We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secrets on the Lake”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Secrets on the Lake
Ranked #2 of 9 Montville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Hi Wayne & Leanne Driver Toowoomba. This beautiful place is absolutely breathtaking. This is our third visit to Secrets spanning over a seventeen year period. Every time we visit there is something new to see. George and Aldy Johnston have created something really magical. If you want to get married with beautiful scenery as your back drop, come for a coffee or lunch in the cafe or just chill out and relax, Secrets accommodates. The friendly staff and service is next to none. No wonder Secrets on the Lake is one of our favorite places and why we continue to come back.

Room Tip: We love staying in Possums cabin. You have a good view of Lake Baroon. All the cabins accommodate f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secretsonthelake, Front Office Manager at Secrets on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you Wayne and Leanne for your pics and great comments - we like to think that our repeat guests become like part of the family... George and Aldy have created a very unique place here and we are all proud of the standard of all the treehouses and the services that we provide for our guests to have an 'escape'.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

The accommodation is quite special, our room was handcrafted, everything was thought of,just simply understated quality. The gardens were beautifully landscaped with the lake as a background. Just the spot to aimlessly wander with your special person. Ideally a special couples retreat, not suited for families.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackholliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secretsonthelake, Front Office Manager at Secrets on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

We do welcome families but only in the Nest and Whistlestop so that our other guests can have some peace and down time in each others company. We hope to see you again soon and thanks for posting your comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I cannot begin to itemise all of the great things about Secrets - you have to stay here to believe it. The wood carvings are unreal with so much attention to detail and are in reception area, walkways and your cabins. Our view was over the lake and the large wooden swing on the patio was the ideal place to sit and take in the beauty of the area. The cabin "waterlilly" was fantastic and the staff were great. Could not fault a thing and can't wait to go back and stay once again. This is an experience not to be missed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secretsonthelake, Front Office Manager at Secrets on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Waterlillies has the most wonderful light in the late afternoon, I think it is my favourite at that time of day.... Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we appreciate your comments very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Whistlestop was well equipped and clean,and we enjoyed the complimentary scones and muffins.However our 2nght stay was ruined, when in the early hours of the 1st nght,I tripped on the surrounds of the fireplace falling onto the huge cast iron bucket of heavy timber injuring my leg quite badly and burning my hand on the fireplace. The injuries necessitated my husband and I travelling to Montville to a medical centre to have the burns dressed and the leg attended to and seeing the doctor in Maleny the next day.
We were dissapointed nothing was offered by way of compensation when we pointed out how dangerous the fireplace situation was to the manager who claimed he had not been told abo ut the accident. We were not able to enjoy any of the activities on offer at Secrets.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank duped-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

This was our first time staying at Secrets on the Lake. We shared our accommodation with two other couples and stayed in 'The Nest'. Having heard so much about the place we were eager to see how it compared to other places we had stayed in Montville - we were not disappointed! This place is amazing.
The grounds are well kept and gorgeous. Our accommodation was beautiful! The inclusions/services provided were all we could have hoped for. Staff were friendly and helpful.
We will definitely be back!

P.s The blueberry and chocolate muffins were my favourite ;-).

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Natasha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secretsonthelake, Front Office Manager at Secrets on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you so much for your review, the Nest is a unique part of Secrets - perfect for groups or families with a fantastic outdoor area, big round spa and full kitchen.
We hope to see you again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed at Secrets on the Lake for two nights and was not disappointed. It is a truly beautiful place to stay. The gardens are beautiful and peaceful. The cabins have everything you could possibly need for your stay. BBQ hampers are awesome value! Provided us with tea for both nights. Staff are friendly and helpful. If you are in need of some peace and tranquility this is the place to be!
Amazing woodwork all around! This secret is a must see!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carmeltoowoomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secretsonthelake, Front Office Manager at Secrets on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you Carmel, thank you for taking the time to write your review for us. A lot of our guests tell us they use a photo of a treehouse as a screensaver on their computer so they can "escape" to Secrets if just for a moment whenever they want to. We hope to see you again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had a one night stopover in whistle stop with 2 children whilst on the sunny coast.We are already planning our second longer stay, we had such a wonderfully peaceful and tranquil experience at whistle stop you really feel a hundred miles from anywhere.It is rustic but I think that all adds to the charm of the place.Well equipped fireplace, and small touches through the cabin that really made a difference, such as chocolates, a rose on our bed, bubbles moisturizer, candles, relaxing music playing quietly in the background upon our arrival.Our host was friendly and guided us around the property when we arrived also delivered our yummy scones with jam and cream.I think this is the peerfct spot to the unwind, enjoy the spa bath in the forest and curl up around the fire.Glad secrets offers a few accommodation options for parents who wish to bring children along with them.Also very private.Great job secrets on the lake see you again soon :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TjQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secretsonthelake, Front Office Manager at Secrets on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you - we love the Whistlestop - great you could spend some time with us even if it was just an overnight - we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montville
1.7 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#3 of 3 in Montville
181 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
452 reviews
1.0 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Falls Montville
The Falls Montville
#1 of 3 in Montville
471 reviews
1.9 mi away
Spicers Clovelly Estate
Spicers Clovelly Estate
#1 of 9 in Montville
513 reviews
4.1 mi away
Spicers Tamarind Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets on the Lake

Address: 207 Narrows Road, Montville, Queensland 4560, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Montville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Montville
Price Range: £125 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Secrets on the Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Perfect Romantic Escape.....IMAGINE the ultimate romantic escape flowers, chocolates, and definitely some champagne and fruit. Hide away in a beautiful hand-carved cabin while a log fire burns and favourite music playing in the background. Neck deep in bubble bath and lounging in the sunken spa, gaze out over the veranda to see mist rolling over the magnificent lake. Secrets on the Lake is nestled in the Sunshine Coast's lush hinterland on 45 acres of rainforest and right on the shores of Lake Baroon. There are ten tree houses Waterlilies, Two Frogs, Possums, The Bower, Lizards Lair Wait A While, Platypus, Dragonfly, The Nest & last but not least Secrets. Each cabin is only accessed by a hand carved elevated treetop walkway, lit at night by handmade pottery lamps. They are meticulously appointed and individually themed from a different element of nature and feature extensive ceramic, iron and woodwork. Our guests can indulge themselves with our special homemade touches - the complimentary Champagne Breakfast basket, the hearty BBQ Hamper and cheese platters, a range of massages or our specially catered for Packages be it an escape or a honeymoon. Sit back on the deck and enjoy coffee & cake at the cafe or wander through the art gallery where the "Tree of Dreams" lives. Come & visit this wondrous place & be captivated by the charm & beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Secrets on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing