We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, welcoming English pub with quality rooms”

John Barleycorn Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Goring-on Thames
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
John Barleycorn Inn
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Comfortable, welcoming English pub with quality rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2009

We stayed at the John Barleycorn before starting off on walking a section of the Ridgeway. The pub itself is very welcoming with a couple of bars, one of which doubles up as a restaurant section, and also has a beer garden which somehow manages to feel like someone's back garden (which isn't a bad thing at all and makes the pub feel like a home from home). Good food in the restaurant too.

The rooms are very well appointed, including very powerful showers. Each room is themed and a lot of thought and effort has obviously gone into the decorations and subsequently into keeping it clean. If I was in Goring again I'd definitely stay here.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    28
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
46
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2009

We have just returned from a night at the John Barleycorn Inn where we were made to feel very welcome by the host and hostess.
There are just 3 ensuite rooms - all decorated around a theme and all spotless. We had chosen the 'French' room as we wanted a bath as well as a shower. ('Chocolate' also has a bath and shower but is slightly more expensive as it has a king-size bed, 'Africa' is a double and just has a shower.) The room and adjoining bathroom were nicely decorated, with lots of little quirky touches to fit the French theme and a lovely comfy double bed.
On arrival we were shown to our room and offered tea (there was also a kettle with tea, coffee and biscuits in the room) and, when we said that we planned to eat in for dinner, a quiet corner table was reserved for us. Our reason for staying was to walk some of the Thames path and the host was helpful and informative. The villages of Goring and Streatley are very pretty, with lots of pubs to eat out should you choose, but the food we had at the JB was wonderful. I chose the lamb shank, which rated amongst the best I've ever had and the special of slow roasted belly pork just melted in the mouth. The puddings were similarly delicious.
A tasty full English breakfast was included and set us up for our walking. When we returned to the car later that afternoon we found a little note asking us to call at the pub - I'd left my nighdress under the pillow!
We would have no hesitation in staying here again if we're in the area.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hansandlottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faringdon, England
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2009

Lovely welcoming pub in a pretty town. I stayed on a week's walking holiday, arriving on my own initially & was made to feel very welcome by the landlady & the locals.
Typical old English style bar & good, simple pub food. The rooms have been recently renervated & are an excellend standard.. clean, smart & good bath / shower.
Very dog friendly in the bar, although dogs are not allowed in the rooms.

  • Liked — The fantastic welcome & friendly atmosphere on arrival
  • Disliked — Menu could be a bit more varied, but good food nonetheless
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vetbird3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2008

I came to the John Barlicorn pub in Streatley on Thames after a gruelling day walking along the Ridgeway.

The pub was welcoming and quiet with a small restaurant; the room offerred was delightful. The building is old, ?16th century but the bedroom was modern and airy with a comfortable en-suite, provided with very nice toiletries.

The bed was very comfortable.

Dinner in the small restaurant was tasty and well cooked and a full breakfast followed in the morning.

The comfortable stay set me up to continue my long distance hike, I was happy to find this pub.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed, country view
  • Disliked — Disn't bother me but very steep stairway to bedrooms
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goring-on Thames
0.2 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley-on-Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
3.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pangbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Elephant at Pangbourne
The Elephant at Pangbourne
#1 of 4 in Pangbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Weir View House
Weir View House
#2 of 4 in Pangbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
6.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Reading Calcot Hotel
7.8 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#14 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Barleycorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Barleycorn Inn

Property: John Barleycorn Inn
Address: Manor Road, Goring-on Thames RG8 9DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Goring-on Thames
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Goring-on Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
John Barleycorn Hotel Goring-On Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing