We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“intoxicating”
Review of Friars Ford

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Goring-on Thames
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Friars Ford
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“intoxicating”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I can describe my week stay at Friars Ford as intoxicating. The views of the gardens and the property are stunning. B&B is all about not having other 300 visitors in the property one would decide staying, therefore the availability or not of TV would determine if one would book the place. I feel that for a stay of just one night or two the availability of TV is not important in an area where everything is within 10 minutes’ walk. A person needing TV in a place like Friars Fork must be pretty boring individual.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aleksandar O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    13
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
23
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I found that Friars Ford as a B&B offered everything I imagined for an indulgent getaway in the country: a magnificent manor house set in palatial, beautifully tended grounds, just a short walk from the picturesque village of Goring with its shops, cafés and charming little pubs. The spacious bedroom with en suite which overlooked the grounds sweeping all the way down to the Thames, was light and airy and tastefully furnished with antique furniture. The large wooden double bed with beautiful bedding was extremely comfortable and the antique wardrobe provided plenty of space for hanging and storing clothes. Facilities for making tea and coffee were also on hand.

I chose not to avail myself of the breakfast on offer in the dining room (for which I was not charged), preferring to take early morning walks along the river to have my morning coffee in one of the village cafés or in the next village across the bridge.

Emma and David were discreet and non intrusive hosts which contributed to my feeling completely relaxed and “at home” in these beautiful surroundings.

Inese C

Room Tip: Double room with en suite has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Inese C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this B&B. Walking distance to a quaint and charming village situated on the Thames, with great country pubs full of local characters. We enjoy walking, and the local Ridgeway walk located so close was fantastic. Its a pleasure to find such a charming country location so close to London. Friars Ford itself is a huge manor house on palatial grounds, and our room with en suit was huge. We were very comfortable with our stay.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank roland c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Friars Ford is indeed a beautiful house in a beautiful location and if this is the objective of your stay, then read no further.
My review regards the service which was not on par with an average B&B and yet the price was above the average B&B. £95 for the double room. Breakfast was included in this price, however, the owner informed us on arrival that the next day she had an appointment at 08.30am and breakfast would have to be early, which after a long drive down from Scotland we were too tired to face. She suggested a local place in Goring if we did not want to get up early. The next morning on leaving circa 10am we were greeted by the owner who was attired in her gym outfit and so we understood her early morning appointment. We paid the bill which totalled £90 as the owner conceded a £5 discount for the lack of breakfast. Managing a B&B is a commitment, whilst providing a service to its guests and we felt that the owner of this property was not living up to her part of the deal . Fortunately the rest of our trip was wonderful where all the other B&Bs were a home from home.
A couple of other points, one "old" towel per person, no toilet rolls, no tv, no cups to make a refreshment.
This is our opinion and you are welcome to yours.
KWL

Room Tip: No difference in the quality of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pinko p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friars-ford, Owner at Friars Ford, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
This is a disappointing first review for us, as so many visitors have been delighted with Friars Ford. The lady in question telephoned not more than five minutes before arriving, in the early evening, asking if there was availability. I then spent time with them, trying to help them choose somewhere for dinner. I booked and gave them directions to The Leathern Bottle restaurant, to which she has also written a very poor review. I said breakfast was generally between 7 - 8.30am during the week or I could leave it out for them to help themselves thereafter. She decided they would go out for breakfast and I suggested Pierreponts a very popular local cafe to which she has also given a poor review. At no point during her stay did she complain about any lack of facilities and I would have provided her with extra loo paper, mugs and towels had she requested. Her husband wrote a charming and highly complimentary review in our visitors book prior to departure at just before noon. We have since bought TV's for the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goring-on Thames
0.5 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley-on-Thames
615 reviews
3.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pangbourne
84 reviews
2.9 mi away
Weir View House
Weir View House
#2 of 4 in Pangbourne
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Elephant at Pangbourne
The Elephant at Pangbourne
#1 of 4 in Pangbourne
351 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Miller of Mansfield
The Miller of Mansfield
#1 of 4 in Goring-on Thames
231 reviews
0.4 mi away
YHA Streatley on Thames
YHA Streatley on Thames
#1 of 1 in Streatley-on-Thames
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friars Ford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friars Ford

Property: Friars Ford
Address: Friars Ford Manor Road, Goring-on Thames RG8 9EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Goring-on Thames
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Goring-on Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B from £47.50 Per person for first night, £37.50 For second night. Please phone or email to book. Overlooking The River Thames. Within walking distance of the village, railway station and many pubs and restaurants. Three large bedrooms all with en-suite bathrooms. Continental breakfast included, cooked at £5 pp. Free Wi-fi, Tea/Coffee making facilities and TV/DVD in all rooms. This Victorian Gothic house is set in beautiful grounds of 16 acres going down to The Thames Path. Also available to hire is an Indoor swimming pool and tennis court. Perfect for walking The Thames Path or The Ridgeway. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing