We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barnsley House
Nearby Hotels
US$212
US$204
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$162
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kings Head Hotel(Cirencester)
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant(Cirencester)(Great Value!)
US$176
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverside House(Cirencester)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (631)
Filter reviews
631 results
Traveller rating
441
115
47
23
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
441
115
47
23
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvillage pubpotager restaurantthe secret gardenafternoon teaspa treatmentsprivate gardengardens are beautifulrelaxation roomsorbetjunior suitesteam roompotting shedhotel restauranthydrotherapy poollittle toucheshomemade biscuitsstable yard
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
509 - 514 of 631 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

This hotel is set in a glorious village in the Cotswolds. The restoration has been very cleverly achieved keeping many of the original features. It's a very homely hotel run by experienced friendly staff. I stayed in room 6 at the top of the main house in the eaves. The furnishings were fabulous and the room had everything you needed. The view over the gardens was delightful! Food was yummy especially the speciality 'vincigrassi!'.
Only thing the hotel lacked was a pool. The out door plunge pool was great as was the spa but it was small compared to other hotels in the same league.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoppyTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012 via mobile

We got moved here after a slight complication with our booking in the village pub (the b&b owned by Barnsley house just down the road). We got put into the incredible room with a four poster bed and 2 huge freestanding baths with tv's at the end. The whole hotel is gorgeous Cotswolds country chic. The gardens are equally as amazing even in the middle of winter. The breakfast served in our room was out of this world. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globetraveller27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Very nice hotel, but the accomodation is completely overpriced. Yes you get a nice big room with various mod cons. But the cost is mad for a small hotel in the Cotswolds. Restaurant is OK but food is nothing special.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stopped off for one night on our way south for the Bank Holiday weekend. We had booked a suite in the main house (room 6). Initially I was a bit dismayed when I saw it was a room in the eaves as I dislike coom ceilings but the room was spacious, bright and nicely furnished and so did not feel at all cramped. A large flat screen TV opposite a comfortable sofa with a coffee table full of magazines and books to dip into. There is a Nespresso coffee machine, fresh milk in the fridge, complimentary water and fruit juice, plus a bowl of fruit and homemade biscuits. The bathroom had a large freestanding bath, separate shower, 2 sinks and a smaller flat screen tv. The room was spotlessly clean. Room 6 looks directly over the rear gardens and to the fields beyond. After a wander around the gardens we sat outside and had tea and biscuits. The hotel was very busy with guests having afternoon tea.

We dined in the village pub that night and returned to the hotel just after 10pm. The hotel restaurant was busy and as it was a nice evening a lot of guests were dining outside. Alarmingy we realised we could hear every word from the dining guests, despite shutting our windows, the shutters and having the blinds down. At midnight the guests were still talking loudly which was slightly annoying. however, we made no complaint until we realised that a guest had decided to play music loudly in their room and the bass was sufficiently loud that it reverberated throughout our room. At 12.30am we phoned down to reception and they apologised for the noise and agreed to sort it out. Ten minutes later the hotel was in silence. bliss. Obviously the hotel cannot be blamed for having thoughtless noisy guests, however, as there is an i-pod in each room, perhaps management could consider putting a note by it asking guests to be considerate to other guests when playing music in the room.

Breakfast was lovely. One of the nicest hotel breakfasts we have had. good choice of fruit, cereals, yogurt. Cooked hams if you wanted and a selection of crossants. The cooked breakfast (served from 8am) was just the right portion size - not overly large - and the quality of the individual elements made it incredibly tasty. Service was excellent. Coffee was piping hot and deliciously strong.

Afterwards we wandered out to see the pink cinema (seated about 30 people), went down to the Spa and then wandered around the outer gardens where we had a lovely chat with the gardner about the veg/flowers they were growing.

We really enjoyed our stay. Staff are friendly and efficient. The noise from the dining guests and inconsiderate guests playing music so loudly was unfortunate but we both loved the hotel and setting and would happily return (maybe in winter when guests dine indoors!).

Room Tip: Room 6 has a lovely view over the gardens but may be noisy in summer when guests are dining late outdoors. Also, the blinds do let in light so if you need complete darkness to sleep you may want to bring an eyemask.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dee090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Classic Cotswold manor house, now a beautifully appointed and well-managed small hotel. Stayed in least expensive room which was absolutely perfect, filled with nice things. Dinner and breakfast were excellent. Staff throughout were friendly and expert. Spa good.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dhm56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews