We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel, pure luxury, can't wait to return!”
Review of Barnsley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barnsley House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnsley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2012 via mobile

I booked Barnsley house for my boyfriends 30th, the stay was so special from beginning to end we were sad to leave. We stayed in stableyard suite 19, it was huge! The highlight for us was the hottub in the living area :) we both had a massage in the spa which was heavenly and then spent the next few hours in the outside hydrotherapy pool, such an experience when it's freezing cold and dark outside and your all warm sipping champagne... As a final surprise i had booked the cinema for my boyfriend and bought his favourite film for them to play, so cool, he loved it! The food in the restaurant was simple fresh flavours cooked to perfection. Everything about our stay was perfect, the hotel has the perfect mix of traditional with modern features like flat screen TVs and nespresso coffee machines in the room. Can't wait to return, thank you for making my boyfriends 30th perfect :)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsayp1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

455 - 461 of 588 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2012

We visited Barnsley house after an extremely busy time for us both at work, with the aim of relaxing and doing little. That is completely possible - the staff were fantastic, the spa is perfect and I have never slept in a bed so comfortable. Our room was lovely - with a lavender theme, a mezzanine lounge, steam shower, and a bath at the foot of the bed. We had two fantastic meals - one at the Village Pub (same owners) and the other in the hotel. We used the private cinema which was a lovely experience, and I had a fantastic massage in the spa. Definitely recommend Barnsley House for anyone looking for a relaxed break where you can really feel comfortable.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seem lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We held our wedding at Barnsley House in early September this year and we could not have had a better experience. The staff at Barnsley House are incredible, Natalie Rolls the event manager is a miracle worker! Michele Mella the general Manger, Barnaby the Restaurant Manager, and Linda and Tom from the Village Pub made our stay absolutely flawless, along with all of the staff, at the house the Spa and the Village Pub.

The staff are ever helpful, from arranging a convoy of taxi’s to meet us and our guests at Kemble Station, to organising Duck Herding for us and our guests on the Barnsley Helipad the morning after the wedding, to Linda looking after our two nephews on the night of the wedding, nothing ever seemed too much trouble. We had the luxury of viewing all of the rooms, each and every room was impeccably decorated, our room The Rosemary Verey Suite was the stand out, beautifully appointed and with lovely touches, such as the small vase of freshly picked mint leaves in the mini-bar to garnish the water and fresh fruit replenished daily. All of our guests had a brilliant stay and the feedback from them has been wonderful, none of us wanted to leave. We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JedandPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We started our mini-moon at Barnsley House, and what a beautiful place to start! Perfect setting, and the most amazing room with a huge jacuzzi bath. The service & food was superb. The only reasons for not getting 5 stars were small - firstly, they hadn't made our spa reservation even though we'd had an email confirmation and they were fully booked. This was obviously really annoying, but they did manage to sort something out in the end. Secondly - the bill - it was really confusing, and they charged us for things that were included in our package - it just seemed a bit sloppy. But, other than that perfect! Already looking forward to next visit!

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank MovinToTheCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Stayed here for out wedding anniversary and it couldn't have been better. We booked a garden suite which turned out to be like a small apartment with a separate living room, bedroom and bathroom overlooking the garden. The evening dinner was delicious and the service helpful and friendly without being over the top. Excellent cooked breakfast with local ingredients topped off the stay. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Choose a Garden suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs-Stringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

My mother was visiting from the states and we went to Barnsley House for her birthday, it was fantastic. The room was wonderful and comfy. We loved the rooms being in their own building with and outside sitting area. The room had a lovely sitting area with amazing biscuit for your tea.

We had dinner and breakfast at the main house and loved both. We went for a drink at the village pub and wish we had time to eat their as well.

The gardens were gorgeous and everyone was very friendly

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livinginlondon1344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed here in the first weekend of September for my husband's birthday, and there were a few things which just spoiled the experience a bit for us. As with all my reviews I do try to be balanced, but the fact is that when a place charges eye watering prices, a person has a right to expect a really first rate stay... we were left wishing we'd taken the cash, got a better room and service in Cotswolds House and pocketed the change.

I spoke to the hotel in advance and booked room 9, which turned out to be fairly basic and with an uninspiring view of the carpark. The room was otherwise nice enough except the cushions on the sofa really needed a wash. Sitting on dirty uphoulstry turns my stomach a bit, so we didn't really use the downstairs living room - shame as giving cushion covers a wash isn't a big ask. There was a first rate entertainment system, with TV, DVD, iPod player, WiFi all included. Problem being the TVs kept on needing to be re-set and were awfully temperamental so we ended up just giving up. We're a young couple and not technophobes so it wasn't us being thick.

Service was so-so: left standing around at breakfast and eventually just sitting ourselves down and helping ourselves to food, asked for information about the Polo (mentioned on the hotel website) which seemed an awful hassle... the information never did materialise. It was my husband's birthday - our first as a married couple hence the weekend away - so I had called the hotel to let them know in advance. Not one single member of staff said happy birthday, nothing was laid on... not even a lousy card or chocolate in the room. I brought a birthday cake in a box from London which wouldn't fit into the tiny fridge in our room so the staff took it to put it in the main fridge. Someone put something heavy on top of it and it was ruined, squashed flat. The front of house staff blamed the kitchen staff, but to be honest it would have been common sense to put it out of the way or to let the other staff know not to squash it. We got a free half bottle of cava by way of apology, but given I know from other tripadvisor reviews other customers got these as standard for special occasions like birthdays it was pretty lame.

The front of house staff in general were nice enough but with a total inability to multitask. I appreciate if team members are serving other customers having to wait, but it's just good manners when another guest is waiting to make eye contact and say 'I'll be with you in a moment'. Waiting in a small reception room with up to 3 members of staff and not one of them acknowledging my existence, even to say hi, several times over 3 days was just a really disconcerting experience. No one asked on checkout if we'd enjoyed our stay... otherwise I would have pointed out my issues.

The pool was not as nice as it looked on the website - was really tiny and the area around was just a bit grubby and unkempt. Don't go to this place for the spa as it just isn't worth it. There is a bit of a problem with things being kept clean and tidy in general, there was a group of girls who had a picnic at the back of the gardens on the saturday and on the sunday lunchtime the litter and glasses were still there. The food remains had been eaten and spread around by animals overnight which was a bit gross and made me worry about the hygeine in parts of the hotel we couldn't see.

On the positives - this is a really beautiful building done up in a classy style with stunning gardens. I guess I chose the wrong room - don't stay in room 9 - and the others are probably nicer. The breakfast was delicious, as was the roast we had on the sunday. The little pub down the road was brilliant and reasonably priced, all the food we had there was great. The service, albeit a bit laissez faire for my liking I guess was unintrusive if you prefer that. My main issue is that for this price there are dozens of other places you could stay like Babington House, Cotswold House or even Lime Wood which would have been very much better for the money. I just finished the weekend wishing we'd gone elsewhere where we weren't made to feel like our presence was a hassle for them.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank NinaGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnsley
14.3 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,343 reviews
15.9 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
740 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
779 reviews
20.8 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,412 reviews
21.8 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnsley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnsley House

Address: Barnsley, Cirencester GL7 5EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cirencester > Barnsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnsley
Price Range: £237 - £481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnsley House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barnsley House is your very own (fully staffed) country house set in extensive landscaped gardens near Cirencester in Gloucestershire. The Hotel has a dedicated spa, private cinema and 18 large and luxurious bedrooms to choose from. The Potager restaurant looks out to the gardens and is quite lovely. Sprigs of rosemary and linen napkins dress the tables with menus inspired from the Barnsley garden seasonal crops and local produce. If you tire of the daily home baked bread and crumbly shortbread biscuits with your afternoon tea, you can always nip across the road to our village pub. It's actually called 'The Village Pub' and delivers everything you want a village pub to deliver - open fires, papers, pints and delicious food! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barnsley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnsley House Hotel Barnsley
Barnsley Hotel
Barnsley House Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing