We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced Attic Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spicers Clovelly Estate
Ranked #1 of 9 Montville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The room was spacious and well presented. The bathroom had a welcome under floor heating.But we found the $ 300 + overpriced for an attic room overlooking the roofs of the passage ways.
There are no proper walk ways to the waterfall. We gave up going there early in the morning, because the grass was very slippery.
The food at the "The Long Apron" restaurant was outstanding. And the service was very friendly and professional. We will definitely eat there again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank purefunnoosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron M, Manager at Spicers Clovelly Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear purefunnoosa,
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at Spicers Clovelly Estate as your comments are very valuable to us. We are delighted that your overall experience was so positive and your comments have been passed onto the relevant teams. We are mindful of the need to provide value for money to our guests and will take your comments on board when reviewing our rate structure.

Once again, thank you.

Kind regards,
Cameron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 513 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

Close enough to Brisbane but yet far enough that you felt like you were taking a ride out to the countryside. staff were friendly and efficient. The decor in the room was tasteful but not overly stated.
Enjoyed that you could do as little or as much as you wanted to. There is no lack of activity options. The dining was out of this world with the creation of absolute ambiance and romance.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vanessa & Yusef 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron M, Manager at Spicers Clovelly Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Vanessa & Yusef,

Thank you for taking the time to review of your stay at Spicers Clovelly Estate. We value your feedback and are delighted to pass on your positive comments to our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Spicers Clovelly Estate in the future.

Warm regards

Cameron Matthews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I was ready to love Clovelly Estate. We have previously stayed at Spicers exceptional Peak Lodge and hoped for more of the same.

I give Clovelly Estate four and half stars.

Pros:

Magnificent building, furnishings, gardens etc.
Nice king sized bed and enormous pillows
Under floor heating in the bathroom
Fudge on the end of the bed after evening turn down (if I'd known they were coming in I would have moved my pile of worn clothes off the bed!)
The Long Apron restaurant. Sublime.

Cons:

Floors in end building are timber. So you can hear people walking - upstairs, through the building and across the hall.
Room not huge.
BATHroom was large. But no bath and just an enormous shower. Rename it the SHOWER room. AND PUT IN A BATH!!
Shower water pressure wasn't great.
Bathroom had underfloor heating but not hot lights to get dressed under.
Towels. In a five star hotel I expect big bath sheet sized towels. Not one towel each that looked like they came from a mainstream hotel.
Breakfast. It seemed to take a long time to place our order and the food to arrive. I had read the paper from cover to cover by the time the food appeared. And the serving wasn't huge.

Clovelly Estate is lovely. But at a five star price, I expect exceptional and I think there are areas that could be enhanced.

Room Tip: Stay away from Room 8. It can be seen into by anyone walking to end building so curtains need to st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mssell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron M, Manager at Spicers Clovelly Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear MSSELL,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Spicers Clovelly Estate. We appreciate your feedback and will pass your "pros" and ratings onto the various teams concerned. With regard to the "cons", we appreciate the opportunity to improve our guest experiences and where we can, change those areas that have been identified as lacking.

Once again, thank you for your time, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Spicers Clovelly Estate in the future.

Warm regards

Cameron Matthews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This place has been on my bucket list for years, and it did not disappoint in any category- grounds, rooms,service, and food - all top marks!

We loved the long lazy breakfasts, and amazing dining at the Long Apron and Tamarind restaurants each night. We have not eaten such good food since visiting The Louise in the Barossa. For Sydneysiders the 5 course degustation menu at $95 a head was great value. The meals were so balanced that we didn't feel "stuffed" at all.

Clovelly is close enough to spend a morning at the Eumundi markets (open Wed and Sat) and having lunch at Noosa, or visiting Maleny and Montville for shopping...but most of all we loved just lazing about at Clovelly, ..one night the staff just asked us to "lock up and turn the lights out", that's how much we felt at home!

For honeymoon, or anniversary, or just hanging out with couple friends, this place delivers gracious living at it's best.

Room Tip: Rooms in the lodge are lovely, but rooms 2 and 3 did cop some noise from downstairs when a breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Estelle1Gosford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron M, General Manager at Spicers Clovelly Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Estelle,

Thank you kindly for your detailed trip advisor review. We really appreciate you taking the time to write about your recent experience at Spicers Clovelly Estate. I am thrilled to read how much you enjoyed your stay. Here at Spicers we aim to provide a relaxed luxury experience, a feeling of being totally at home and free to be yourself. I will pass on your valued feedback to the team. We look forward to providing the same high level of service on your next visit to Clovelly!!

Warm regards

Cameron Matthews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

What a wonderful stay at Clovelly Estate and as usual, dining at The Long Apron was very special. We live in the Hinterland and feel lucky to have such a place not far from home. Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sjdouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron M, General Manager at Spicers Clovelly Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear S J Douglas,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Spicers Clovelly Estate is indeed a great place to relax and experience the beauty and tranquility of the area. We look forward to welcoming you back to Spicers Clovelly Estate in the near feature.

Warm regards

Cameron Matthews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This property offers quality rooms and reliable service. The common rooms and surrounding areas were beautiful and the common areas were beautifully decorated. We loved the quiet escape from the hustle and bustle of every day life with children and work. Absolutely loved the heated floors in the bathroom. Great when you step out of shower you are not so cold.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron M, General Manager at Spicers Clovelly Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Paula,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Spicers Clovelly Estate is indeed a great place to relax and experience the beauty and tranquility of the area. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another memorable Spicers experience!

Warm regards

Cameron Matthews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Clovelly is a fantastic property the food is amazing and the staff were fantastic. The location is close enough for a trip to Montiville and Maleny but secluded enough to be peaceful.

The best romantic escape in QLD.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tanya & Desmond W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron M, General Manager at Spicers Clovelly Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Tanya & Desmond,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review about your recent stay with us here at Spicers Clovelly Estate. 'Best romantic escape in QLD' is a lovely statement and I will be sure to share your comments with our team. We are thrilled you enjoyed your Spicers experience and hope to welcome you back for another unique getaway on the Sunshine Coast Hinterland in the near future!

Warm regards,

Cameron Matthews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montville
0.6 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#3 of 3 in Montville
181 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
452 reviews
2.4 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Falls Montville
The Falls Montville
#1 of 3 in Montville
472 reviews
4.7 mi away
Spicers Tamarind Retreat
1.9 mi away
Secrets on the Lake
Secrets on the Lake
#2 of 9 in Montville
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Clovelly Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Clovelly Estate

Address: 68 Balmoral Rd | Sunshine Coast, Montville, Queensland 4560, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Montville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Montville
Price Range: £184 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Spicers Clovelly Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clovelly Estate is one of the Sunshine Coast Hinterland's most luxurious and intimate experiences. Comprising of just 10 suites and a luxury 3 bedroom cottage to ensure the highest levels of individual service are maintained, Spicers Clovelly Estate offers 5 star luxury with old world charm and a modern French influence in a contemporary setting where guests can be swept away in the romanticism of a European escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spicers Clovelly Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing