We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Swan Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Bull Hotel(Fairford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bell Hotel(Faringdon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sudbury House(Faringdon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
74
32
11
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
74
32
11
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour poster bedopen fireplacesteakthe pubcast iron bathserve mealswelcoming bar staffb broll top bathwarm welcomelovely old pubgreat night's sleeplog firereal alecooked breakfastnew ownersa great place to stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We came across the Swan whilst looking for an evening meal after cruising up the Thames. We would have entered the pub earlier had they posted a menu in the window that we could view, they nearly lost our business because of this simple oversight.
The menu had a limited range of good English dishes, we choose the trout, crab salad and sausage and mash. All were expertly served and nicely presented. The food was very well cooked our only criticism is that vegetables were not served with a not too cheaply priced meal they were available as an extra but I hate this arrangement of charging for "extras". Otherwise nice place and can recommend to all.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Pepperyhot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We have been travelling to the Cotswolds on weekend breaks for sometime. BUt had never before stumbled across this little gem!

The Old Swan is in the Market Town of Lechlade which nestles along side the River Thames. Positioned in the Market Square, from the front it looks like the traditional old inn. On entering it is clean light and airy with a great atmosphere and a warm and friendly welcome.

We only had time for lunch and a couple of beers, but both were great and good value.

Would we come again? Yes and would probably stay here as they have a few very chic letting rooms

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

What a fantastic renovation. We were lucky to be staying in room 2, what a wonderful room this is. The new owner has resonantly renovated all the rooms to a very high standard. Our room the walls have been taken back to the original brick work,all the beams exposed and a lovely big open fireplace. One of my biggest treats was the big four poster bed and luxury bedding, was had to get up i was that comfy. You get a warm welcome the minute you enter the place and the staff cant do enough for you and the locals are very welcoming too. It was such a shame we did have time to eat as the food look lovely and plenty full. Would highly recommend any one visiting this place. Hope photos are up loaded soon of the rooms as then you all can see what we had.

Room Tip: Ask for room 2
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stopped for a light lunch in Lechlade [my goodness, alliteration!] and were warmly welcomed by the charming bar staff. The inn is old and has retained much of its original character but has clear colours and pale wood furnishings to lighten the atmosphere. Excellent loos, too.

We ordered rare beef and horseradish sandwiches and, as an indulgence, one portion of chips. The sandwiches were near perfect; the beef really rare and generously served. The accompanying salad and coleslaw were also good. I suppose we did not really need the chips, which was just as well. They were burnt and flabby, such sorry specimens they just drooped when picked up. We could not understand how a chef who produces such good sandwiches could let such diabolical chips leave the kichen.

We declined to pay for the uneaten chips but there was no apology forthcoming from the kitchen. A pity as we thought the place had really strong points.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank JudithBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We were at the Lechlade festival for the weekend and decided to have a Sunday lunch before we returned home. This was a great choice. The meat was cooked perfectly and the vegetables were fresh and freshly cooked. We couldn't help but have pudding too which was naughty but delicious. we would definitely eat here again . The service was very good especially as it was a busy Sunday although we did go in at about 1:30 ish.

Room Tip: Couldnt comment on the rooms we didn't stay
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ferdyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownLechlade, General Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Thank you for you comments, most appreciated. We pride ourselves on our Sunday Roast and it seems to be doing the job from your word.

cheers

Chris Shiel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews