We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of Cricklade House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cricklade House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cricklade
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Cannot rate this hotel highly enough. Attended a wedding here so stayed two nights in this lovely hotel. Free use of the swimming pool, a fabulous free snooker room, lovely golf course and grounds and places to relax. The room was lovely with a sleigh bed and a balcony overlooking the tennis courts and grounds. Food was excellent, we had dinner in the restaurant, lunch in the conservatory and the complimentary breakfast which were all delicious with plenty of choice. The staff were so friendly, and could not do enough for us. The wedding itself was held in the hotel, and was an excellent venue. The staff did everything to make the day perfect for the couple and all the guests, from the champagne reception through to the dinner which was excellent and the evening which was brilliantly organised.
This is an excellent stay for a weekend or a brilliant venue for a wedding.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank PinkYella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    238
    95
    43
    38
See reviews for
90
293
6
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The room the food the venue for family members wedding was stunning!! Couldn't fault one bit staff was good and all well organised food was lovely and the rooms were spacious and cosy!! Highly reccomend!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisakate1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed there on a recent trip and it was truly superb, great hotel, clean and comfortable rooms, and most importantly really good service ethos amongst the staff, nothing was too much trouble, very friendly and would certainly go there again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We booked a Four Poster Room as we were staying overnight as wedding guests. The welcome was was warm and efficient (despite the young lady on reception saying she was new). The views from our room were lovely and we could see rolling countryside for miles and it was the hottest day of the year (so far). My request for fan to be placed in the room had already been met and the curtains had been drawn to keep the room cool. We were looking forward to using the leisure facilities, but the Jacuzzi was out of order. To be fair, the pool and steam room area could do with some money spent on it. The ceiling tiles above the pool were seriously stained and dilapidated and steam room smelt very musty !! But despite that the whole stay was very memorable and we would be pleased to return. We especially enjoyed the conservatory and and patio area where we enjoyed a very good afternoon cream tea. Breakfast choices were good too. We had a small discount as part of the wedding party and I feel this was a fair price for a superior room and breakfast. i don't think I would pay any more until the leisure facilities were brought up to standard for this class of hotel. Good access for Swindon and Cirencester for shopping. Beautiful spot for nature walks and countryside and Cotswold Water Parks.

Room Tip: Rooms 28, 29, 31 have beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morag63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Very welcoming hotel that is of a high standard. I booked this hotel afer looking at others in the area and booked a standard room with B and B and upgraded. We dined in and the food was way better than we would of expected. Staff and service was very good,. Normly stay at a Holiday Inn or Marriott but this hotel Faultless. Thank you.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 40 after upgrading and found a four poster bed. down side the odd person stood bel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyandsarah2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We were attending the air tattoo in fairford and thought it might be nice to stay local the night before. We found availability at the cricklade house hotel through lastminute.com and paid £64 for a small double room. To be fair it was ok for what we paid but I wouldn't have been happy to pay more. Staff were friendly, lots of great interior decor and features downstairs but the room was dated albeit clean. The pool was nice and the hot tub a nice added extra with stunning views but again, a bit out of date and run down. Not sure I would stay again but it suited us for one night

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alison E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014

A weekend break and the staff in the restaurant were very good. Housekeeping needs a bit of a shake up or at least a new duster! The boys on the breakfast duty were very helpful. Minor criticism the pool was cool. However, the steam room soon restored the equilibrium, and as there was no one else about it was good to be able to use it correctly rather than in the English fashion. To the lady who offered me a medal for braving the pool may we meet again.

Room Tip: We were in the annex and it was very peaceful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cricklade
2.6 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,537 reviews
4.0 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
9.7 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#4 of 25 in Swindon
761 reviews
7.9 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#4 of 8 in Cirencester
534 reviews
6.8 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cricklade House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cricklade House

Property: Cricklade House
Address: Malmesbury Rd | Common Hill, Cricklade, Swindon SN6 6HA, England (Formerly Cricklade House Hotel & Country Club)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Cricklade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cricklade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cricklade House 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing in over 30 acres of peaceful, secluded grounds on the edge of the Cotswolds, the privately-owned Cricklade House offers a traditional, warm and friendly welcome for those in search of tranquility, comfort, good food and wine, with extensive recreational facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Cricklade House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cricklade House Hotel And Country Club
Cricklade Hotel Country
Cricklade House Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing