We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
John Barleycorn Inn
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Goring-on Thames
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
The Swan at Streatley(Streatley-on-Thames)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Perch and Pike(South Stoke)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse(Moulsford-on-Thames)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Weir View House(Pangbourne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George Hotel(Pangbourne)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Royal Oak(Yattendon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
George Hotel(Wallingford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
59
27
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
59
27
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschocolate roomgorengthe pubfish chipsevening foodfull englishplace to staynext morningbath showerlarge bedrecommend staying herehome from homeafrica roomtwo nightsa lovely stayovernight staysunday lunch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2012

My partner and I, and our friend stopped off here whilst completeing the Ridgeway wallk for charity! We were all exhausted and as soon as we got there we were welcomed in and shown to our rooms straight away, and what beautiful rooms! I was in the 'french suite' with my partner, and it was comfortable, with a large bed which was bliss as we'd spent the first two nights in tiny twin beds. We had a spacious ensuite bathroom, plus a bath which was a warming sight after such a long day walking! Our friend had the 'africa suite' which was richly decorated and comfortable.

We explored the beautiful village, had a few drinks in the pub and had dinner. The dinner was phenomenal, as we were all craving home cooked food and we each got exactly what we wanted! I very lovely stay, and I would go back again!

Room Tip: The french suite is definitely the best!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corinne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We had a great overnight stay in the French room, which was lovely and cosy, very comfortable bed and large ensuite bathroom. We ate in the restaurant and enjoyed a beautifully cooked three course meal which was very reasonably priced. The staff are all really helpful, courteous and friendly and many locals were eating in the restaurant which is always a good indication of quality.
We were walking the Thames Path and used the Inn as an overnight stop, and have stayed in many along our route, this was a lovely find.
(They also took our telephone booking without any deposit or credit card swipe which was very refreshing and trusting).
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Passing through Goring we decided on the John Barleycorn for lunch. And what a great choice it was!
Wonderful place, kind and committed staff and wonderful food. We definitely intend to be back one day and book a room so we can enjoy this beautiful old inn for a bit longer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vds24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

my husband and i were made to feel very welcome,in this great,interesting inn,low beamed ceilings,neatly set tables,freindly staff will tempt us back again.Our room was the Chocolate Room, quite unique really,large comfortable bed, and had a read of delicious chocolate recipe books in our room. the fish and chip supper was first class,and well recommended,and a freshly cooked lovely full english set us up for the day, and cannot wait for our next vist to Goring-on Thames,and the John Barleycorn Inn!

Room Tip: try the chocolate themed room, the bathroom was large
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maureen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Popped in for lunch on the Jubilee weekend - the only pub in Goring and Streatley not either playing loud music, insisting on bookings or serving good at all.

Haddock and chips was lovely - a large portion of chips and lovely haddock not greasy in the slightest. Wife's ham, egg and chips was delightful - thick, home cooked ham and free-range eggs that you can buy from the bar! Friends had beef and ale pie and rump steak - both cooked well and of high quality. Good staff and a traditional lounge / bar split layout on a delightful old building - top marks all round!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Steven E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews