We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, Very Special- a dream place to say.”
Review of Barnsley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barnsley House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnsley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Barnsley House is a stunningly beautiful hotel with the most generously kind and warm staff. I am a passionate gardener and we went to the Cotswolds and Kent to see gardens. I worried that the garden at Barnsley House might have become a “hotel garden” but it is achingly lovely and a true joy to see. It is not a hotel garden at all but lovingly cared for by people whose heart is fully in it. My husband is not a gardener but was awestruck by the beauty of the gardens. Not being a public garden, there were no buses or crowds- we were often in the garden on our own or with only a few other people. Everything exceeded our expectations- the gardens, our rooms, and the staff. The hotel can recommend wonderful drives, pubs, restaurants, and gardens. I had difficulty with a camera charger and fiddled with it breakfast one day. We didn’t formally ask staff for help with it, but our waitress knew we were concerned we might not be able to charge our camera- when we returned from being out that day, a new one was sitting in our room (with no charge for it)- staff go the extra mile for everything. The most wonderful hotel experience of a lifetime. Barnsley House is close to many fabulous gardens, but it was our absolute favourite among many outstanding gardens.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveWailea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

547 - 553 of 598 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2011

This is the 2nd time I have been to Barnsley House - It was as good as the 1st time!!

It was very last minute and we could only get a room in the converted barn/stables. The main part of the hotel is slightly better but these rooms have been really well renovated - very modern and an unusual twist to them.

It is a bit upside down as the living space is upstairs and the bedroom / en suite is down stairs and the bath is stand alone as you walk in. I know this is not everyone’s cup of tea but its actually quite cool and very different to how most people would have their home – so a nice change in my opinion. The en suite is a bit small but really well decorated – the shower is big and doubles up as a steam room.

We had a few drinks in the bar area which feels more like a lounge than a bar and then dinner. The drinks menu is fairly standard but they will make anything you ask for. The wine list is pretty good for such a small place too. The food is excellent as they try to use as much home grown products as possible. It’s a really nice touch you can’t get in much larger hotels. Definitely try their special starter. It’s a special for a reason 

The staff were very good from the moment we checked in till we checked out.

The breakfast is the one thing that I think lets them down but even that is still good – they have a menu which you can pick and chose from or they will make you what ever you want within reason!

I didn’t have time to use the spa this time but I have been there before - it really is very good and the outdoor heated pool area is great in the summer.

One other person did mention the noise/smell of the cows – I didn’t really notice the noise and the smell is not good on a hot day but it’s the country !! and since it can’t be smelt at all in the room it was not a problem.

The pub down the road is great for lunch too if you have time – basic food done very well.

Can’t wait for another last minute get away !!

Room Tip: try to get the main hotel if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frogmella2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Stayed in one of the courtyard rooms - dusty and not prepared for guests. patronising service which failed to address concerns promptly - obviously poorly managed. Room not cleaned next day until after 3.00pm. Breakfast - two small pastries for two people! Absolute rip off at £375 per night. Do not believe other reviews!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Choixchoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Just back from a fantastic two days in thisbeautiful hotel. Staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful. Rooms lovely with so many little extra details, and the surroundings are idyllic. Food also fantastic - especially breakfast. They use their own produce as far as possible and the veggie food is excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Concentric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

This is an incredible inn and spa! As a well travelled interior designer all I can tell you is anyone would feel lucky to stay in such a beautiful creative space. Each room is a jewel box filled with wonderful surprise and unique features. Unbelievable bathrooms, heavenly beds, a staff thT goes way out of there way to make you feel pampered and special. The hot spa with pou ding jets release any stress you may have had and the gardens are transforming. I cannot speak highly enough about this place and look forward to the day when I can come back! Thank you for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spellows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of June and were extremely pleased with our accommodation choice. We had searched the internet to find a good place in this area & were not disappointed with Barnsley House.

We were in room 19 with the private spa bath & wow what a tonic it was after 5 nights in a tipee at Glastonbury!

The hotel is lovely and our room was fantastic. The "rooms" are like little houses all on their own! (see my picture).

Bed: extremely comfortable, shower room: great, nice outdoor seated area, great sky+ tvs (x2), MP3 player (but doesn't play iPod), coffee maker, complimentary juice/water/milk/lovely biscuits!, also lush towels/bathrobes/slippers. But the spa bath is something else!

The hotel itself is lovely & the furnishings are perfect. We loved the gardens and the veg/fruit gardens are definitely worth a visit. There is no "hotel" feel to the place and you can relax in peace & enjoy the wonderful surroundings.

Our first breakfast in the hotel was not too good with us hanging around waiting for cereal bowls as there wasn't any put out & generally being ignored for quite a while. This put us off ordering a cooked breakfast as the wait was too long, opted for coffee & toast instead which was fine but disappointing.

Went to the spa which is really great & relaxing. The open air pool is lovely. Changing rooms are rather small (intimate) & would deffo be overcrowded if more than 2 of you in there!

Lunch in the restaurant was very good with good service this time & the food was divine. Lovely choice of wines too.

We had our first evening's dinner in the Village Pub which is excellent. Great service, fab food & nice surroundings. The seating area outside is also very nice without feeling that you have to sit with the smokers brigade.

Our second evening dinner was in the hotel restaurant & was just wonderful. Service: excellent, food: terrific, surroundings: great! What can I say? It's a great place to chill out & relax. Definitely for couples who want a real treat. After dinner drinks in the candle lit seated area is also a must.

We got room service for the second breakfast as didn't want the waiting for crockery scenario of the restaurant - this was much more relaxing & stress-free.

We would definitely visit Barnsley House again & would highly recommend. Hopefully stay again after our next Glaso experience :-)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louie1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We stayed for 2 mights at the Barnsley House in June 2011, and our 4 adult children stayed at the Pub (which they own and operate) just down the road. We were there for a wedding. We travel a lot in the U.S., Europe and Latin America, but this was one of the best experiences ever, anywhere. The staff was incredibly helpful and competent, from the initial booking through the departure. As we were leaving, I admired some fresh bread loaves being put out for lunch in the main dining room. A waiter offered me one to take for the road, then gave me two of them, nicely wrapped. The Pub staff was equally good, and the rooms there were also very nicely renovated. Our room in the main hotel was huge, with all top qualify furniture, flat screen TV, lighting etc. We saw other rooms that our large party had and all were unique and equally nice. Some had bathtubs at the foot of the bed, not because they were crowded but to encourage sybaritic behavior. The gardens were fantastic, both flowers and vegetables, and all the grounds were virtually perfect. The outdoor wedding setting was spectacular, as was the oudoor reception area (and also the large ball field for the whiffle-ball game the next day). Food--wonderful, especially the lunch menu at the Pub with all fresh veggies from their own gardens. Spa--really nice. Staff--best ever (they set up croquet for me an hour before the wedding, then took it down for the event, without a quibble). This is a top end small hotel in a beautiful setting with staff that equals the best hotels in the world.

Room Tip: Ask for room # 6, top floor, great garden views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank22611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnsley
15.9 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
761 reviews
14.3 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,368 reviews
3.8 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
956 reviews
19.3 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
471 reviews
20.8 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnsley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnsley House

Address: Barnsley, Cirencester GL7 5EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cirencester > Barnsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnsley
Price Range: £216 - £507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnsley House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barnsley House is your very own (fully staffed) country house set in extensive landscaped gardens near Cirencester in Gloucestershire. The Hotel has a dedicated spa, private cinema and 18 large and luxurious bedrooms to choose from. The Potager restaurant looks out to the gardens and is quite lovely. Sprigs of rosemary and linen napkins dress the tables with menus inspired from the Barnsley garden seasonal crops and local produce. If you tire of the daily home baked bread and crumbly shortbread biscuits with your afternoon tea, you can always nip across the road to our village pub. It's actually called 'The Village Pub' and delivers everything you want a village pub to deliver - open fires, papers, pints and delicious food! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Barnsley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnsley House Hotel Barnsley
Barnsley Hotel
Barnsley House Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing