We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live like a Lord in "Wind And the Willows" country”
Review of Friars Ford

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Goring-on Thames
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Friars Ford
Reviewed 29 May 2013

A picture perfect house set in wonderfully tended gardens with views stretching down to the Thames. Emma, the host, presides over three graciously proportioned rooms, immacutely clean with snow white bed linen. Breakfasts are locally sourced (the eggs from Emma's own hens) and delicious. Our family of four spent two wonderful nights, enjoying the tennis court, swimming pool, and Emma's excellent suggestions of where to go and eat. It would be hard to ask for more and we would certainly return in a flash. Thanks Emma.

Room Tip: The Lilac room and its ensuite are enormous with beautiful garden views. Highly recommended. Our chi...
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Catrina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

My wife and I felt completely rejuvenated after a one night stay here (for a wedding in Goring). I thought it was an extraordinary find. It's very peaceful. Emma is a lovely hostess. Just note, if returning late after a night out; guest rooms are on the Second Floor, not the First Floor!

Room Tip: Lilac Room was fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank RichiePee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We've just returned from a few days in Goring on Thames. We stayed at Friars Ford in the Lilac room which was huge with a bathroom to match. The overall experience was good and we enjoyed the stay. There are some lovely walks along the Thames and the local pubs are really good, the Catherine wheel was our favourite, as was the Indian resturant, as was the cafe Pierreponts!

Room Tip: The lilac room is a good choice as it is huge with a double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We received a very warm welcome and our hosts couldn't do enough for us. The rooms are very clean and stylish. We all slept really well because it is such a quiet location. We were staying there to complete the Ridgeway 40, Emma made sure we had breakfast at 6am and hot water for our return at 10pm. Both the continental and cooked breakfasts were excellent.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed at Friars Ford for one night over the Bank Holiday weekend in May. It proved a good base for some walking on the Thames Path and Ridgeway.

Having left our booking a little bit late, only the twin room was left. The room was huge though, as was the shared bathroom. The setting for the house is stunning, with big grounds that lead down to the Thames at the back, having wound down the impressive path to the house. A great spot, rounded off by some well-dressed chickens. I think we caught Emma by surprise by being early for checking in, so wouldn't say we had the warmest of welcomes, but she gave us a couple of local recommendations. Breakfast was a good continental (cooked breakfast is extra), with honey from the hives at the house being a really nice touch. So overall, a good place to stay if you've looking for an impressive country-side escape, great rooms, and don't mind a basic level of service.

Room Tip: Book early for a double!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Trubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

With a wide view of snowy fields outside, the Lilac room was comfortable and peaceful. All the facilities were of high standard with elegant furnishings, especially in the dining room. I enjoyed the continental breakfast with warm croissant and pain-au-chocolat. It's a grand house with a long drive, situated at the southern edge of the village so allow a 10-minute walk to the pubs and Indian restaurant for meals out.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank HilaryWatchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

We just spend a long weekend at Friars Ford B&B and had a lovely time. As we were with six people we stayed in all three rooms and every single one of them was excellent. Large spacious rooms with a gorgeous classic English feel to it and great bathrooms. The beds were very comfortable and warm which made that after a long day of walking we crashed at 8pm and slept for a full night till the next morning. From here we visited the direct area, Oxford and Windsor.
Breakfast was set in a beautiful room and we can recommend the cooked breakfast!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophieuijterschout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goring-on Thames
0.5 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley-on-Thames
640 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
283 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Miller of Mansfield
The Miller of Mansfield
#1 of 4 in Goring-on Thames
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friars Ford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friars Ford

Address: Friars Ford Manor Road, Goring-on Thames RG8 9EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Goring-on Thames
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Goring-on Thames
Price Range: £40 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B from £47.50 Per person for first night, £37.50 For second night. Please phone or email to book. Overlooking The River Thames. Within walking distance of the village, railway station and many pubs and restaurants. Three large bedrooms all with en-suite bathrooms. Continental breakfast included, cooked at £5 pp. Free Wi-fi, Tea/Coffee making facilities and TV/DVD in all rooms. This Victorian Gothic house is set in beautiful grounds of 16 acres going down to The Thames Path. Also available to hire is an Indoor swimming pool and tennis court. Perfect for walking The Thames Path or The Ridgeway. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing