We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm and welcoming”
Review of Barnsley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barnsley House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnsley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Called in for afternoon tea during a recent visit to the Cheltenham area, before heading back to Kent. Barnsley House is a beautiful and imposing hotel set in fabulous landscaped gardens. It was raining hard so we took our afternoon tea in one of the small, cosy lounges, and watched the flames flickering on the log fire. The staff were warm and friendly and our afternoon tea was devine. Freshly made sandwiches, a selection of home made cakes and the crowning glory.... homemade scones with local jam and clotted cream. Mmmmmmmm. Would definitely recommend. Well worth a visit

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank adventadvent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley_house, General Manager at Barnsley House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

We are delighted that you ejnoyed your visit to Barnsley House for afternoo tea. We hope to have the pleasure of your company again in future and greatful that you would reccomend us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 588 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

A beautiful country home in an adorable village in the Cotswolds. We stayed in a junior suite which was a short walk from the main house. In the main house is the bar, lounge area and the main restaurant. The spa is a 1 min walk across the gardens.

This hotel is stunning - but it is also very expensive! Personally think it would have been better value for money to stay at the pub down the road - it's connected with the hotel and has lovely rooms, and as you have to go outside to get to the restaurant & spa anyway, it wouldn't make much difference!

Our meal at the pub was much better than our meal at the hotel restaurant - probably bad luck, but there was gravel in the bread and the staff charged us for 2 bottles of wine rather than 1 by accident. When we told the waiting staff they didn't react very well, but when we told management on check out they took the first bottle of wine off the bill which we appreciated. The spa is lovely - small outdoor plunge pool (bit on the chilly side), large lounge area, sauna and steam room. Lovely views. A jacuzzi/hot tub would make it perfect! Room service breakfast was fantastic.

This review sounds more negative than I intend it to be... this is an incredible place and we had a great weekend, but for the price I would have liked perfection!!

Room Tip: Our junior suite was outside the main house so if you want to be in that double check with the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzisuzim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley_house, General Manager at Barnsley House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback which we will share with our Team. We always strive to improve our offering and we are grateful of your contribution. We hope to have the pleasure of your company again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Just an old fashioned way of saying that it's pretty memorable. Whether you're a celebrity parking your Porsche by the front door or an ordinary soul putting an old Honda in the car park the greeting and service is always most welcoming, the food very good,and the whole venue splendid.The ongoing restoration and the revival of the gardens is great .If only a rich uncle or two could make visits more frequent!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 34,064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley_house, General Manager at Barnsley House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We hope to have you back sometime soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

In the area for a conference and sadly, could not stay overnight but came here for afternoon tea. The weather was perfect so took tea on the terrace and if you are a gardening enthusiast, you will be in paradise here. Great selection of teas on offer, little sandwiches, scones, cake and homemade sausage rolls in the most lovely of settings. Service was great and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves here.
Will return someday and definitely stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Acrobatic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley_house, General Manager at Barnsley House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

We are very pleased you enjoyed our afternoon tea and hospitality. Hopefully you can find and "excuse" to work in the area again. We will be delighted to have you stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

From the moment we arrived - and discovered that we had been given an upgrade - it was a case of stepping into the dream. Our room was wonderful, with the thickest, fluffiest towels ever. The service couldn't have been more helpful. I couldn't get a signal on my phone to speak to a client? Then why not take over reception, and treat it as my office? Our little dog wasn't well? Of course, they found an emergency vet in no time flat. But, then, the entire staff seemed to know and want to know how he was doing. Breakfasts were excellent, and the dinners... surprisingly delicious. The Moroccan orange cake is to die for. Barnsley House is, truly, flawless.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Italomaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley_house, General Manager at Barnsley House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Delighted my Team looked after you and your pet well. We are really looking forward to having you all back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

we stayed here in August 2013, for a close friend's wedding. we had the most amazing stay. i still have a picture from the garden area as the background on my iPhone. the ground are immaculately kept - quintessential English garden. the rooms - all distinctly unique (you even get a flashlight on your room key for any late night walks in the garden). we had a cute porthole in our room. i just couldn't get enough of the room/hotel. breakfast was included in the morning - simply delicious.

rooms are more like suites (ours had a complete living room area in it's own wing). the room/suite was bigger than our NYC apartment. there were delicious little teas and treats awaiting our arrival. wish we could've stayed longer.

bathrooms - i wish i had taken a picture to use for inspiration in my dream house. the toiletries - amazing, biggest regret not buying some of the shower gel/lotion to take home.

if you can stay here - do it!!! cannot say enough good things about the Barnsley House.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley_house, General Manager at Barnsley House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

We are delighted that you enjoyed our hospitality and the Wedding at Barnsley. We hope to have you back for a leisurely stay in future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Having not been able to fit in a longer holiday for some time we were really in need of a genuine break at somewhere special. Having stayed last year at the excellent Calcott Manor we thought we would try the sister hotel Barnsley House and it delivered 100%. The service was superb and spot on at every turn and what made it special was the way all the staff keep things feeling relaxed and genuinely personal. We stayed in one of the cottages away from the main building which was stylish, spacious and one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in.
The spa is focussed on treatments, steam room, sauna and areas for relaxation which are excellent, rather being a swimming pool and gym type.
The food in both the main restaurant and the village pub (which is part of the hotel) were both faultless and great to have the option of the different vibe in each.
Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryKewLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley_house, General Manager at Barnsley House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you had a great time and very grateful that you would recommend us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnsley
14.3 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,347 reviews
15.9 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
741 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
781 reviews
20.8 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,416 reviews
21.8 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnsley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnsley House

Address: Barnsley, Cirencester GL7 5EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cirencester > Barnsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnsley
Price Range: £237 - £481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnsley House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barnsley House is your very own (fully staffed) country house set in extensive landscaped gardens near Cirencester in Gloucestershire. The Hotel has a dedicated spa, private cinema and 18 large and luxurious bedrooms to choose from. The Potager restaurant looks out to the gardens and is quite lovely. Sprigs of rosemary and linen napkins dress the tables with menus inspired from the Barnsley garden seasonal crops and local produce. If you tire of the daily home baked bread and crumbly shortbread biscuits with your afternoon tea, you can always nip across the road to our village pub. It's actually called 'The Village Pub' and delivers everything you want a village pub to deliver - open fires, papers, pints and delicious food! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barnsley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnsley House Hotel Barnsley
Barnsley Hotel
Barnsley House Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing