We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit but not the last”
Review of Cricklade House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cricklade House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cricklade
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“2nd visit but not the last”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Just had our 2nd visit to the Cricklade this time with friends and had a great time. This is a lovlely comfortable hotel so nice to sit in the conservatory looking out at the countryside.
The service was great all staff looked smart and were always very helpful.
It is the type of hotel that makes you feel at home and a place you will want to return to.

Room Tip: We had a superior romm which was in the main building and it had that little bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joycalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    238
    95
    43
    38
See reviews for
90
293
6
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

This is truly a lovely little hotel, steeped in tradition and it retains much of that charm with its decor, ambience and service style. Having worked in the hotel industry during the 90's this hotel reminded me of the service we used to provide back then and it was heart warming to witness. It does however have Wifi in the bedrooms, which are also spacious and comfortable, with a period look to them. Don't be put off by the 'dated' comments, the hotel is clean, comfortable and the staff are all extremely polite. A very pleasant stay and the food was good too.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K500DCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

Had a cheap break here, felt the place was a bit dated and in need of decoration. The bathrooms were very good. Breakfast was great. Reception staff were fantastic. Pool was great but ceiling definitely needs the tiles replacing. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramsey100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We stayed for two nights. First night was in the four poster room, second night was in the suite.

Both nights were very nice but I found the four poster room a little bit dated. The bedlinen was clean and crisp. The towels felt like they were brand new but the decor, I felt, could have been updated.

The suite was stunning though. Just gorgeous.

We stayed in the 4 poster suite. the decor was black,white and silver and was just stunning. It has a bath in the corner of the room and a separate shower room. The tiles there look like black slate and is just gorgeous.

The staff were very helpful and the view was stunning.

Free (strong) wifi throughout the hotel and the food was lovely also. We had breakfast on two mornings and we noticed that on the second morning the portions seemed smaller than on our first morning. the breakfast consisted of:- bacon, egg, beans, sausage, hash-brown, mushrooms, tomato,black-pudding, toast, tea/coffee. On our first morning everything was as it should be. On our second morning, the portion of the beans was the size of a teaspoon! The actual breakfast was lovely and tasty but my husband, who likes beans with his breakfast, was not at all impressed with the teaspoon sized portion of beans!

Room Tip: Suite was stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fluffy_bunny_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lennox Head, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Stayed for just two nights at this delightful hotel. Lovely views, excellent food and service and very friendly efficient staff.The bedroom was spacious,good bathroom and lovely crisp bedlinen and fluffy towels. Ideal base for touring the Cotswolds and for visiting the Westonbirt Arboretum. The pool was a bonus and the water was just the perfect temperature to have a leisurely swim. Next time we visit (and there will definitely be a next time) we will stay a little longer. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view over the golf course and countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maudefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012 via mobile

Lovely country house, great service, nice food, and very cheap. What more could you want?

All this in an area without decent hotels. Well worth a few minutes drive off the M4.

They also have strong Free WiFi. I will certainly be back

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadagain222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed here in early September 2012 for a big family party. Lovely, old-fashioned country house atmosphere with lots of meeting/sitting areas and various nooks and crannies where you can settle down with a newspaper or iPad and a coffee.

My guess is that some of those here referring to 'tired and dated' decor are more used to the shiny, slick city hotel chain approach. We did not find it tired at all - atmospheric, quiet and understated from our point-of-view. And very clean.

Good-sized bedrooms and reception areas. Did not have dinner in the restaurant so can't comment; staff served breakfast for about 100 people the next day and they did very well - good breakfast, too.

There is a golf course attached to the hotel, too, and everything is nestled beautifully in the Cotswold countryside.

Found the staff very friendly and obliging and - best of all - they had chosen the music themselves so instead of the awful piped 'musak' there were some excellent singer/songwriter Paul Simon-type tracks to enjoy in the public areas. That is the kind of individuality that makes these independently-owned hotels stand out from the pack.

The kids found a swimming pool to frolic in and we found the bar was well-stocked with various Irish whiskeys which we disposed of in large quantities. And it was quiet - blissfully, refreshingly, soothingly quiet.

Put your feet up and enjoy the Cricklade House Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cricklade
2.6 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,537 reviews
4.0 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
9.7 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#4 of 25 in Swindon
761 reviews
7.9 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#4 of 8 in Cirencester
533 reviews
6.8 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cricklade House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cricklade House

Property: Cricklade House
Address: Malmesbury Rd | Common Hill, Cricklade, Swindon SN6 6HA, England (Formerly Cricklade House Hotel & Country Club)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Cricklade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cricklade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cricklade House 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing in over 30 acres of peaceful, secluded grounds on the edge of the Cotswolds, the privately-owned Cricklade House offers a traditional, warm and friendly welcome for those in search of tranquility, comfort, good food and wine, with extensive recreational facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Cricklade House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cricklade House Hotel And Country Club
Cricklade Hotel Country
Cricklade House Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing