We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mind your head!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Goring-on Thames
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
John Barleycorn Inn
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Old fashioned pub with low ceilings and rustic charm. Beer is from the Marstons/Brakspear range so generally a little bland but well kept by the landlord. Food was surprisingly good, I had a ham hock terrine, steak and Stilton pie and cheesecake which certainly filled a hole; style was a little dated but overall effect was quaint and welcoming.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank alisterbetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
There are newer reviews for John Barleycorn Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2012

Stayed here as part of our Thames Path walk, stayed in the French room that had a lovely large bathroom. Room wasn't too big but was more than adequate. The owners made us feel very welcome and we had a lovely meal in the evening as well as a lovely breakfast in the morning. The only slight issue with the hotel is parking as Goring has double yellow lines everywhere! The owners sorted out a bit of car moving so we could get in the , very small, car park but didn't need it as there are parking spaces just down the road where we found a gap.

Thoroughly recommend this place to anyone and especially to anyone walking the Thames Path.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markim61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I stayed in the French Room, which is above the bar, but has no noise from the bar. The Queen size bed, is fab, really comfortable, i've stayed in 5 star hotels with much worse beds, this one was lovely, and very clean. The landlord and landlady are very welcoming and helpful. The pub is a local old fashioned type pub, not a new wine bar type place, just a real lovely old pub. The room has a small flat screen TV and kettle with tea facilities, a large bathroom with proper bath. There's not alot of parking with this place, with parking for 1 or 2 cars at the back, but there is a car park not far away. Breakfast was excellent, hot and fresh. I would definately recommend this Pub and B & B, which is reasonable priced.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

This was a neat, old place, full of character. It fit our image of a "classic inn" - old spaces made accessible for modern travellers. We stayed in a nice en-suite room ("The French Room".) Some people might need assistance carrying luggage up the stairs! The staff were friendly and informative. Good dinner in the pub, nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Lovely pub on the Thames. Beautiful room and good price. Full breakfast gave us energy for another long day of walking

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nixie380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Our stay in the French room at John Barleycorn was nice. Both the room and bathroom were clean and decorated in an appealing way, with nice extras, e.g. travel plug adapter. The breakfast was as you can expect from an Inn, just like the evening meal we took there: basic but good. Although the room was just a little overpriced (75,-), we were happy to stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HansMemling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Parking is generally difficult in Goring and with only 2 spaces in the pub car park one will usually end up in the road opposite praying that the wardens arent on their rounds. This si a proper old pub with proper breakfast,. The rooms are nice and bed very clean and comfy but are not as clean as they ought to be at this highish price

Room Tip: Very steep stairs with a difficult access at the bottom
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 666Bunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goring-on Thames
0.2 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley-on-Thames
629 reviews
3.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pangbourne
87 reviews
3.2 mi away
Weir View House
Weir View House
#2 of 4 in Pangbourne
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Elephant at Pangbourne
The Elephant at Pangbourne
#1 of 4 in Pangbourne
361 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
267 reviews
5.6 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallingford
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Barleycorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Barleycorn Inn

Address: Manor Road, Goring-on Thames RG8 9DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Goring-on Thames
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Goring-on Thames
Price Range: £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
John Barleycorn Hotel Goring-On Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing