We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rolls Royce B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Goring-on Thames
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blackbirds Cottage Bed & Breakfast
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Rolls Royce B&B”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We had a lovely time during our overnight stay at this peaceful and rural B&B. Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable with a fantastic bed and great views of the beautiful garden. Kate is a wonderful hostess and she did everything that she possibly could to make our stay completely memorable. The breakfast was delicious and we left with a flask full of fresh coffee for the next day of our Thames Walk. We felt like welcome family guests and can't wait to visit again - we will certainly recommend this quality B&B to all of our family and friends. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
12
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My partner and me had a lovely weekend at Blackbirds Cottage. We really enjoyed the beautiful and peaceful location. The pretty room is spacious, comfortable and clean. We can confirm that Kate is a lovely and friendly hostess. She welcomed us very warmy and cooked us a fantastic evening meal and a great breakfast we had in the most delightful dinning room. It was the perfect weekend for us and we will definitively go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandrine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hokitika, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and could not have been looked after better by our host Kate. The room is very big, comfortable and clean with Sky TV and great views of the garden. You can come and go as you please and the breakfast was very good (ask Kate for onion rings). The B&B is situated about 2 miles from Goring in a a very idyllic spot. Would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pburgess2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Spent a week-end at Blackbirds Cottage and can confirm the previous reviews. Comfortable, clean, friendly place. Large room, with enough space for our university age children who joined for part of our stay. Will definitively go back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sddwek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Blackbirds earlier this month. The breakfast was fantastic, and we thoroughly enjoyed the eggs fresh from the chickens in their garden! Uber-comfortable bed, spacious room and good ensuite facilities; lovely having the private entrance to come and go as we needed as well. Kate was a great hostess and we will definitely return next time we are travelling to the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie_williams07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khartoum, Sudan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

A lovely double room, warmly and comfortably furnished, with a good shower. Such friendly hospitality and a nice breakfast too. A very good stopping place, with great character. We will certainly come again when we want to stay in the Pangbourne/Goring/Wallingford area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tidmarsh, Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

If you are looking for a luxury b & b at a very reasonable price and you want privacy - then this is the place for you. Access to the good size bedroom suite we stayed in was via its own entrance straight from the parking area.
The room was immaculate with lovely crisp white linen and had a large tv, en suite shower room and an excellent choice of breakfast foods. This made life really easy as we could make our breakfast when we wanted and then simply slip away to get on with our day.
Kate who owns the property is friendly and welcoming and is happy to provide an evening meal if you prefer to eat in although there are a number of good pubs/restaurants within easy distance.
If you would normally plump for a Premier Inn when travelling because you like to know what to expect then this place will not disappoint and it is much more personal and is in a delightful setting to boot!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goring-on Thames
2.4 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley-on-Thames
615 reviews
2.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pangbourne
84 reviews
2.2 mi away
Weir View House
Weir View House
#2 of 4 in Pangbourne
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Elephant at Pangbourne
The Elephant at Pangbourne
#1 of 4 in Pangbourne
352 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Miller of Mansfield
The Miller of Mansfield
#1 of 4 in Goring-on Thames
231 reviews
2.5 mi away
YHA Streatley on Thames
YHA Streatley on Thames
#1 of 1 in Streatley-on-Thames
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackbirds Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackbirds Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Property: Blackbirds Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Address: Blackbirds Cottage Blackbirds Bottom, Goring-on Thames RG8 7SX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Goring-on Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Goring-on Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Own parking and entrance to the main accommodation via spiral staircase to a spacious double room with vaulted ceiling and garden/country views. Recently refurbished to a very high standard. Two further single & double rooms are located within the main house - shared bath/shower room. Evening meals & breakfast are served by prior arrangement in our dining/breakfast room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing