We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Riverside Lechlade
Ranked #8 of 10 Lechlade B&B and Inns
gloucestershire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bad!!!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

What a shame,this place could be so good,alas not the case!
We stayed in one of the letting rooms,not very clean,and could do with
New bedding.
We had a lunch meal,a long wait,and obviously from a microwave!
Overall not impressed,will not be returning

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simongar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    40
    30
    19
    23
See reviews for
46
70
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Broadway, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Decided to have a ride out on a Sunday evening for something to eat. So looked on the internet and chose The Riverside as food was served every evening from 5-9pm. It seemed fairly quiet when we arrived at 7.30, went to the bar to order drinks and get the menu only to be informed that they had stopped serving food!! Very disappointing, another customer next to us had the same problem. PLEASE UPDATE YOUR WEBSITE.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lechlade hotels

swindon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I have stopped by this lovely little pub on the river on a number of occassions over the last 12 months and I can honestly say I am never disappointed. The food is always excellent, the location, right on the river Thames is to die for and the staff are always friendly and helpful. The landlady, Summer is always on hand to greet you and do anything she can to make your visit exactly what you would hope for, even providing bread for our children to feed the ducks with which really impressed them and saved me a drive to the co-op. It does get busy here especially in the summer but the beer garden is very big and most people sit outside watching the boats go by. It is also a dog friendly pub and is a lovely stop to break up a walk with the poch along the river. All in all I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed one night at the Riverside and we were glad it was just one night, The staff are very friendly and do their best to accommodate in every way, however the rooms I'm afraid are less that average for the price.
If you don't mind very basic rooms where they don't change the hand soap or refill the coffee/tea basket, complimented by lots of noise then its probably ok for you.
We would gladly give it a miss next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faringdon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Excellent Pub - good food, very welcoming atmosphere and lovely setting
Huge garden by the river, with sandpit for the kids.
All in all a lovely typical Pub on the Thames, nice selection of beers if you like real ale.
Central to the rest of the town, there are also lovely bed and breakfast rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bronwen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I have stayed here before and am glad to say some things have changed for the better . More choice on menu for vegetarians and an earlier start for breakfast are both welcomed . Staff very friendly and helpful even during busy times . This pub always seems very busy so perhaps more bar staff would be helpful and stop some customers from moaning . Regardless, this is a great location and shall certainly be back for B & B when visiting this area .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ducati996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We arrived here Mon 1.30 and joined a queue 12 deep to order some beer. there were only two bar staff taking and dispensing food and drinks. Although not busy, the service and delay in getting served was appalling. What is it like on a busy day? Although an Arkell pub, the beer we wanted was off and no effort was made to replace the barrel. (We had the Kingsdown, way too strong at 5% but the only alternative was a vile pale ale called 3 Ducks). Whilst queuing, an elderly gentlemen asked for a refund as he had been waiting so long for a prawn sandwich. As we approached the bar, the male member of staff declared a 45 min wait for food, to the consternation of customers who had been waiting. Is this anyway to run a business. Will never go back to this place and the management should be ashamed.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Jimbo2513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lechlade
9.0 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,472 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sudbury House
Sudbury House
#1 of 4 in Faringdon
327 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Inn
The New Inn
#1 of 10 in Lechlade
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Plough at Kelmscott
The Plough at Kelmscott
#2 of 10 in Lechlade
362 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Swan Inn
The Old Swan Inn
#4 of 10 in Lechlade
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vera's Kitchen B&B
Vera's Kitchen B&B
#6 of 10 in Lechlade
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverside Lechlade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverside Lechlade

Property: The Riverside Lechlade
Address: Park End Wharf, Lechlade GL7 3AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Lechlade
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lechlade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Riverside Lechlade 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Riverside Lechlade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing