We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barnsley House
Nearby Hotels
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Cirencester(Cirencester)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$317
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$307
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Premier Inn Cirencester(Cirencester)(Great Value!)
US$81
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kings Head Hotel(Cirencester)
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stratton House Hotel(Cirencester)(Great Value!)
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bull Hotel(Fairford)
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (635)
Filter reviews
635 results
Traveller rating
444
116
47
23
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
444
116
47
23
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvillage pubpotager restaurantthe secret gardenafternoon teaspa treatmentsprivate gardengardens are beautifulrelaxation roomsorbetjunior suitesteam roompotting shedhotel restauranthydrotherapy poollittle toucheshomemade biscuitsstable yard
Filter
Updating list...
339 - 344 of 635 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We were given a £50 lunch/spa voucher for Xmas and were really looking forward to our pre-booked lunch.
The hotel and setting are absolutely beautiful.
WHat can I say but we were just very disappointed. The main eating room, although beautiful is basically a thoroughfare to outside so there were constantly people in and out, unfortunately there were several flies and wasps too which didn't help the whole experience.
The home made bread is to die for but the starters and main courses we had we felt were disappointing. The waiting staff are really hard to understand and not impressed when we over paid our bill with a gift card.
We will not be rushing back.

Room Tip: didn't stay
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaD66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley_house, General Manager at Barnsley House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2014

Firstly apology for the late reply. I am sorry that on this occasion, your experience didn't live up to expectations. Do not hesitate to contact me personally if you like to discuss your experience in more details. Regards Michele Mella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

After looking forward to a long weekend away we decided to visit barnsley house to try their Sunday lunch.
The place itself is lovely set in great surroundings and inside doesn't disappoint.
The food was of a high standard and thoroughly enjoyed! There was some disappointments which we felt put a dampener on the afternoon. The service began ok but slowly became rubbish. It appeared the waiter paid all of his attention to one couple who were dining prior to our arrival. We were never checked on throughout our meal to see if all was ok, we were never approached to see if we would would like to order more drinks. We had to constantly try to get the waiters attention
When the waiter did come over it was to reach over me whilst I was eating my main just to remove the side plate he had not cleared following the starter! I watched the waiter consistently approach the couple behind us to check their meal was ok and if they needed anything else but again never once came over to our table for this!
When being asked if we would like to see the dessert menu we refused for two reasons
1. The main was so filling We were full
2. We were by now annoyed and it had ruined the atmosphere of our meal. After saying no thank you we were full the waiter left there was no offer of tea and coffee or even a question put to us Ifwe wanted anything else.
We then decided to ask for the bill and after several attempts of calling the waiter he came to us.
Overall we couldn't complain about the food as it was lovely and the restaurant is really nice, unfortunately we left feeling deflated and annoyed by poor manners and general restaurant etiquette.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley_house, General Manager at Barnsley House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2014

Thank you for your very constructive feedback. Your comments are most helpful and it will serve us in good stead as we are always striving to improve our service standards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We booked quite late and were delighted to get a room to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We have intended to stay at this hotel for a long time having heard and read so many good reviews. We were met in the lobby by a very friendly young lady and shown to our room. Unlike the previous review we were not reminded of the timing of our evening meal or our spa treatments and had to keep checking. We ate in the restaurant and at the pub. The organisation and service at the pub was much slicker but the staff in the hotel were very happy to help and were very friendly.
There was a wedding on Thursday and that seemed to be the focus of attention.
Our room was ok, a tiny bedroom and a large lounge area. Not my idea of luxury but perfectly nice. The bathroom was huge and I can imagine that when the under floor heating is on and the candles are lit in the winter months it is very romantic but a little barn like last week.
The gardens were amazing and we loved the hydro pool and spa area and treatments.
As others have mentioned I'm not sure that the hotel can justify the cost of the rooms in comparison with other spa establishments that we have visited.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lizatdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley_house, General Manager at Barnsley House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2014

Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry that on this occasion we failed to exceed your expectations. Please don't hesitate to contact me personally in future. I will be delighted to assist you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at Barnsley House for our anniversary, and it lived up to our expectations. It started with the email sent by the hotel the day before to remind us of restaurant bookings and spa timings which was a nice touch as they had been made months in advance.
Our room was excellent, complete with its own 'secret garden' which was well used due to the good weather. We ate twice at the Pub over the road which was very good, and in our opinion better than the hotel restaurant. Breakfast choice was good, and I loved the addition of dippy eggs and soldiers, made with eggs from their own chickens. We enjoyed a walk around the hotel vegetable garden, as well as the outdoor spa pool. A couple of treatments that I had in the spa were probably some of the best I've ever had.
In conclusion an excellent hotel in beautiful settings - the only thing that could have been better was dinner in the restaurant.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Aliss65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley_house, General Manager at Barnsley House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2014

Delighted you chose to celebrate your Anniversary with us and enjoyed your experience. We appreciate your feedback and strive to constantly make improvements

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Visited Barnsley before for lunch and spa treatments but as husband never been then decided to book for Anniversary treat. The weather was lovely which highlighted the absolutely gorgeous setting of beautiful gardens complete with vegetable plots and different areas to dine or sit. Our dinner was cooked to perfection aided with a lovely bottle of red recommended by the helpful Tomic. Breakfast the following morning was delicious and it was great to use the hydrotherapy pool and have a treatment. All the staff were friendly, helpful and attentive. The only slight (and I stress slight) problem we had was that we were in Room 9 which was a delightful garden suite but we were kept awake most of the night by mooing cows on the neighbouring farm. They seemed only to sleep between 2am and 4.30!!!! It was actually worse than my husband's snoring!! I know Barnsley is in the Country and it's great to be 'in amongst it' but perhaps double glazing (done sympathetically of course) would help. It didn't spoil our stay and we would love to return
but maybe not in Room 9!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shazzting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley_house, General Manager at Barnsley House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2014

We are delighted you chose to celebrate your Anniversary with us. Thank you also for the constructive feedback and reassure you that we will consider our options.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews