. The owners/hosts were extremely friendly and seemed to have thought of everything down to the smallest things like having a jug of cold water in the fridge and candles by the spa. From the beautiful sound of the nature about, birds on the verandah in the morning and a lovely stroll through the rainforest to the waterfall just outside your door, this place is set in the most amazing location. Montville itself is beautiful and what a way to spend our stay by staying at such a lovely place. Overall this is amazing for couples who wish to have a romantic getaway. Both my partner and I were highly impressed.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I had high hopes for Montagues based on the reviews on TripAdvisor and so booked a much-needed weekend getaway for me and my husband. The property itself is lovely, and the hosts Geraldine, David and Gus the cat are gracious and welcoming. Situated about 3km out of Montville on the edge of the Kondalilla National Park, there is plenty of tranquility and birdlife to marvel at from the very private balcony.

On arrival, we were given the choice of a bottle of wine, and there was a chocolate on each of the pillows. 6 fresh roses were placed in vases around the cabin along with a personalised greeting card, which were nice touches. I will point out that the journey from reception down to the cabins involves a steep descent, so if you are mobility challenged in any way, then this probably isn't the property for you.

Each spacious cabin is well provisioned with cooking amenities and utensils for those that wish to self cater, on the 2 burner cooktop, or gas BBQ on the balcony. The double spa bath is a wonderful way to relax at the end of the day, especially with the views out into the hinterland. In winter, the log fire would be cosy and welcoming, but the aircon was much more suited to our visit during a sweltering weekend.

Breakfast was included in the rate, and we opted for the cook your own option on the first morning - 4 eggs, 2 rashers of bacon, 4 cocktail sausages, 2 tomatoes, small half loaf of bread and orange juice. The ground espresso coffee in the fridge was lovely to enjoy in the plunger, and there was a selection of teas in the cupboard if you wished. Plenty to keep us going and a great way to start the day. The second morning we opted for the continental option, which wasn't as good value - 2 croissants, 2 small blueberry muffins (which were a little on the stale side), 2 small slices of another sweet loaf, fruit salad and orange juice. There was cereal in the cupboards also. The fruit salad was pre-prepared and so the melon strongly tainted everything in the small bowl - great if you like melon, but not so if you're not a fan. A fruit platter might have been more desirable, or just fresh whole fruit. We were surprised that there was no yoghurt with the continental option, especially with Maleny Dairies being in the local area. I'm not sure if the produce in the hampers was sourced locally or made in-house, as there was no mention of it anywhere - but this would make a great selling point.

At the end of the day, this is a lovely property, but I guess it needs to be pointed out that this is a self-catering facility which is not abundantly clear on the website. For almost $300/night, I did expect more, considering similar properties in the area that offer the same, if not more, for a lower nightly rate. And in comparison to other properties that I have stayed at nationally and internationally, this doesn't represent value for money as a self-catering option. This is essentially a motel, albeit a spacious one, situated on the edge of the National Park. As I say, perfect for some, but not for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrissieKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montagueclarke, Owner at Montagues of Montville, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
We are sorry that BrissieKiwi's stay at Montagues did not come up to their expectations. Over the years we have endeavoured to provide our guests with a fresh daily breakfast hamper. Our fruit salad is prepared daily on a need basis. I am sorry if the melon dominated We have in the past provided fruit platters and yoghurt but have found that there is a far greater wastage. We will give it another go and see if it is better received .
We take on board comments re the self catering and will adjust our website. We do emphasis that we are cottages. Our understanding is that cottages are self catered, even though ours are stocked with supplies more than most self catering facilities would provide and include a choice of breakfast hamper daily.
We do appreciate this feedback and will make every effort to address the perceived issues
David & Geraldine Montague
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

After a hectic week we decided to head for the hills and chose Montagues for a relaxing weekend getaway.Our lifestyle is such that we don't often get a chance to unwind and it turns out we chose the perfect place to do it. Geraldine, David and Gus the cat are the perfect hosts. They could not do enough to ensure we had a reaxing stay. The breakfast was a treat especially David's little sausages. Light the fire, fill the spa and enjoy a glass of wine while you soak up the peaceful surroundings. David recommended one of the local restaurants, Bella Cucina for a fantastic meal where we met some of the locals. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deandownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012 via mobile

We needed a weekend to unwind from work and found this secluded cottage a great place to switch off. Nestled next to the Great Walk leading through Kondalilla Falls, huge trees provide plenty of privacy. A great fireplace allowed for a long soak in the spa looking out to the wilderness. The morning brekkie basket was more than needed and included a good range of fresh produce. There are plenty of cafes just a short drive into Montville/Flaxton or cook something up in the well established kitchenette. Mobile reception was poor but when you're wanting to switch off & relax this can be a blessing.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeahToby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montville
3.1 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#3 of 3 in Montville
175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
414 reviews
1.3 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Falls Montville
The Falls Montville
#1 of 3 in Montville
447 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hunchy Hideaway
Hunchy Hideaway
#6 of 15 in Montville
136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Treetops Montville
Treetops Montville
#7 of 15 in Montville
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montagues of Montville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montagues of Montville

Property: Montagues of Montville
Address: 77 Kondalilla Falls Rd | PO Box 50, Montville, Queensland 4560, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Montville
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Montville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Montagues of Montville 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Montagues of Montville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing