We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spotted Chook Ferme Auberge
Ranked #4 of 9 Montville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We have stayed here before and returned because of the fantastic experience. I just cannot understand the one and only negative report on The Spotted Chook although the spelling is so bad in the report it makes one think that it must have been written by a person with poor discernment!

This place is not the Intercontinental Hotel - it's a beautifully positioned and staffed B & B and the animals that are on the premises endorse its standing as 'Ferme Auberge' as far as we were concerned. Sure, the chickens crow in the mornings; the cat and dog sleep on the verandah and one sometimes has to step over them to reach the dining room. but this all lends itself to the charm and appeal. The superb food and hospitality make it well worth the experience.

We will return as will others apparently going by the other reports.

Howard & Sue.

Room Tip: The Attic or Amelie's cottage are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howiesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2011

What do you want when you go on holiday......All your needs taken care off!!!.It takes advantage of the buetifull landscape, lush green rolling hills, sun setting over your rear balcony.A fireplace a must for ambiance,A bath that you can spend hours in,Food thats an expeirence and most off all staff that will go above and beyond to give you want you ask for.They know service and your basic missing out if you dont stop here when you are in the area. Oh and Amelies is the room you want for the red carpet treatment .

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patos77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

Hubbie and I stayed in Amelies cottage for 2 nights to celebrate my birthday. Leroy greeted us with such friendliness. He got the mix perfectly right. Friendly and helpful, with good suggestions on places to eat at and see, but not in your face. We were lucky in that the place had cleared out as it was mid week and we had the luxury of having breakfasts in the dining room exclusively to ourselves which suited us perfectly and they were DELICIOUS. A very generous amount of food. We are animal lovers so enjoyed meeting the cat and dog too. The cottage was roomy and relaxing and very quirky. The cottage was an easy 3 minute drive to Montville shops and had brilliant rural views. We enjoyed watching the birds and animals from the deck of the cottage each day. We would definately recommend The Spotted Chook as a fabulous getaway. If there were one very small detail that let things down I would say that there were a few dead bugs in the cottage and spiders webs around the deck area that could have been removed and with me having a bug phobia, this was the only very small thing that stopped the cottage from being absolutely perfect, but we do also understand that a popular place to stay at can get very busy so its hard for the owners to keep on top of everything as there are only so many hours in the day. Dont let that stop you going there though. It was absolutely delightful and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piglethead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

My husband and I held our small wedding of 35 people here in August and had a group of 8 friends stay at the chook with us for 2 nights (we had an extra night when everyone went home). I seriously cannot speak highly enough of The Spotted Chook. From our first contact with the owners, Jane & Leeroy, we knew this was the perfect spot for our wedding. They made us feel so at ease, which is absolutely welcomed when planning a wedding! Every need was met, every request and question was answered and NOTHING was too much trouble. Jane was the chef and catered the whole wedding while Leeroy kept everyone's drinks cold and topped up and their twin daughters kept everyone fed and happy. The cocktail reception food was to-die-for.... breakfast each day was amazing, fresh and plentiful. The rooms were gorgeous, we can speak for Amelies Cottage, which is the stand alone 'honeymoon' cottage... it was like a little slice of french inspired heaven. Bright and open with not one but two bathtubs, one on the outdoor deck with a huge comfy bed, fireplace and anything else you could need. I think we only left the cottage to get more wine! Views from everywhere, a short walk or drive to town if need be, friendly pets happy to get a pat and great people. We can't wait to get back there again for our first anniversary if we can wait that long.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TenandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Stayed here for a wedding with a group and loved it! Great service from the wonderful family, beautiful brekky and delicious food for the wedding... 5 out of 5!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rannyrads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

My husband and I stayed here for our wedding anniversary during our trip up the East Coast of Australia. It is a lovely setting in Montville and whilst we love the coast it was also great to see some of the hinterland. Lovely host - we were met by Leeroy and the dog and cats and given a warm welcome. The rooms were lovely - very unique and comfortable and I particularly liked the old-fashioned bath. Very French style - some may say a bit shabby chic - if you like your hotel room "cut from the same cloth" as every other chain then this is not for you - but if you want something different and homely then the spotted chook is for you! Also enjoyed having the woodburner in the room - however, if you're from Scotland you won't need it on an Australian winter night - gets quite hot!!

Lovely cooked breakfast prepared by Leeroy. We also had a fantastic meal at the Montville Inn (I think) - second to last pub when leaving Montville - can highly recommend the food here.

Overall, fantastic stay and we recommend it for the discerning traveller who likes a bit of home comfort occasionally!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateKScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

My family and I have been staying at Spotted Chook Ferme Auberge for many years and it has always offered a unique and delightful B & B experience like no other in Montville. We fell in love with The Spotted Chook for so many reasons and have continued this love affair for nearly 10 years. Each room has its own individual name and style, this time we booked the Loft Room which has scenic views over the valley and offers a feeling of living in the clouds!

Each room has its own bathroom, our Loft Room had a funky claw foot bath to relax in while sipping on a champers! The bed is handmade and beautifully comfortable with lovely fresh white linen and plump pillows - a lovely nest for our weekend away.

The breakfasts at the Spotted Chook are always inspirational and we are never disappointed! We indulged in farm fresh eggs - Eggs Benedict for my husband, and poached for me, with fabulous homemade sourdough, roasted tomatoes and rocket from the garden. There are platters of friands, croissants and fresh seasonal fruits to chose from and freshly brewed coffee.

The Spotted Chook is a our little piece of paradise - somewhere to escape to from your hectic city life and a place to relax and spoil yourself with a special wine by the fire, either in the guest lounge or in your own private nest.

We cannot sign off without mentioning a relatively new addition to the Spotted Chook - Amelie's Petite Mason. A unique little cottage designed for the romantic at heart! It will make you smile and send a shiver down your spine as you prop yourself up in the spa bath on your deck overlooking the valley - have a look for yourself at www.spottedchook.com.au - Amelies. Who could resist for that very special weekend of romance!

Thank you Jane and Leeroy for another memorable weekend in the country!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pilchers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montville
1.8 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#3 of 3 in Montville
182 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Falls Montville
The Falls Montville
#1 of 3 in Montville
478 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
14.8 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Montville Mountain Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spotted Chook Ferme Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spotted Chook Ferme Auberge

Address: 176 Western Ave, Montville, Queensland 4560, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Montville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Montville
Price Range: £100 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Spotted Chook Ferme Auberge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spotted Chook and Amelie's is the most delightful mix of Australian /European style. Perched on poles and facing the valley with stunning views.The rooms are large with private verandah,sofa, fireplace and air-con. They are all with private bathrooms and Queen or King beds. Soft robes, bar fridge, lcd tv/cd/ipod players. We have a gourmet continental breakfast included in all our prices. The property has guest lounge and dining room where we do breakfast and dinner by arrangement.DVD library, magazines, games and more are for guest enjoyment. We are on 110 acres of family property with cows, horses, chickens and family pets. The rainforest is below with a vast collection of bird life. So come on up and share our piece of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Spotted Chook Ferme Auberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing