We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic cottages in a beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Montville Misty View Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Romantic cottages in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We stayed in Bottlebrush Cottage (now renamed Blue Gum) over Valentines Day and had a wonderful time. Donna and Colin were extremely friendly hosts, providing an excellent breakfast hamper that would feed a family of four including home-baked bread. Yum! They also had a huge DVD library which we made full use of.

The cottage has a fabulous open plan lounge room and kitchen leading onto a balcony with a breathtaking view of Lake Baroon. The overriding memory we'll have of our time here was the sound of birdsong. This is one of the most peaceful places we've ever stayed in and it would be virtually impossible not to relax here. It's also ideally located to explore Kondalilla Falls and Mapleton Falls National Parks, Maleny, Eumundi markets, etc.

We only had one small gripe: the spa tub is a very tight fit for two! It's a real shame because the room is way big enough to accommodate a much bigger spa. However, this wouldn't prevent us from visiting again as we very much enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzMaryAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MistyViewCottages, Owner at Montville Misty View Cottages, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Hi OzMaryAnn,
Thankyou for your wonderful view of our Blue Gum Cottage. We are so glad you had a wonderful stay and that you enjoyed listening to our beautiful birdlife. We're glad you were able to relax and enjoy a movie or two from our large collection and that you found the breakfast hamper ample for you both. We are very lucky to have such breathtaking lake views,we agree it's impossible not to relax here! We're glad you found our location within easy access to the local attractions, there are many great activities available in the area.
We're sorry to hear the spa size didn't meet your expectations. May we suggest for your next stay you try our Balinese Cottage, it has a very large deep double spa. We look forward to welcoming you back again for a relaxing getaway.
Warm Regards,
Colin and Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
133
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We had a lovely getaway at Misty View Cottages. The stunning view and bush all around us helped us unwind immediately. Sitting on the balcony reading a book with just the sound of nature was a perfect way to relax and feel our busy life was a world away. The Cottages are five star, rustic, elegant and all you need for a very comfortable stay. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast hamper and the chocolates. Highly recommended .

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron and Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MistyViewCottages, Owner at Montville Misty View Cottages, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Hi Winnie H,
Thankyou for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so glad you had a relaxing getaway and enjoyed the spectacular lake views and sounds of nature. We are delighted you found your cottage to be of a high standard and that you enjoyed the breakfast hamper and the chocolates. Thanks for recommending us, we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Warm Regards,
Colin and Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We loved our stay so much at the cottages we booked again in July last year (i've been meaning to place this review earlier but its taken a while).....this time we booked the balinese cottage and what a beautiful surprise we got!....the cottage is just down the road but you feel like you have the entire property to yourselves!....A gorgeous romantic cottage with all the amenities and the lovely bathroom that really takes you back to nature!!!....Colin and Donna made our stay once again perfect!!....the generous breakfast package was just divine once again and the home made bread a real winner!...we loved using the compact bbq on the very private verandah and the views were just spectacular!....if you get the chance to visit this peace of heaven on earth we can highly recommend it...everything is thought of and the service excellent!....We will be returning!!!!

Room Tip: Balinese cottage is the go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TashV1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MistyViewCottages, Owner at Montville Misty View Cottages, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Hi Natasha V, Thank you for such a fabulous review! We're delighted you enjoyed your second stay with us. We're glad you were impressed with the beautiful Balinese cottage and that you enjoyed the breakfast hamper, the home made bread is very popular! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Warm Regards,
Colin and Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northeastern USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We were very pleased with our stay at Misty View. The proprietors could not have been more wecloming. At check-in we were offered a slection of books, games, and videos to take back to our cottage. We were also provided with our breakfast hamper, which had enough food to feed an army, let alone the two of us.

We had wanted the Balinese cottage, but it was booked. We had one of the "smaller" cottages, which was still very generous in size. The cottage is very open, so it feels quite large. Very clean and welcoming, with a modern kitchen, comfy couch, tv, dvd player, and music system. A veranda at the back looked over the lake and was a lovely place to take meals and tea. We had some friendly birds including a hungry turkey who came by and begged for food, which we found charming.

The upstairs of the cottage has a small-ish bedroom which included soft robes and slippers. Off to one side was a sunny room with a spa bath large enough to comfortably accomodate both of us (although it takes forever to fill with water, but that's just physics, isn't it?). Down the hall in the other direction is a comfortable-sized WC with a shower. Perhaps my only critique of the cottage is that most of it seemed recently updated, but the WC seemed a bit creaky and worn.

We went to Misty View for a quiet romantic retreat, and it was just perfect for that. Even though there are four cottages there, they are staggered in such a way that ours felt quite private and like we were the only ones there.

Room Tip: While the Balinese Cottage is a bit more set off than the others and has a few more features, don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequent_Traveller15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MistyViewCottages, Owner at Montville Misty View Cottages, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Hi Frequent_Travelller15,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Misty View Cottages. We're glad you found your cottage to be private and peaceful and that you enjoyed the abundant bird life, that call our property home.

We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast hamper and found it to be generous is size.

Thankyou for your comments regarding the spa room and shower room/toilet in your cottage. I notice your visit with us was in August 2012. Since your visit, we can proudly day that all three of our country cottages have had full bathroom renovations and they all look wonderfully fresh and modern.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Misty View again for your next quiet, romatic retreat.

Warm Regards,

Colin and Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We had a fantastic weekend staying at Misty View. The setting is superb and the cottages offer everything you need for the perfect getaway. Misty View is only 2.5km from Montville town centre and there is a great winery just a few minutes walk away. It's the small touches that made it a great weekend away such as late check out, chocolates on bed, cheese platter on arrival and pre stacked fireplace ready to light to name a few. The chocolate fondue is a must.
Our only criticism (and it is only a small one), guests are asked to wash dishes and put them away before leaving. Perhaps just asking guests to put the dishwasher on before they leave would make the weekend just that little better. Having to dry dishes and put them away while packing bags etc just seemed to detract a little from an otherwise perfect weekend.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C1077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MistyViewCottages, Owner at Montville Misty View Cottages, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Hi C1077,

Thank you for your lovely review, we appreciate the time you have taken to use Trip Advisor and give us a write up. We are delighted that your cottage met your expectations and you enjoyed all the little extras provided during your weekend getaway.

We are lucky to be so close to some of the great attactions Montville has to offer and hope other guests looking for a secluded and romantic place to stay will find them useful.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Colin and Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Misty view cottages were just perfect - beautiful secluded location, lovely cottages and fantastic hosts in Colin and Donna who were so helpful. There was no need to even leave the cottages - from the great food in the breakfast hampers to the DVD collection to the tennis courts, everything was there! And the chocolate fondue delivered to the room was amazing :)
Great stay- thanks Colin and Donna!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MistyViewCottages, Owner at Montville Misty View Cottages, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Hi Zoe R,

Thank you so much for your wonderful words, we really appreciate reading them, and hope guests looking for a romantic and very secluded place to stay will find them useful.We're glad you enjoyed the chocolate fondue, it's one of the favourites on our in-house dinign menu.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Misty View again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colin and Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2012

After returning from our weekend, both myself and my wife hold the Misty View Cottages and their Staff with the highest of regards. The accommodation was excellent, the grounds immaculate and staff were extremely professional, friendly and nothing was ever too much trouble for them.

Room Tip: Visit the Montville town shops and a visit to the Edge Cafe is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MistyViewCottages, Owner at Montville Misty View Cottages, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Hi William m,
Thank you for your lovely words and kind review. We are glad you were happy with the standard of accomdation and level of service.We look forward to welcoming you both back to Misty View agaon soon.

kind Reagrds,

Colin and Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montville
2.4 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#3 of 3 in Montville
175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
0.9 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Falls Montville
The Falls Montville
#1 of 3 in Montville
457 reviews
1.0 mi away
Treetops Montville
Treetops Montville
#7 of 15 in Montville
114 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hunchy Hideaway
Hunchy Hideaway
#6 of 15 in Montville
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montville Misty View Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montville Misty View Cottages

Property: Montville Misty View Cottages
Address: 284 - 296 Western Ave, Montville, Queensland 4560, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Montville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Montville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Montville Misty View Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montville Misty View cottages where Peace, Seclusion and Lake Views await you.... With only four cosy spa cottages nestled amongst 20 acres and all with magnificent uninterrupted views of Lake Baroon, your privacy is assured. All our luxurious spa cottages feature king size beds, double spas, cosy wood fire places and air-conditioning for extra comfort. A private undercover carport is attached to each cottage. The quaint little town of Montville where you’ll find many shops, cafes and restaurants is less than 3kms down the road. There is also Flame Hill Winery which is only 300metres along the road. A relaxing massage can also be arranged in the privacy of your cottage. At Misty View there are many little extras, such as plush bath robes & slippers, luxurious linen & boutique bathroom products. Gourmet plunger coffee, a selection of fine teas and hot chocolate are also provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Montville Misty View Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing