We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good English Food”
Review of The Old Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Swan Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Lechlade B&B and Inns
Burgess Hill, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good English Food”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We came across the Swan whilst looking for an evening meal after cruising up the Thames. We would have entered the pub earlier had they posted a menu in the window that we could view, they nearly lost our business because of this simple oversight.
The menu had a limited range of good English dishes, we choose the trout, crab salad and sausage and mash. All were expertly served and nicely presented. The food was very well cooked our only criticism is that vegetables were not served with a not too cheaply priced meal they were available as an extra but I hate this arrangement of charging for "extras". Otherwise nice place and can recommend to all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Pepperyhot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    30
    9
    5
    6
See reviews for
26
58
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We have been travelling to the Cotswolds on weekend breaks for sometime. BUt had never before stumbled across this little gem!

The Old Swan is in the Market Town of Lechlade which nestles along side the River Thames. Positioned in the Market Square, from the front it looks like the traditional old inn. On entering it is clean light and airy with a great atmosphere and a warm and friendly welcome.

We only had time for lunch and a couple of beers, but both were great and good value.

Would we come again? Yes and would probably stay here as they have a few very chic letting rooms

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

What a fantastic renovation. We were lucky to be staying in room 2, what a wonderful room this is. The new owner has resonantly renovated all the rooms to a very high standard. Our room the walls have been taken back to the original brick work,all the beams exposed and a lovely big open fireplace. One of my biggest treats was the big four poster bed and luxury bedding, was had to get up i was that comfy. You get a warm welcome the minute you enter the place and the staff cant do enough for you and the locals are very welcoming too. It was such a shame we did have time to eat as the food look lovely and plenty full. Would highly recommend any one visiting this place. Hope photos are up loaded soon of the rooms as then you all can see what we had.

Room Tip: Ask for room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stopped for a light lunch in Lechlade [my goodness, alliteration!] and were warmly welcomed by the charming bar staff. The inn is old and has retained much of its original character but has clear colours and pale wood furnishings to lighten the atmosphere. Excellent loos, too.

We ordered rare beef and horseradish sandwiches and, as an indulgence, one portion of chips. The sandwiches were near perfect; the beef really rare and generously served. The accompanying salad and coleslaw were also good. I suppose we did not really need the chips, which was just as well. They were burnt and flabby, such sorry specimens they just drooped when picked up. We could not understand how a chef who produces such good sandwiches could let such diabolical chips leave the kichen.

We declined to pay for the uneaten chips but there was no apology forthcoming from the kitchen. A pity as we thought the place had really strong points.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudithBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We were at the Lechlade festival for the weekend and decided to have a Sunday lunch before we returned home. This was a great choice. The meat was cooked perfectly and the vegetables were fresh and freshly cooked. We couldn't help but have pudding too which was naughty but delicious. we would definitely eat here again . The service was very good especially as it was a busy Sunday although we did go in at about 1:30 ish.

Room Tip: Couldnt comment on the rooms we didn't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferdyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownLechlade, General Manager at The Old Swan Inn, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for you comments, most appreciated. We pride ourselves on our Sunday Roast and it seems to be doing the job from your word.

cheers

Chris Shiel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I stayed here with a friend for 3 nights while exploring the Cotwolds. I found the rooms very clean and comfortable. We ate at the Swan on one evening and the food was very good, and there was a good selection of real ales. The manager Chris, as well as the other staff, was very friendly and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and I would stay there again and recommend it to others. It was a complete transformation to how it had been under the previous ownership.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownLechlade, General Manager at The Old Swan Inn, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for your review I have passed on your coments to all the staff. I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Chris Shiel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

My friend and I were in the area for a weekend visiting various Cotswold attractions, We stayed in rooms 3 & 4 which had recently undergone refurbishment. The rooms were clean, comfortable and in the historic old part of the building, not in a modern extension as is often the case.
Whilst we were there, the builders were hard at work on the transformation of another bedroom which when complete will be a splendid room complete with exposed stone walls, a large open fireplace and four poster bed.
We were made very welcome by manager Chris for which nothing was too much trouble.
Finally, the Swan has a great selection of real ales to choose from, all locally brewed by the Halfpenny Brewery.
What more could you ask for.

Room Tip: Manager Chris will advise of the best room(s) to suit your particular requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownLechlade, General Manager at The Old Swan Inn, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. Room 2 has been completed and the photos will be on the website very soon. Unbelievable transformation. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and our real ales too. I look forward to your next visit.

cheers

Chris Shiel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lechlade
9.7 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,737 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Inn
The New Inn
#1 of 10 in Lechlade
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Riverside Lechlade
The Riverside Lechlade
#8 of 10 in Lechlade
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Five Alls
The Five Alls
#3 of 10 in Lechlade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Plough at Kelmscott
The Plough at Kelmscott
#2 of 10 in Lechlade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vera's Kitchen B&B
Vera's Kitchen B&B
#6 of 10 in Lechlade
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Swan Inn

Property: The Old Swan Inn
Address: Burford Street, Lechlade GL7 3AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Lechlade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lechlade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Swan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Swan Inn, Lechlade has gone under a refurbishment. Cosy bar with open fire, bar menu, restaurant menu, new management and chefs.(B&B rooms will be refurbished through 2013) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing