We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“After 7 years travel within UK, USA & Europe this is one of the best locations we have had the pleasure of staying in.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Secrets on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 9 Montville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“After 7 years travel within UK, USA & Europe this is one of the best locations we have had the pleasure of staying in.”
Reviewed 5 May 2010

The friendly service and accommodation is outstanding. I don't wish to give everything away however the suspended fireplace, love seat ,spa & nightly visits from local wildlife all add up to an experience we will not forget. In fact, we were so impressed we have already re-booked for the same time next year! Fresh baked croissants dropped at the door each morning were also a wonderful touch. You should see the welcome hamper!! It is supposed to be for two days brunch and lasted us 4. The beautiful full sized organic skin products are also exquisit and a joy to pamper yourself with. We were married near by over the weekend and were so enjoying ourselves we extended our stay one more day. Nothing is too much trouble for George,Aldy & team. We were even permitted to have our wedding pictures taken on the extensive ornate and diverse grounds inclusive waterfalls, boardwalk, boat shed, pier, rainforest, suspended walk ways, groomed lawns approaching lake. Do yourself a favour and book now to avoid disappointment. There are limited treehouses and many like us book up to a year or more ahead to secure our favourite cabin. Mr & Mrs Latino 5 May 2010 (Platypus.. 3 nights & The Bower.. for our extra night as Platypus was booked. Both Excellent treehouses)

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debi_Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    45
    7
    4
    6
See reviews for
51
371
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

My husband and I stayed here for the first two nights of our honeymoon and we so amazed by the romantic feel of the cabin and all of the little extra touches that George and Aldy had put in the cabin for us, we felt truly pampered and in heaven! We were enchanted from the moment we first saw the cabin. There were amazing carvings all over the rooms, leadlighting on the windows, expansive glass windows for the wide viewsw over the lake, dark wood everywhere, and so many luxurious touches that we kept discovering the whole time - from the plush toiletries which we couldn't stop using, the amazing breakfast hamper (which had fruit, freshly baked bread, shortbreads, etc. was so yummy we ate straight away!), scones and jam on arrival, all of the condiments for breakfast, coffee, milk etc., as well as bathrobes, a fireplace stacked with wood ready to light (although not cool enough yet, which was a shame!). The double love seat on the verandah was our usual spot for meals, and we thought the lake view from here was breathtaking. The same view was had from the spa, which we enjoyed with complimentary wine and indulgent chocolates left for us. Everything was taken care of, and we didn't leave except to get dinner in Montville and have a canoe on Lake Baroon on one of the afternoons, which I highly recommend. George and Aldy were very helpful and they have a common area at reception with a pool table, hundreds of books, games and DVD's and good advice on what to do in the area. We will definitely go back for our anniversary. We stayed in Platypus and recommend this one because it was so close to the lake yet so private, and had a little waterfall next to the verandah so the sound of trickling water was lovely.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EarthVegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane QLD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2010

This is a place that has to be seen to be believed. Family owned & run - the attention to detail is impeccable and genuine hospitality that's sets them apart. Beautiful place for a honeymoon, anniversary or romantic getaway with that someone special.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulysses119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2010

Its a perfect getaway destination. And i mean it!! We've been many places, but Secrets on the Lake is beyond our expectations in every way.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Persephone031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2010

Stayed here as part of our 25th wedding anniversary tour of eastern Australia. We were not disappointed. A wonderful location in beautiful countryside, reminiscent of the rolling hills of Hereford, England. There are some charming villages and small towns nearby, some are touristy, others authentically Australian. Our room had a jacuzzi tub with a great view of the lake; I can recommend sharing this with your beloved while sipping a cold glass of Trilogy sparkling wine.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fisherontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2010

My husband and I have been visiting Secrets on average once a year for ten years or so. Over that time we have seen the number of treehouses grow, but the warmth of the owners and the pristine natural environment have stayed the same. Summertime on the lake is wonderful, but you can't beat the hanging iron fireplace in winter. To wake up and look straight out to the mist on the lake is so special. We love the barbeque on the balcony (shared with the possums) and the hot croissants or muffins delivered to the door each morning. You definitely need to book well in advance, but when you walk through the door you feel like you have returned to your very own paradise.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glendaBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2009

It is hard to find superlatives to describe this exceptional resort. Ten tree houses nestled in the rain forest overlooking Lake Baroon, all with individual themes and complete privacy. Wild life such as goannas, kookaburras and possums are right on your doorstep (or balcony) and certainly don't mind joining you for breakfast and/or dinner. George and Aldy, their staff and service are absolutely amazing. If you want to be part of the natural and blissfully peaceful environment with magnificant lake vistas, beautiful bush walks and luxury facilities and service then this is the place for you. We'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jax1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montville
1.7 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#2 of 2 in Montville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
1.0 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
2.1 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Spicers Clovelly Estate
Spicers Clovelly Estate
#2 of 9 in Montville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
2.8 mi away
Maleny Tropical Retreat
2.2 mi away
Hunchy Hideaway
Hunchy Hideaway
#7 of 16 in Montville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets on the Lake

Property: Secrets on the Lake
Address: 207 Narrows Road, Montville, Queensland 4560, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Montville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Montville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Secrets on the Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Perfect Romantic Escape.....IMAGINE the ultimate romantic escape flowers, chocolates, and definitely some champagne and fruit. Hide away in a beautiful hand-carved cabin while a log fire burns and favourite music playing in the background. Neck deep in bubble bath and lounging in the sunken spa, gaze out over the veranda to see mist rolling over the magnificent lake. Secrets on the Lake is nestled in the Sunshine Coast's lush hinterland on 45 acres of rainforest and right on the shores of Lake Baroon. There are ten tree houses Waterlilies, Two Frogs, Possums, The Bower, Lizards Lair Wait A While, Platypus, Dragonfly, The Nest & last but not least Secrets. Each cabin is only accessed by a hand carved elevated treetop walkway, lit at night by handmade pottery lamps. They are meticulously appointed and individually themed from a different element of nature and feature extensive ceramic, iron and woodwork. Our guests can indulge themselves with our special homemade touches - the complimentary Champagne Breakfast basket, the hearty BBQ Hamper and cheese platters, a range of massages or our specially catered for Packages be it an escape or a honeymoon. Sit back on the deck and enjoy coffee & cake at the cafe or wander through the art gallery where the "Tree of Dreams" lives. Come & visit this wondrous place & be captivated by the charm & beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Secrets on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing