We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in superb location at a price”
Review of Barnsley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barnsley House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnsley
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in superb location at a price”
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Beautiful hotel but thought it was a tad expensive. Our room was very unusual with a lovely spiral stairway leading up to a large bathroom. The bed was delicious, extremely comfortable with lovely fresh crisp linen...a real treat. Food was fresh and tasty although we only tried the bar service. Enjoyed our stay but at £300 for one night....will be a while before I return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Integrity21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley_house, General Manager at Barnsley House, responded to this review, 18 October 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate it and hopefully we'll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    109
    43
    21
    3
See reviews for
81
375
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Blessed with a beautiful garden, this is a delight to visit. The staff were delightful, welcoming a returning guest. Real dignity. Great place to write creatively too. Walk round the entire garden, potager included. If you are lucky, the gardener will share their love of planting and garden care.

Room Tip: Pop in for coffee or something off the lunch menu. Sit outside on a sunny day
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley_house, General Manager at Barnsley House, responded to this review, 18 October 2014
Thank you for your kind review. Delighted you are finding Barnsley House and its Gardens inspirational for your creativity
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire UK
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We recently stayed here for a one night break. As one would expect , premium prices are to be paid in all areas and we should all expect nothing but the best.
Spa treatments lovely and very relaxing. Lunch over the road in the pub , food good and most of the staff superb and friendly. Room and grounds lovely , although our room was let down by being too hot ( obviously a common problem for the room since an electric fan was provided in an effort to cool it down).Restaurant - very interesting. Our food and service were excellent, but i watch other and was disappointed to see some terrible lapses in service to other diners who seemed loathed to complain. One couple had to ask twice for their ice bucket to be brought to their table rather than being left at the side of the restaurant and were completely forgotten when it came to serving their main course.Once the errors were discovered , staff worked hard to correct things but, although the restaurant was very busy i was aware of such failings.
So, in summary, a lovely break with 9/10 for the overall experience, but more focus must be applied on the fine detail in some areas.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henryhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley_house, General Manager at Barnsley House, responded to this review, 18 October 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and be assured your constructive feedback will help us improve our service standards further. We look forward to having you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We were lucky enough to be given a 2 night stay at this beautiful hotel for our 20th Wedding Anniversary. Our contact with Loren during the booking process was courteous and efficient - and really made us look forward to the actual stay. We were not disappointed, the hotel is gorgeous, luxurious, without being stuffy. We were met by the Manager and the Assistant Manager who were happy for us to book in early as our room - Suite 4 was ready. It was amazing - huge and just absolutely lovely. Within 30 minutes a complimentary bottle of champagne had been delivered to our room to help our celebrations - a lovely touch. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff - any DVDs requested delivered within minutes. Our deal included dinner, bed and breakfast plus Spa treatments. Again, the Spa was beautiful, the therapists very welcoming and the treatments sublime. We ate at both the Village Pub, which is a part of the hotel and in the Potager restaurant - both meals were delicious. We had breakfast in our room on the first morning, which was generous and delivered piping hot and on time. Our whole stay was made so much more special by the kindness and attention of all the staff, nothing was too much trouble and we felt very at home. Thank you - Barnsley House Hotel and Spa is a diamond in the heart of the Cotswolds - we loved it!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEB18Hertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley_house, General Manager at Barnsley House, responded to this review, 18 October 2014
It was a pleasure meeting you and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. The Team hope to have you back again soon and look forward to it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I booked two nights here for our tenth wedding anniversary and expectations were high. We had gone a bit beyond our price range to book a suite and were offered the midweek spa deal, which included two 25 minute treatments each in the spa and £40 each towards dinner in the restaurant per night.
We had room 10, The Potting Shed, which isn't really a room, it's a bedroom with a marshmallowy bed with a tv at the end, large sitting area with a very comfortable corner sofa and enormous bathroom with fabulous roll top bath and walk in shower. There were some lovely touches in the room including four lighting options, a Nespresso machine, large tv with Sky and it's own little garden with seating area and loungers. The Potting Shed is also away from the main hotel and so completely private which was perfect for us; it felt like a little world all for us.
All the staff we met were extremely helpful and polite and little niggles like the WIFI not working were sorted quickly and discretely.
Our food in the restaurant was excellent and they have a great wine list and some very delicious cocktails.
The hotel itself is contemporary but the building is beautifully traditional and the gardens are beautiful, as you would expect. You can wander around the vegetable garden, which the restaurant uses for most of it's veggies. We made use of the tennis court as well while we were there.
The spa was fabulous and has a little hydrotherapy pool which I could have spent all day in, and a sauna and steam room.
All in all this hotel has to be up there with the best we've ever stayed in and the service was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble and it was lovely to be addressed by name and wished a Happy Anniversary by the staff.
Thank you Barnsley House for making our anniversary so special.

Room Tip: Choose room 10 for peace and solitude (apart from the cows walking past on their way to be milked!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebsiedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley_house, General Manager at Barnsley House, responded to this review, 18 October 2014
It was a real pleasure meeting you and really pleased you had a great Anniversary. Hope to have you back for more celebrations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Coming from the states where such properties are few and far between I knew as we drove up to Barnsley House I'd found the dream. It was everything I wanted it to be a more. A beautiful house surrounded by lush gardens--serene and relaxing. If you are in the Cotswold--stay there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kvp53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley_house, General Manager at Barnsley House, responded to this review, 18 October 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We would love to have you back and welcome any family or friends who will visit the Cotswold
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We were part of a large wedding party . We stayed in the stable courtyard along with other members of our family, including my elderly parents. Staff went out of their way to get my parents room ready before the check in time as they needed to change before the wedding ceremony which was taking place at 3.15 that day. Our room really had the Wow factor. Lovely big comfy beds with beautiful bedlinen, toiletries, and a fabulous bathroom The wedding party was extremely well organised and the staff just took any delays in their stride. The wedding breakfast in the Potager was excellent and breakfast the next day was also very good, with plenty of choice. We wanted to try the spa the next morning but as the weather was so good we could not drag ourselves away from the terrace just enjoying the beautiful gardens. The only draw-back is that the hotel it not suitable for anybody in a wheelchair .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polly51solihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley_house, General Manager at Barnsley House, responded to this review, 18 October 2014
Delighted you enjoyed Barnsley House and the wedding. I can also advise that one of our rooms in the courtyard, will be made more user-friendly for disable people early in 2015.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnsley
15.9 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
710 reviews
3.8 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
737 reviews
14.3 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
901 reviews
15.6 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
781 reviews
21.8 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnsley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnsley House

Property: Barnsley House
Address: Barnsley, Cirencester GL7 5EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cirencester > Barnsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnsley House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barnsley House is your very own (fully staffed) country house set in extensive landscaped gardens near Cirencester in Gloucestershire. The Hotel has a dedicated spa, private cinema and 18 large and luxurious bedrooms to choose from. The Potager restaurant looks out to the gardens and is quite lovely. Sprigs of rosemary and linen napkins dress the tables with menus inspired from the Barnsley garden seasonal crops and local produce. If you tire of the daily home baked bread and crumbly shortbread biscuits with your afternoon tea, you can always nip across the road to our village pub. It's actually called 'The Village Pub' and delivers everything you want a village pub to deliver - open fires, papers, pints and delicious food! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Barnsley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnsley House Hotel Barnsley
Barnsley Hotel
Barnsley House Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing