We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Martin's Chateau du Lac Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Genval
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Second visit to this hotel, great location overlooking a lake in a very nice area about 25km from central brussels. Rooms are excellent, food good. A few good restaurants around the lake, very peaceful with good general facilities.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KGD70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (942)
There are newer reviews for Martin's Chateau du Lac Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 943 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on a golf break.
Very spacious rooms, with all amenities (except decent air conditioning, and the weather was very hot).
Excellent staff, excellent breakfast and a great postion. On the lake in. A very pretty little town.
Recommended

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnG12a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

On the outside it looks amazing you walk in expecting a Cinderella castle - on the inside however the disappointment grows the more you experience

The rooms are basic and threadbare needing an upgrade and the first room I was put in smelled of stale air and the electrics did not work, the second room at least had working power

The gym was fantastic , but the staff grumpy and I got gruffly challenged that I was coming in for a second time that day (why this would be an issue I )have no idea and it was 06.30 am so hardly likely to be a second visit"!

The breakfast was really extensive with organic and gluten free options - but once again disappointment loomed. A simple request to the elegantly dressed waitress for hot water was answered with a surly answer and a pointing finger 'hot water is over there help yourself '

A hotel that promised so much and under delivered so badly

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

If you think about a Chateau you imagine , history, charme, elegance. From the outside,at night it has all of it but inside is a huge disappointment! It is perfect for a Company kick off meeting, infact during my stay there were some Companies having meeting all over the place. The room with a very old forniture was a bit sad. With a huge lake just infront the Castle we had a first floor room with a view of the garden. I spent only one night there and to be honest i wouldn't come back. The staff was very nice and friendly and professional.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a lake view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Black J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The hotel is pleasantly located along a lake, an ideal place for walks.

The room was quite large, very nice and well-equipped, except perhaps the bathroom.

The only problem we had was we had to wait to get our room cleaned. The hotel did compensate offering us late check-out.

The staff at the hotel was nice and helpful.

Unfortunately, we could not get any massage at the health center. Our fault as we did not book in advance.

The best surprise was the restaurant as we had a 4 course dinner on two and everything delicious. So was the buffet breakfast also.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank dimitris462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The staff was friendly but not remarkably so. During breakfast the restaurant was not busy at all still - our used dishes piled up on the table and were still there when we left. No one came to ask if we would like a second coffee.

The room: The quality of the mattress was horrible. had back pain for 2 days after our stay at this establishment. The room was advertised to have several items that it did not have. A water boiler is NOT an espresso machine.

This did not feel like a luxury hotel and added nothing to our romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anieshka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay @ Chateau du Lac in general:

Check in : Professionnal and friendly, thanks Celine!
- We received an upgrade because I have asked for a bath and the first room they gave us there was only a shower. There is a huge (really there was a big difference) difference between the first small room we get (small bed, small room, small bathroom) and the second with the free upgrage who was twice the size. So ok, bigger rooms are really nice with a large bed (queen size) huge flat screen tv and everything that you need. It's a shame they don't provide a Nespresso machine or a good quality coffee in these rooms!

Spa: We had access to the spa. The spa is really nice but: If you would like to have some massages reserve a long time in advance otherwise you won't have anything available. The pool is ok, there is a Turkish bath and a sauna (really small: up to 10 pers max). So if you're lucky and there is nobody it's ok. That was the case for us so we enjoyed this time!

Restaurant: that's certainly the point of satisfaction of our stay. The food is really good (quite expensive but ok). Nothing special to say maybe one of our top 3 restaurant for the moment. Thanks to chef!
Top breakfast also, plenty of choices : a good point in the B&B rate for sure.

Check out: no formalities, really quick, thanks again to Celine.

In resume: nice room (thanks for the upgrade), top restaurant, nice but small spa : it can be a good 4* but certainly not a 5* (the structure are not appropriate for a 5*).

Room Tip: if you are in couple ask a bigger room or you gonna be disapointed!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julien338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genval
2.9 mi away
Dolce la Hulpe Brussels
4.6 mi away
Chateau de Limelette
23.9 mi away
NE5T Hotel & Spa
NE5T Hotel & Spa
#2 of 14 in Namur
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Martin's Grand Hotel
Martin's Grand Hotel
#1 of 5 in Waterloo
413 reviews
4.0 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Wavre
5.2 mi away
Hotel Le Cote Vert
Hotel Le Cote Vert
#2 of 5 in Waterloo
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Chateau du Lac Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Chateau du Lac Hotel

Address: Avenue du Lac 87, Genval 1332, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Wallonia > Walloon Brabant > Genval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Genval
Price Range: £106 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Martin's Chateau du Lac Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin's Chateau du Lac - Martin's Conference & Spa Hotel offers 121 elegant 5 star rooms and a breath-taking landscaped park in the vicinity of Brussels. Featuring extensive wellness and meeting facilities, our hotel is the ideal destination for corporate meetings, incentives, or relaxing retreats. The hotel is a peaceful retreat where you can enjoy an indoor swimming pool, a fitness centre and tennis courts. Martin's Spa BodyWealth wellness centre includes a sauna, solarium and a range of relaxing treatments such as massages and facials. For dining, you can choose between the stylish Genval Les Bains restaurant, bar and tea room, and The Kingfisher casual lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Martin's Chateau du Lac Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Du Lac Resort
Chateau Du Lac Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing