We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, not just for golfers.”
Review of Cricklade House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cricklade House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cricklade
swindon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, not just for golfers.”
Reviewed 22 March 2009

The hotel was spotless and grounds well kept. Staff attentive without being overbearing. Evening meal and breakfast excellent. Huge room with a four poster. Bar drinks and wine list very overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bishenbertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    228
    89
    42
    36
See reviews for
82
286
6
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2008

We stayed as a party of eight for the weekend, mostly just eating, drinking and spending time with old friends. The hotel is excellent for this, and, no doubt, for more energetic souls, for whom there are numerous opportunities for exercise (e.g. golf, gym, snooker/pool, swimming etc.). The lounge and large conservatory have beautiful views and are luxuriously comfortable and homely. All the public spaces are very well maintained.

We had courtyard rooms, which were very quiet and convenient, being only yards away from the main building. They were beautifully kept, though just beginning to show signs of tiredness here and there. Housekeeping standards are very high, efficient and unobtrusive.

The menu and food were very good and the "front of house" service the best I have ever encountered. If staying for several days, one might wish for a more extensive menu to choose from or, perhaps, daily specials to add variety.

However, the main reason for praising this hotel lies with the people who work there. It seems that whatever your needs, they will be met with a most friendly "can do" attitude and a charming smile. This culture of a happy desire to give service seems to permeate the staff. Of special note was Klaus, our maitre d' while we were there. We had some special needs due to illness and he dealt with them in a most kind and sensitive way. He is a true gentleman.

  • Liked — Welcoming, kindly staff.
  • Disliked — Very little to criticise.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cybercom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2008

attended a freind's wedding, booked some months in advance, got an en-suite double b&b room rate of £120.

The hotel is situated 1 mile outside the quaint village of Cricklade, set in many acres with a 9 hole course course surrounding the properties lavish grounds. The hotel on arrival is very lavish, the whole appearance of the hotel lends itself nicely to the 5 Crown awards status. Plenty of luxurious features abound. The lounge, bar and conservatory areas are luxurious, big comfy chairs and sofas and a wonderful view across the Wiltshire countryside. Drinks are a bit pricey, as you would expect in a 5* hotel, typically £3.40 a pint.

The reception was held in the main hall, a very lavish room, tastefully furnished with some rich features and together with a smaller beautifully landscaped terraced garden area set aside for the bridal party this just added to the quality feel.

Our bedroom was set in a courtyard area, away from the main house, only a few yards walk (though there are other rooms in the main house with a equally high standard). The courtyard is clean and very well presented with additional car-parking at the back out of sight of the main building. The room itself is very luxurious, we stayed in room 14. Everything has a quality feel, the room was large, a large kingsized bed (which was a little firm), table and chairs and lovely wood features. The bathroom was very well appointed, bright, airy, and benefiting from all the modern features. Certainly one of the nicest rooms I have stayed in.

The staff where polite, helpful. The 9 hole golf course is open all day to residents, and free, so is the indoor swimming pool.

Breakfast the next morning was superb, very good quality, excellent service and plenty of choice. A must is to take a cup of tea out into the balcony terracing and enjoy the start of a new day in the sun and take in the views.

Overall, a very complete and luxury hotel, have no complaints at all, a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing stay in opluent surroundings. I'd highly recommend this hotel

  • Liked — the luxury feel, the location, relaxing on the terracing with a drink with those views
  • Disliked — a few people complained that every room had a firm bed and the hotel could do with a bigger sign at the entrance off the road as I missed it !! but I'm nitpicking
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Chilimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2008

The same four of us who visited Cricklade Hotel and Country Club last January, stayed for a weekend in 2008. We went on Friday 29th as one of our party has a once every 4 years birthday on 29th.

We found the standard just as high as last year and probably more enjoyable as the UK smoking ban has made the bar and all public rooms No Smoking and consequently much more pleasant. The food was very good with variety and choice. Breakfasts amazing -- try the local Wiltshire ham and eggs! Mmm..

It was interesting that the same staff worked there a year later -- in many hotels, there would have been such turnover in a year that we wouldn't have recognised any of them.

Further to the comments about room 19 -- we had rooms 37 and 39 and they were really fine. Recently refurbished and with excellent showers.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthernBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2007

I stayed in this hotel at the end of November as all the other hotels in the Swindon area were booked.

As per an earlier review, the plumbing in room 19 is atrocious. One would have better success taking a shower under a slobbering St. Bernard than with the situation in this room. The plumbing issue however does not seem to extend to the bath taps or sink.

On contacting the hotel staff, I was moved to another room which is directly next to room 19 (21) which did not have this problem and is apportioned much better than this room.

It is a pity that there appears to be an inconsistency in the quality of rooms in this hotel. Whilst the rest of the facilities seem nice as far as my experience shows it's hit and miss

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Arbedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2007

After booking a golf break in July and being told, that there was no need to pre-book tee times during the week times. On arrival was told that the couse was close on arrival day, for sociaty club two days, so was sent to another couse by the hotel management, then played later during our the stay. Then given a room 19 which the shower did not work correctly beacause the Hotel was fully booked and we where at the end of the hotel,so management said. Not the the best stay I have enjoyed.

  • Liked — Nice srroudings
  • Disliked — Bad plumbing and uncomfortable Bed
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnHBw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2007

Where shall I start?! My sister had her wedding reception here over 2 years ago and it was wonderful! Professional staff, fantastic food and a wonderful atmosphere! The day ran very smoothly and we didnt want it to end! The rooms were very comfortable and had everything we needed. Breakfast was also tasty! It was so great that I'm having my wedding reception here in 2008! Me, my fiance, my parents and my fiances parents also came for Sunday lunch a few months ago and it was yummy! A proper Sunday roast! Very attentive staff too! We will definately be coming here again and again, both before and after the wedding!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nikkibaby19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cricklade
2.6 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,429 reviews
4.0 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
6.0 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#5 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Pear Tree at Purton
The Pear Tree at Purton
#6 of 24 in Swindon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cricklade House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cricklade House

Property: Cricklade House
Address: Common Hill, Cricklade, Swindon SN6 6HA, England (Formerly Cricklade House Hotel & Country Club)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Cricklade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cricklade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cricklade House 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing in over 30 acres of peaceful, secluded grounds on the edge of the Cotswolds, the privately-owned Cricklade House offers a traditional, warm and friendly welcome for those in search of tranquility, comfort, good food and wine, with extensive recreational facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cricklade House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cricklade House Hotel And Country Club
Cricklade Hotel Country
Cricklade House Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing