We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent inspiring.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Secrets on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 9 Montville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shepparton Vic
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent inspiring.”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

From the moment we arrived we felt welcome. Given a wonderful hamper and taken along magical boardwalks to our fabulous accommodation. The boardwalks only became better at night, when the magical carved creatures are lit up & sometimes joined by some real ones (possums & friends).
kookaburras join you for breakfast on your private balcony, the views of the gardens & lake are wonderful.
If you want a venue for romance then I recommend Secrets on the Lake.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secretsonthelake, Front Office Manager at Secrets on the Lake, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, George and Aldy's aim has always been to provide a place for couples to relax and re-connect. We hope to see you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    46
    7
    5
    6
See reviews for
54
386
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is our third stay at Secrets and just as amazing as our first! George & Aldy have created a unique& beautiful place. The attention to detail is incredible,each treehouse is individually themed & the boardwalk is so beautiful with all the carvings. We enjoyed a yummy lunch at the cafe and George even hand delivered roses to all the women! Every morning you get delivered fresh hot croissants to enjoy and on arrival you get a yummy picnic basket of goodies!
We can't wait to come back again and try out another treehouse!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secretsonthelake, Front Office Manager at Secrets on the Lake, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you Sarah, for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor for us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Hi Wayne & Leanne Driver Toowoomba. This beautiful place is absolutely breathtaking. This is our third visit to Secrets spanning over a seventeen year period. Every time we visit there is something new to see. George and Aldy Johnston have created something really magical. If you want to get married with beautiful scenery as your back drop, come for a coffee or lunch in the cafe or just chill out and relax, Secrets accommodates. The friendly staff and service is next to none. No wonder Secrets on the Lake is one of our favorite places and why we continue to come back.

Room Tip: We love staying in Possums cabin. You have a good view of Lake Baroon. All the cabins accommodate f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secretsonthelake, Front Office Manager at Secrets on the Lake, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you Wayne and Leanne for your pics and great comments - we like to think that our repeat guests become like part of the family... George and Aldy have created a very unique place here and we are all proud of the standard of all the treehouses and the services that we provide for our guests to have an 'escape'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolum
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The accommodation is quite special, our room was handcrafted, everything was thought of,just simply understated quality. The gardens were beautifully landscaped with the lake as a background. Just the spot to aimlessly wander with your special person. Ideally a special couples retreat, not suited for families.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackholliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secretsonthelake, Front Office Manager at Secrets on the Lake, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We do welcome families but only in the Nest and Whistlestop so that our other guests can have some peace and down time in each others company. We hope to see you again soon and thanks for posting your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockhampton, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I cannot begin to itemise all of the great things about Secrets - you have to stay here to believe it. The wood carvings are unreal with so much attention to detail and are in reception area, walkways and your cabins. Our view was over the lake and the large wooden swing on the patio was the ideal place to sit and take in the beauty of the area. The cabin "waterlilly" was fantastic and the staff were great. Could not fault a thing and can't wait to go back and stay once again. This is an experience not to be missed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secretsonthelake, Front Office Manager at Secrets on the Lake, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Waterlillies has the most wonderful light in the late afternoon, I think it is my favourite at that time of day.... Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we appreciate your comments very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Whistlestop was well equipped and clean,and we enjoyed the complimentary scones and muffins.However our 2nght stay was ruined, when in the early hours of the 1st nght,I tripped on the surrounds of the fireplace falling onto the huge cast iron bucket of heavy timber injuring my leg quite badly and burning my hand on the fireplace. The injuries necessitated my husband and I travelling to Montville to a medical centre to have the burns dressed and the leg attended to and seeing the doctor in Maleny the next day.
We were dissapointed nothing was offered by way of compensation when we pointed out how dangerous the fireplace situation was to the manager who claimed he had not been told abo ut the accident. We were not able to enjoy any of the activities on offer at Secrets.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank duped-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

This was our first time staying at Secrets on the Lake. We shared our accommodation with two other couples and stayed in 'The Nest'. Having heard so much about the place we were eager to see how it compared to other places we had stayed in Montville - we were not disappointed! This place is amazing.
The grounds are well kept and gorgeous. Our accommodation was beautiful! The inclusions/services provided were all we could have hoped for. Staff were friendly and helpful.
We will definitely be back!

P.s The blueberry and chocolate muffins were my favourite ;-).

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Natasha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secretsonthelake, Front Office Manager at Secrets on the Lake, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review, the Nest is a unique part of Secrets - perfect for groups or families with a fantastic outdoor area, big round spa and full kitchen.
We hope to see you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montville
1.7 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#3 of 3 in Montville
175 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
428 reviews
1.0 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Falls Montville
The Falls Montville
#1 of 3 in Montville
457 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hunchy Hideaway
Hunchy Hideaway
#6 of 15 in Montville
136 reviews
1.9 mi away
Spicers Clovelly Estate
Spicers Clovelly Estate
#2 of 9 in Montville
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets on the Lake

Property: Secrets on the Lake
Address: 207 Narrows Road, Montville, Queensland 4560, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Montville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Montville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Secrets on the Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Perfect Romantic Escape.....IMAGINE the ultimate romantic escape flowers, chocolates, and definitely some champagne and fruit. Hide away in a beautiful hand-carved cabin while a log fire burns and favourite music playing in the background. Neck deep in bubble bath and lounging in the sunken spa, gaze out over the veranda to see mist rolling over the magnificent lake. Secrets on the Lake is nestled in the Sunshine Coast's lush hinterland on 45 acres of rainforest and right on the shores of Lake Baroon. There are ten tree houses Waterlilies, Two Frogs, Possums, The Bower, Lizards Lair Wait A While, Platypus, Dragonfly, The Nest & last but not least Secrets. Each cabin is only accessed by a hand carved elevated treetop walkway, lit at night by handmade pottery lamps. They are meticulously appointed and individually themed from a different element of nature and feature extensive ceramic, iron and woodwork. Our guests can indulge themselves with our special homemade touches - the complimentary Champagne Breakfast basket, the hearty BBQ Hamper and cheese platters, a range of massages or our specially catered for Packages be it an escape or a honeymoon. Sit back on the deck and enjoy coffee & cake at the cafe or wander through the art gallery where the "Tree of Dreams" lives. Come & visit this wondrous place & be captivated by the charm & beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Secrets on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing